We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from jon & faye”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf View Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

stayd here recently with my wife. First of all Steve and his wife are fab hosts. Steve always steals the show at breakfast time LOL.....Very funny. We had a sea view room that ideal for just 2 of us. Room was clean. With TV with free view channels. Had tea/coffee making facilities. Nice quiet location without hardly any disturbance. Excellent view looking out onto hills and sea. Would defintely return in future.

Room Tip: sea view room was good enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and ware pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you both next year for some more fun and frollicks at breakfast!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 406 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

A very warm welcome by Steve and Shirley was given to my mum and myself on arriving on a very wet Sunday in September for our 4 night break. The house is in a very quiet location so no road noise. Our comfortable twin bedroom was warm, beautifully decorated and had a superb view down to the sea. The whole guest area is of equal warmth, decor and comfort whilst the breakfast conservatory being THE best indoor place I've ever eaten my breakfast in. The views are amazing so watching buzzards soaring over the hills and trees was a breakfast bonus!! There are plenty of tables in their lovely garden to sit out in should warm weather grace your stay.
Oh and the breakfasts are so good you won't want much to eat until mid afternoon. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: The 2 front bedrooms have the coastal view. One is a twin room the other a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Well, it was really nice to read you review, we are so glad that you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us. The photo's are a nice touch. Hope we shall have the pleasure of your company next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Located down a quiet narrow lane this B&B gave us a wonderfully peaceful 2 day break. We were warmly greeted by Steve the owner and made to feel so welcome. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped with a lovely sea view. Great location, just a 15 minute stroll into the centre of Woolacombe through the countryside. You order your breakfast the night before and it was perfectly cooked, plenty of choice and fine quality food. Steve and his wife were friendly and hospitable and made the stay so very enjoyable. We will definitely stay at Surf View again. Thanks for a lovely time.
Tim and Sam

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you both for your review, glad you enjoyed a restful stay and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were unfortunate enough to have had the worst three days (weather wise) for thirty years but thanks to Steve and Shirley's kind hospitality it made our little break very worthwhile. Our room was comfortable and if the sun had been shining at all we could have sat out on the balcony overlooking the sea with a glass of wine. The breakfast was plentiful and very good, and being a veggie I was catered for well. We are looking forward to a return visit when we can enjoy the surroundings a little better without the wind and rain.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, like you say, hopefully the weather will be better next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Found surf view from looking on trip advisor. We had emailed to check availability on a room with space for our own travel cot, we were travelling with our 9 month old. They were very quick to respond and happy to accommodate our needs.

We found surf view without any trouble despite it being tucked away down a small road.
We were greeted by a great view looking out on the beach and Steve soon welcomed us and helped us in.

Our room was comfy, clean and well equipped including a silent running fridge which was a nice addition.

Really nice quality breakfast and a good selection of cereals yoghurt and fruit. Our 9 month old was well catered for and Steve and Shirley were keen to ensure we had all we needed for a great stay.

Thank you. We'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a lovely week at Surf View earlier this month. The guest house is clean and bright and our room was very comfortable. A delicious breakfast with plenty of choice is served in the conservatory with lovely views of the bay and surrounding countryside. Steve and Shirley are really friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Surf View and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we shall be seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

just returned back to wales after staying at the surf veiw .It was excellent place to stay.The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean with clean towells every day.The breakfast was to die for.The owners steve and shirley are friendly and very helpful.The only downside was that we were only there for 2 nights i wish it was longer.Would definitely book to stay again .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thnk you for reviewing Surf View and we are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
896 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
4.5 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf View Guest House

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: $90 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf View Guest House is family-run and situated in a lovely location overlooking Woolacombe's award-winning Blue Flag Beach with views across to Lundy Island. Just a 12 to 14 min walk through to the village and main beach. Why not visit our facebook page for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf View Guest House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing