We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11th august 2 weeks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
1 review
“11th august 2 weeks”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

stayed at woolacombe sands for 2 weeks on a hard standing touring pitch,site is a perfect location for the for the beach and a few miles for large tesco supermarket,the path to the beach is not so good although a easy walk 15 minutes approx after rain its muddy and hard to walk on with kids and wife would be ok in walking boots i think they could barrow a bit of stone/gravel to the bad places then would be ok,the food and bar is good with the staff also good,the entertainments team are great with the kids,the welcome pack for the kids is not worth having the owners should hide there faces when handing these out upon arrival very poor worth around 25 pence including the paper bag,showers and toilets i never had to wait ,shower temperature was all over the place red hot dangerous for kids and sometimes cold although cold is safe they could do with cleaning more often as lots of traffic cause dirt,the shop is good well stocked,they offer a discount on food if you spend £20 before 6.30pm in the bar you get a £5 beer token,my wife cme back from ordering she spent £41.75 on food so i thought 2x£5 beer tokens i approached the owners son who works the bar he said you need to spend £50 to shut me up after explaining i could have ordered £20 worth of food first then made up another £21.75 food order i would have got two tokens he replied i should do this next time,he probably makes up the wecome pack for the kids,after getting over they are just after your money this is a good site with lots of plus factors i will re visit with my family again i hope the owners take note of my notes this is not a review the points i have made are a fact jim

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Of course we will take your comments on board as we do all reviews.

The footpath to the beach is not owned by ourselves. We are lucky that the local farmer allows us access through his land, and the rest being owned by the council & National Trust. As it is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) there is little we can personally do to change it. The council did spend money on it in recent years to improve it with fences and more even ground. It must be noted that the path does lead through the countryside (fields) and so is mindful of the wildlife such as horses, sheep & cows and not to disturb them, therefore tarmac would not be an option.

The FREE of charge Kids welcome pack is a gesture to welcome children to the site, as I am sure you can imagine as a small family owned and run site it would be very expensive to provide expensive kid's packs with over 5000 children visiting us every season. The pack contains a Woolly Bear activity book & comic with discount vouchers for them to spend on Woolly products, a Woolly Bear Postcard, crayons and a lolly pop.

I apologise if the temperature was uneven during your stay. The showers are on a thermostat and should not alter. Hopefully you had reported it to the reception & the matter resolved.

We do offer the deal all season, 'Spend over £20 on food before 6.30pm in the bar & receive a £5 voucher to spend on site'. This is not just a 'beer token'. It does not apply to multiples of £20, but if you wanted to buy your food in 2 parts you would be more than welcome to do so. Another offer we have is to spend over £50 for a free bottle of house wine. I'm sure none of our team were trying to 'shut you up' just merely explaining the deals set by the board of Directors, of which he is one.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    169
    45
    20
    6
See reviews for
600
140
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked a silver caravan for our family holiday at Woolacombe sands holiday park after seeing the lovely beach 2 years ago on a separate trip and decided to re-visit the area. Accomadation was very good but I did find that the bed could have done with a better mattress but overall, the caravan was great and I was really suprised with the shower in it, most caravan showers I've come across before have not been that great. Caravans can be quite compact but there was enough room for 2 adults and the children (age 6 and 5) We didn't use the club much so cannot comment on that. The weather was kind to us so we spent as much time as possible at the exelent beach which you can walk to by footpath but I sugest allow at least 20 miniutes to get there and half an hour too get back as it's uphill but saves having too worry about or pay for parking. The footpath will not be very good if you need too use a pushchair/buggy. We used the outdoor pool once and it's heated which is good and the pool has a very shallow bit for smaller children and a deeper bit for everyone else but it's but too deep. We hope too return next year and would recomend Woolacombe sands holiday park too any family. Many thanks too the managment at Woolacombe sands holiday park for providing such a great place too stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review & for taking the time to leave your comments.

We will most certainly investigate your comment regarding the mattresses and re-new any that need so.

Many thanks & look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Woolacombe sands is amazing!!! The site is fantastic the staff are lovely and the views (sunsets) are un-beatable. Stayed in a 2 bed static which was clean and really lovely. I can't recommend this place enough its perfect for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review!

We were pleased to hear how much you love visiting us & we look forward to welcoming you in the very near future!

Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fabulous place to stay, I've been coming here every year for more than 10 years, I have stayed in tents, caravans and one of the lovely sea view cottages. its an easy walk to and from the beach and village, with great facilities and entertainment on camp if the beach and surf get too much for you, everything you need in one place.
great for all the family even dogs are welcome too(& in the bar). this year I've been twice- that's how good it is.
Thanks to the friendly staff and much more we'll see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhusky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such lovely comments and we are thrilled to hear you keep coming back year after year!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We returned to Woolacombe Sands this year for another summer break as we found it to be really good value, and in an excellent location. I am thinking of booking for next year and making it a family tradition!

Things I enjoy:

1) Excellent views, as it is on the slope high above Woolacombe bay. Makes sitting outside having a BBQ a real pleasure.
2) Proximity to what must be one of the best beaches in the UK, only a 15 minute walk downhill (granted, it is a bit of a slog back up after a day of walking/swimming/surfing!)
3) Friendliest and most helpful staff I've come across in a UK establishment
4) Lots of things for kids to do at the resort itself (OK, its not Disneyland, but if your 6 year old needs more than a playpark, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, bowling, arcade games, kiddies disco, mini-golf and loads of other kids running around, they're jaded!)
5) Very family friendly environment

We have stayed in both a static caravan (yes, its a bit crowded, yes the kitchen is tiny, yes its an actual caravan) and one of the chalets (much bigger kitchen!) and both have been clean, well presented and comfortable - although if you have a dodgy back a caravan bed is not going to do you any favors.

The main thing to remember is this is a small and very British resort. If you've gotten used to resorts in Miami/Dubai/Thailand you are going to have a very different experience here - but no reason not to enjoy it.

Room Tip: All the chalets are well located Avoid caravans/camping sites near the service blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSwanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.

We were so glad to hear what a wonderful time you had, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in a Woolacombe Sands 2 bedroom Chalet and it contained everything we needed. We were a family of 3 adults and 2 teenagers and it was the right amount of space for us all. All the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen contained everything we needed even down to the dishwasher!!!!! But even better than the inside of the Chalet was the view what can I say but WOW I will remember that view for ever. The park itself was very good , the site shop had all we needed plus more at quite reasonable prices. The site entertainment was very good, we all enjoyed playing the Bingo every night, they even let the children play. The entertainment staff were all very nice it was lovely to see them interacting with all the smaller children and the show's that they put on during our stay were very good. The small arcades were very good and the 2 younger members of our party enjoyed spending their evenings in there talking to their new friends. The swimming pool was lovely and was never overcrowded, the joy of having an outdoor and indoor pool!! There is a footpath from the site that leads down into Woolacombe, it was a nice 10 minute stroll into town the footpath was a little uneven in places and one morning after overnight rain it was rather muddy but what do you expect your in the country. We would recommend this park to our family and friends and we are hoping to return again very soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We were so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in one of our chalets. We are lucky to have the most amazing views of Woolacombe, the beach & sea and of course our beautiful surrounding countryside.

Thank you for posting such lovely photos too!

We really look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fantastic accommodation, Excellent staff, great facilities, fab location and views.
We had a superb week here and never ran out of things to do. The kids loved the evening entertainment and had a great time with Woolley Bear and the entertainments team.
We will visit again and are looking forward to it already.
This is exactly how holiday parks should be done!

Room Tip: Waney edge rooms are a little way outside the main park (only a short walk) so you can't hear an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoolacombeSands, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review about our Waney Edge Chalets.

We were so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The chalets are so peaceful and perfect for a relaxing holiday!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
818 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
6.8 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Property: Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing