We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We (myself, hubby + three children aged 4,3 and 9 months) have just returned from a week long stay at Woolacombe Sands and what a fantastic time we had!

We stayed in an incredibly well equipped, newly decorated, two bedroom Sands chalet, complete with dishwasher, full sized bath with shower over and a lovely outside seating area from which to admire the sea view.

The site itself is beautifully situated, overlooking Woolly bay and is within driving distance of a large number of local attractions. It is an easy walk, even for those with young children, through fields and greenery down to the beach which was close enough for hubby to walk to for a morning surf (a vital element of our holidays).

There is a well stocked shop (with lovely friendly staff), a clean and fairly warm swimming pool, arcades, pool tables, bowling alley and outside play area. There is also a soft play room for small children situated directly off the bar/entertainment area which is fantastic because you can keep a constant eye on the children without having to hover right by them.

The entertainment staff (Kayleigh, Poppy, Faye and Geoff) are all fabulous. However, a special mention has to go to Geoff, who has to be the most genuinely enthusiastic entertainer I have ever met. He has a natural talent for entertaining children. Our children, the four year old in particular, adored him (there were tears when we came to leave). The evening entertainment was also really good. For children this included a bubble man, lots of fun games and of course Woolly Bear and for the later 'cabaret' entertainment; a magician and a couple of really good singers.

All of the staff at the site, from reception to maintenance staff are very friendly, always a ready smile and an hello.

All in all, a fantastic, relaxing holiday. So good in fact that we have already booked for later this year and Easter next year! So, thank you to everyone at Woolly Sands - see you again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for an amazing review. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourself.

Our team do work incredibly hard, and we are very proud of them. We will pass on your thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 928 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for the first time after being allocated a Sun holiday.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the caravan was great (silver ocean view) and had everything you need for a comfortable stay.
The park is clean and there is plenty for kids to do.
Woolacombe is beautiful and the walk to the town is great. The views from the site a stunning!
However, the best thing about the park is its staff. Due to the issues with the gas supply when we stayed, we saw quite a bit of the staff and everyone we dealt with, from the staff at reception to the maintenance staff, were extremely helpful, polite and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idetika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

We really appreciate your understanding during the Gas issues, as you stated, was totally out of our hands.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just back from an Easter 5 day break staying in a Gold caravan- my word the carvan was like a show home- in fact our 5 year old asked could he live in it forever rather than come back to our family home! haha
Brilliant holiday camp & proof that the smaller family sites are much better than the massive ones. Stunning location overlooking Woolacombe and everything walking distance, decent pool open all day everyday, committed children's entertainers working day & night to keep the little ones amused (Geoff's energy levels were something else!), bingo with £200 top prize, 2p slot machines, well stocked and not overly priced shop on site, great variety of evening entertainment- will def book again. Many thanks for a really great holiday :) Definitely returning soon- can see why this site has a large cohort of regular guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We are so proud of our Entertainments Team who all work incredibly hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic time.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned today after a 3 night stay in this lovely place. We were on a Sun newspaper deal (our 5th year of one although never stayed here before) Absolutely brill! We (meaning myself husband and 3 teenagers) got allocated a 2 bedroom chalet, it was so clean and new looking with beautiful views of fields and the sea. The teens enjoyed swimming, crazy golf and playing in the arcade (and generally being around the place) and as a family we had a lovely walk to woolocombe beach aswell as hiring bikes one day and riding the Tarka Trail. Extremely friendly staff in the reception and shop, always happy to help and good entertainment of an evening for families of all ages! Thanks again, we loved it and hope to visit again soon. Really impressed with the accomodation we were given ;) Ps new matresses for 2013 too which was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your Sun Holiday with us, and noticed the new mattresses!

We really look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Waney Edge Chalets over Easter Absolutely the best place I have stayed for a long time spotlessly clean and tidy fully equiped and fantastic for the dog, loads of places for walkies. Will definately book again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you very much for a wonderful review!

We are extremely proud of our Waney Edge Chalets, and love what they offer of tranquillity, peace & quiet!

We really look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Woolacombe sands is a great family holiday. Facilities are fantastic for families, my three year old loved swimming and dancing in the club on the evenings. Staff are friendly and will go out of their way to assist, including staying late and coming in on days off, they experienced a problem with their gas supply while we were there, which was not their fault. We were well informed, staff were great and they provided hot drinks and food vouchers for the whole site, even hand delivering a letter to every caravan to keep us up to date. The problem was sorted within a day and did not affect the holiday at all. We will be returning next year, loved every minute, entertainment team were fab, Geoff is a great addition - a man with funny bones. Highly recommended. See you next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clickycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, and thank you for your understanding during the few hours we had Gas supply issues, as you stated out of our hands.

We were extremely proud of our team during the time when the issue was being fixed, they worked very hard to ensure all our customers were kept as comfortable as possible, and that the issue did not affect your holidays.

Thank you for your comments regarding Geoff, one of our new Entertainments Team Members, he's a great asset - we will pass your comments on.

We are thrilled to hear you will be returning, and we really look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have just spent a brilliant 5 days at this park. The location is excellent, stunning views over Woolacombe beach, the park is clean, tidy,the indoor pool, childrens play area & crazy golf were well used by my family and the staff are brilliant. My sons (6 & 3) had the best time mostly thanks to Geoff, Poppy and, of course, Wooly Bear! We stayed in their most basic caravan and couldn't fault it, clean, well maintained and they even left extra bedding due to the cold weather. Tried to extend our stay but our unit was already let out, disappointing but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keefcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Wow - thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, and we are so pleased to hear you loved it!

Thank you for your comments regarding our new team members Geoff and Poppy, they are certainly great assets to our business.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: $5 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing