We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A lovely B&B set a little way out of the town centre with great views to the sea. Only a short 10/15 minute walk into town and only 3 quid for a taxi home if you can't make it up the small hill. The place is really clean, well equipped (fridge, hairdryer, wine glasses, iron etc) and beds very comfortable. Steve is brilliant, really friendly and tends to your every need especially at breakfast. Thank you - i am sure we will be back! Rich & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KipperQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you both for your excellent review, hope to see you again @ Surf View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Surf View for 4 days and what a fantastic time we had! All the previous reviews are spot on. Steve and Shirley, the owners, are so friendly, helpful, and just can't do enough for their guests. The rooms are spotlessly clean with clean towels every day. The delicious breakfast in the conservatory with the superb views is a great start to the day! The location is good with a short 10-15 minute walk to the beach. We will be returning next year! Thank you Steve and Shirley for making us feel so welcome!

Di & Andy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your very positive review of Surf View and we look forward to welcoming you both again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What can we say? Warm & friendly hosts, excellent family room complete with own patio & garden furniture, delicious breakfast & great location. The only downside was we were only there for one night! We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been coming to Woolacombe for the last 5 years and 4 of those we spent at Surf View and would never change that. What a place it is almost a home from home, with the friendly but professional service and the spotlessly clean accommodation. We always book a year in advance now to make sure we get our perfect spot with the perfect views and the perfect breakfasts. Yum yum!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Surf View. It is always a pleasure welcoming you back and we look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our first time here and it was really enjoyable - it was a shame that we were only there for two nights. Lovely house, well situated and great breakfasts! The footpath into town is really useful as well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After a rigorous search trying to find the ideal B&B when staying in Woolacombe North Devon, I could not have been more pleased with my choice.

The owners were incredibly warm and welcoming and made my partner and I feel completely at home. They also prepared delicious breakfasts and offered great tips and advice on where to go and what to do. Moderately priced considering it's location and how incredibly near the town centre it is (a mere 5 minutes walk).

I will undoubtedly be coming back here when I visit again

Jacob S

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for reviewing Surf View, hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Finally got around to writing a review - stayed here for a week 21st July 2012.

After arriving and takeing in the amazing view, we were met by friendly owner Steve.

The first impression you get on entering the guest house is how clean and fresh it is. This carries on thoughout the guest house.

Our twin room was comfortable and finished to a high standard, the fridge was a welcome bonus.

I have recommended this place to all my friends and work colleagues, I would definitley go back and stay there again. Had a fabulous week body boarding everyday.

Sue and her 14 yr old son

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write review, it is always appreciated.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woolacombe hotels
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#9 of 20 in Woolacombe
19 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#8 of 20 in Woolacombe
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf View Guest House

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: $91 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf View Guest House is family-run and situated in a lovely location overlooking Woolacombe's award-winning Blue Flag Beach with views across to Lundy Island. Just a 12 to 14 min walk through to the village and main beach. Why not visit our facebook page for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf View Guest House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing