We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely three day break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were unfortunate enough to have had the worst three days (weather wise) for thirty years but thanks to Steve and Shirley's kind hospitality it made our little break very worthwhile. Our room was comfortable and if the sun had been shining at all we could have sat out on the balcony overlooking the sea with a glass of wine. The breakfast was plentiful and very good, and being a veggie I was catered for well. We are looking forward to a return visit when we can enjoy the surroundings a little better without the wind and rain.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, like you say, hopefully the weather will be better next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Found surf view from looking on trip advisor. We had emailed to check availability on a room with space for our own travel cot, we were travelling with our 9 month old. They were very quick to respond and happy to accommodate our needs.

We found surf view without any trouble despite it being tucked away down a small road.
We were greeted by a great view looking out on the beach and Steve soon welcomed us and helped us in.

Our room was comfy, clean and well equipped including a silent running fridge which was a nice addition.

Really nice quality breakfast and a good selection of cereals yoghurt and fruit. Our 9 month old was well catered for and Steve and Shirley were keen to ensure we had all we needed for a great stay.

Thank you. We'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a lovely week at Surf View earlier this month. The guest house is clean and bright and our room was very comfortable. A delicious breakfast with plenty of choice is served in the conservatory with lovely views of the bay and surrounding countryside. Steve and Shirley are really friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Surf View and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we shall be seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

just returned back to wales after staying at the surf veiw .It was excellent place to stay.The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean with clean towells every day.The breakfast was to die for.The owners steve and shirley are friendly and very helpful.The only downside was that we were only there for 2 nights i wish it was longer.Would definitely book to stay again .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thnk you for reviewing Surf View and we are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A lovely B&B set a little way out of the town centre with great views to the sea. Only a short 10/15 minute walk into town and only 3 quid for a taxi home if you can't make it up the small hill. The place is really clean, well equipped (fridge, hairdryer, wine glasses, iron etc) and beds very comfortable. Steve is brilliant, really friendly and tends to your every need especially at breakfast. Thank you - i am sure we will be back! Rich & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KipperQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you both for your excellent review, hope to see you again @ Surf View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Surf View for 4 days and what a fantastic time we had! All the previous reviews are spot on. Steve and Shirley, the owners, are so friendly, helpful, and just can't do enough for their guests. The rooms are spotlessly clean with clean towels every day. The delicious breakfast in the conservatory with the superb views is a great start to the day! The location is good with a short 10-15 minute walk to the beach. We will be returning next year! Thank you Steve and Shirley for making us feel so welcome!

Di & Andy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your very positive review of Surf View and we look forward to welcoming you both again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What can we say? Warm & friendly hosts, excellent family room complete with own patio & garden furniture, delicious breakfast & great location. The only downside was we were only there for one night! We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woolacombe hotels
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#9 of 20 in Woolacombe
19 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#8 of 20 in Woolacombe
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf View Guest House

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: $91 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf View Guest House is family-run and situated in a lovely location overlooking Woolacombe's award-winning Blue Flag Beach with views across to Lundy Island. Just a 12 to 14 min walk through to the village and main beach. Why not visit our facebook page for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf View Guest House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing