We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
chepstow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here out of season at end of september for a long weekend booked with the sun holidays. Group of 8 of us stayed in a chalet. It was exceptionally nice, clean and tidy with plenty of facilities, i.e cutlery, crockery etc. It even had a dishwasher!. Also it was close to the clubhouse just a bit uphill, (not good if you are unable to manage this) We were fine however!! The entertainment wasnt too great but it was at end of season and we had a good time as a group so we werent bothered. Food was reasonable at the park but quite basic. We enjoyed the bingo each night which had high prizes considering it was end of season. Staff were warm and friendly when approached. Overall well worth going and i would definitely go again if it was to stay in a chalet. Close to the small town of woolacombe about ten minutes walking, quicker by car. However i would NOT recommend eating at the red barn pub in woolacombe town, we made that mistake!! there are plenty of other places in the surrounding area which were probably nicer.

Room Tip: Get a chalet if you can they are fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chepstowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. As a small family run site we really appreciate our guests taking the time to review us.

We were pleased to hear how much you liked the chalet, they are lovely units with the most beautiful views.

We were disappointed to hear you felt the menu basic. With Jacket Potatoes, Salads, Burgers, Currys, Chilli, S&K Pies, Lasagne, Scampi, Steaks, Ham & Egg, Gammon, Bangers & mash, Nacho's and good old favourite of chips & more, all freshly cooked, we feel our menu suits most of our guests. If you have suggestions of what meals you'd like to see, please do email us at promotion@woolacombe-sands.co.uk - we always welcome suggestions.

It is a low season time of year therefore the Entertainment although still jam packed from 6pm-Close is more suited to the time of year.

We really hope to welcome you in the near future & thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    165
    45
    17
    5
See reviews for
585
137
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We were allocated this site with the sun offer.
We chose this site due to the good reviews on this site.
The good- The view was breathtaking, looking down into the bay. The indoor pool was pleasant and clean.

The bad- When we arrived we were greeted well and directed to our van. There was no welcome pack offered, only a couple of leaflets. We went to our van and found that the base of the shower had mould all around it and looking up we found mould on the ceiling of the shower. We reported this to reception who did apologise and upgrade us to another caravan. The new van was better than the last however it did need a very good clean to get rid of dust and dirt that had been missed with the normal clean that vans receive, also the pressure of the shower left alot to be desired. We would have got a lot wetter standing out in the rain.
The site was badly maintained, several of the main lights were not working, the roads leading to the caravans had major pot holes and the parking next to the vans were too small to put a family car on without going onto the grass (which in the weather we had of rain, rain and more rain meant that there was always a possibility of getting stuck).
I know it was the end of the season however the games machines were constantly broken. The 2p machines front glass was smashed and coins were jammed in slots. They had a section for fruit machines downstairs that didn't seem to have had any maintenance in quite sometime (front sections hanging off, machine reels not working and machines turning themselves off and on at will). When this was reported we were told that all they could do was turn the machines off and on, and we would have to fill a form out and claim our money back in the morning.
This is not how I want to spend a holiday filling out forms, I would not recommend this site until work has been put into making it acceptable.
We cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not stay to watch any.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We were glad to hear that you felt our views were beautiful, we quite agree and our facilities cleanliness was of a high standard.

We were glad to hear you had a friendly welcome, as a small family owned and run Holiday Park we all work extremely hard in all areas of the business.

Welcome packs consist of the Welcome Booklet you received, with your key, a map of where your units is, car sticker(s) and if you have children we distribute you a voucher for their free of charge kids pack and vouchers to collect from the shop. Starter Pack Welcome Packs are available to buy for collection on arrival – these are just £15 and consist of Bread, Milk, Butter, Cereals, Tea, Coffee, Sugar, Toilet Rolls, Washing up Liquid, Dish Cloth, Scourer & a £5 voucher to spend in store – these are not a free of charge item unless you stay in Tides Reach our premium bungalow – we apologise if this confused you.

We apologise that your first unit was not to standard. If you had reported your 2nd upgraded unit to not have been up to your expectation of cleanliness, or the shower working correctly - we would have had it re-cleaned and maintenance would have attended immediately to rectify the problems.

The car parking spaces are measured on an average car size as recommended by the BHHPA. We are looking to add pea-gravel or paving slab paths to some units – to help in times of bad weather as you experienced during your stay, but without your unit number or booking reference I cannot comment on your particular situation.

We do apologise there are some pot holes in our avenue roads. Due to being on the side of a valley overlooking Woolacombe - when it rains we occasionally suffer from road damage from excess water - the pot holes are all filled at the earliest & driest opportunity – they cannot be filled when wet. Again, if you had reported external lighting being out it would have been repaired.

During your stay it was unfortunate that another guest smashed one of our 2p pushers and broke another machine. CCTV was viewed and this addressed. Machines will turn themselves off if vandalism is attempted. If a machine does not pay out or breaks down, we ask for the customer’s details and then refund the money once the site engineer has visited. This protects us and the customer from losing money.

During our closed season (November 5th – March 25th 2013) we carry out extensive works in many areas. The roads are always repaired and improved where necessary – along with a lot of other maintenance work, repairs and renewals.

We were glad you enjoyed aspects of the holiday park.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us, and we look forward to welcoming you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well, what a fabulous short break at Woolacombe Sands.

Had the fortune of being allocated this fantastic holiday park with Sun Holidays. Superb value for money first off, and everything just got better from there. Simple friendly welcome, given all the necessary info and directed to our Caravan. Nice and clean and had everything we expected and more.

The Rendezvous Clubhouse on site was fantastic for our young daughter, who fell in love with Wooly Bear instantly, can't praise the entertainment staff enough, thoroughly welcoming and really made our stay special. An real asset to the holiday park ! Bar Staff and reception staff all polite and went out of their way to accommodate any requests/requirements.

We had a couple of opportunities to sample the clubhouse menu, and were impressed; portions were more than generous and prices not unreasonable, along with bar prices.

Facilities outside of the Clubhouse were fantastic, with excellent indoor pool used daily, competitive onsite shop and games area's to provide distraction.

Location appeared to be the best for all the Holiday Parks in Woolacombe with 2 min car journey into the town, or enjoyable public footpath walk direct to the center. Thank you Woolacombe Sands for a memorable Holiday, especially for our daughter, and Nanny and Grandad. Happy times, Guaranteed !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for such a WONDERFUL review & what a fab title!!

We were so thrilled to hear what an enjoyable time you had when visiting us & that all the family enjoyed our facalities!

We were glad to hear how much your daughter loved Woolly Bear.

Thank you again & we look forward to welcoming you again (hopefully) in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

just had a weekend break at woolacombe sands park and i must say we rather enjoyed it the site is the nearest to the beach. however its quite a walk if you use the road ,but there is a pleasant walkdown the footpath to the beach . the accomadation was good but seats in the caravan was grubby .bearing in mind its getting to end of the season ..overall nice little site good location with stunning views of the sea

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments.

During our short winter break we do take on an extensive repair and improvements program. Upholstery is included in this, although we do steam clean as often as possible.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing stay on a touring pitch, the services available on the super pitches are excellent, the site is clean and well laid out. There was one drawback for us as over 60's and that was the steep clime coming back from the beach but we are fully aware that without this we would not of had the wonderfull view. We have booked again for easter and look forward to meeting the very friendly and helpfull staff again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review regarding our touring facilities.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your recommendations and all comments have been taken on board.

We look forward to welcoming you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Cliffs of Dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

HERES MY HONEST REVIEW:

Stayed here as a big family party during that lovely hot first week in September. We were placed in a Silver (i think) 3 bedroomed caravan with disabled access for my father-in-law. The caravan was spacious, clean and tidy. The only fault was that one of the seating areas smelt quite strongly of urine. We supposed that the previous holiday makers had a small child who'd had an accident. We reported this and one of the cleaning team came along and really blitzed the whole settee while we were out so problem sorted.

The camp site itself is very well situated, the view is simply wonderful. The site is set on the outskirts of Woolacombe and makes a very good base to visit all the surrounding areas. I cannot describe how many wonderful things to see and do there are, suffice to say we didnt have enough time and certainly need another visit!

The site has lovely facilities, all well maintained. My daughter certainly liked spending her evenings dancing with Woolibear and putting lots of tuppences in the arcade. I didnt get that 'fleece you' attitude like you do from places like Haven.

All the staff were very friendly, I dont think there was one miserable person at all. The entertainment for the children was great in the evening, I cannot comment on the adult entertainment as by then we were all in bed exhausted! lol. We didnt eat at all in the club as the prices seems a little steep but I don't begrudge that as they do need to make their money somewhere and it wasnt excessively expensive, the same with the drink prices. Plenty of people were eating the meals though and they seemed to be enjoyed, also the meals were extremely good sized portions and the chilli/curry smelt wonderful.

I loved the outside pool and it was lovely and warm which was lucky for Sept. I would advise the management to please place proper steps into the indoor pool rather than just the walk down style which is there. An elderly or disabled person would prefer the safety and security else a nice handrail on the existing steps would be fantastic.

All in all I would without a doubt definately stay again. The riding school right next door is fantastic and even though my daughter wasnt old enough this time (minimum age 4) she will be for next year if we are lucky enough to stay at Woolacombe Sands again.

Anyway Woolacombe team please dont stop doing what you are doing, it works and its SIMPLY GREAT!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyMcnibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we really appreciate you recommending us.

As a small family owned and run Holiday Park, it is recommendations like yours that help us to improve every year.

We really hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The arcade has improved for 2012.i love the jukebox.the playarea is lovely and clean and updated too.i love the pool especially the outdoor one.love bingo.reception and roanne brilliant.clubhouse great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumptruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for such a lovely review, and for recommending us.

We were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities, especially the improvements we have made to the Arcades and Children's Play Park for 2012.

Roanne and indeed all of the team work extremely hard and so it is rewarding to hear how much they are appreciated. I will pass on your gratitude.

We looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Property: Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing