We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic year at woolacombe sands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our 5th year,it's like coming home every time we arrive.everyone is so friendly and helpful,special thanks to Lynne for changing our booking yet again!as usual plenty of hot water in the showers,new sun loungers by the pool(we certainly made use of these :) the entertainment was fab as usual,the team work so hard and the shows are great.the view from our caravan is amazing and no where else could compare to that.i would recommend staying here,especially families with young children,whether you have your own caravan or stay in a static.have booked 3 weeks next year,can't wait!!see you in 2014 xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Pixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how helpful and friendly the team were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at Woolacombe Sands, and are very proud to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again in 2014 for 3 weeks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 926 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night camping trip . What can I say once again the park was at its usual fantastic standard . We've been coming here for 10 years this was our first family camping trip . The pitch we were given was fab, sea views ,just perfect . So good we've already booked for next spring . Thanks to all the staff for making us feel welcome .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blenky1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After spending the last 6 or 7 years holidaying in Cornwall (chalets, statics, B&B,tents) we were a little wary of what to expect for our maiden tenting experience in North Devon.
After a lot of browsing on the Internet we plumped for Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park for is great reviews and its close proximity to the beach.
After the lengthy trip down the M6, M5 and then the A361 from Morecambe, our first impressions of the site was WOW. Coming over the brow of the hill and dropping down the road to the park, you are greeted with a view of the beach, sea and Lundy Island in the distance.
As we can never be to sure of the traffic when you are travelling down the length of the country we arrived in masses of time (11:15) we took a punt and turned up to reception expecting the usual response "it clearly states on the booking form, arrival after 14:00". However the actual response of "if your pitch is ready please feel free to set up" was a nice welcome surprise.
The pitch size was ample, water and refuse close by and the showers were only a short walk away. The only thing that let the site down was the need for the showers to be updated. Our block was in need for a bit of repair and the bin in the gents block hadnt been emptied the whole week we had stopped there.
As the site is built into the side of a valley, it is hard to imagine a pitch that doesn't carry a stunning view of the ocean.
Parking is a little steep in Woolacombe itself (£7 for the day) but the site has its own footpath direct to the beach and this is easily accessible in 15mins on foot.
The pool is ideal if you are not looking to go surfing everyday, and the kids loved their evening fix of Bingo in the bar..... even if we never came close to winning!! The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced too which is surprising for a holiday park.
All in all we have thoroughly enjoyed our maiden tenting experience in Woolacombe and it certainly won't be the last time we stay in Devon.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank pauljackson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed Woolacombe after years of holidaying in Cornwall.

We do have 5 Toilet & Shower Blocks on site. 3 were renovated for 2012 and 1 of them is a new build for 2013 which has received rave reviews. We are sorry you felt the one you used needed updating. We do carry out extensive repairs and renewals during our closed season, with massive investments throughout the site.

We look forward to welcoming back to sunny Woolacombe you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to this for 4 years on the trot now. I can honestly say that the guys who run this site really do make you feel welcome . We took our own tent and we just love the stunning sea views we wake up to and beautiful green surroundings. We really do just feel like we can relax here as we know if there was any problems they would be sorted . We stayed this year the first week in August and just know we will be back next year. From staff on reception, to the wonderful bar staff, kitchen staff , entertainment team (all of them ) and obviously the wonderful family who run it we have a great holiday. We love the walk to the beach too , very handy indeed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarecox72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you Claire for such a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your camping stay in Avenue 10 again this year - and we were glad you decided to stay on a little longer!

We love welcoming you and your family, you are a pleasure to know.

We look forward to welcoming you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Second time we have visited and it just gets better the more familiar you are with the site.
As ever, the staff are very pleasant and easy to deal with, the Waney edge chalets are superb and the evening entertainment keeps the kids happy until bedtime.
I wouldn't hesitate to visit again and I'm sure things would be just as good next time.
10/10, Wooly!

Room Tip: Waney Edge chalets are excellent and the couple of hundred yard walk is easy and welcome excercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the Waney Edge Chalets again Cliff, and how much you enjoy the short walk through the valley from the chalets to the main facilities.

We love our loyal customers here at Woolacombe Sands, hence the loyalty scheme discount cards, and we look forward to welcoming you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

beautiful site, lovely sea views.
We camped and the pitces were well marked and easy to find. Nice quiet spot but plenty going on if you want it. Great to be able to walk to the beach (about 20 mins)
Well stocked shop
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We all had a lovely time.
would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how you enjoyed our facilities and the walk to the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future, and thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 9th August until 18th August in No;2 Waney Edge.
Family goup of Mum Dad kids aged 16,13,9 and Dog
Facilities second to none.Chalet or should i say Cottage well equipped and spotlessly clean.Furniture and Beds comfortable, views to die for.
Most dog friendly site i have ever been on, but as not to upset non-dog owners. Fantastic dog walk, dog friendly club and dog friendly staff.
Woolacombe a superb place. Clean beach and clean village. Nice walk from site to village and beach.
Only a couple of negatives.
Walk from Waney edge chalets to main holiday park a nightmare.
Option one is along a drive uphill, then down a grass slope, then go through a bit of a dumping area for old stuff from the site, down a gravelly, rubble track into the main site. I recommend at night you are equipped with a good torch.
Option two is to walk along the road which has no footpath or lighting on a very busy road.
Perhaps the site could equip the accommodation with rechargeable torches or install lighting along with half decent paths on the through park route.
Other negative was the lack of dog waste bins, unless in Devon dog waste is encouraged in normal waste bins
A big thanks to all the staff at woolacombe sands,and we will be back because there is so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how much you enjoyed the Waney Edge Chalets again.

Thank you for your comments regarding the walk. We have now added torches to all the Waney Edge Chalets, and check the batteries each week. The area you have walked through is a cut through. To avoid this, you can walk through the valley. However, this area has been tidied now.

The dog waste bins are situated in the dog walk areas exercise areas, but we will look to add more.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: $5 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing