We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic, relaxing and friendly place to stay in Woolacombe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic, relaxing and friendly place to stay in Woolacombe”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Surf View over the Easter weekend and had a great time. Steve and Shirley were fantastic hosts and made us feel very at home wth their personalised and friendly approach. The rooms were very clean and the breakfasts just what was needed after a hard night out and to prepare you for a day at the beach! Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with and thank you for taking the time to review 'surf View'.
Hope we will see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
178
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The room was comfortable, lovely and very modern. The breakfast was also very nice with a good choice – but we went for the full works which was yummy and cooked to perfection. Most impressive was the personal service we received, from start to finish! The initial enquiry of the room started this off, with a very friendly helpful conversation. Upon arriving at the B&B the service we received was just amazing and the owners went out of their way to help us and provide a top notch service. I would highly recommend the B&B to anyone and would definitely stop there again. Especially with the beautiful views.

Room Tip: any room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v13kky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Visited in April with my daughter to do some beach riding with Woolacombe stables (2 mins walk away) Steve and Shirley were great hosts, very friendly and helpful. Lovely (huge!) breakfasts and spacious, well decorated, clean modern room and bathroom. Would definitely visit again,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrived early evening and were greeted by name as we arrived. A friendly atmosphere was immediately felt and we were showed to our room, it was fantastic. We only stayed one night, and breakfast was a pleasure, full english, all the trimmings and extras. I watched the surf as I ate, beautiful. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Thankyou Steve an Shirley.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt81984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Chose Surf View after visiting website and then reading reviews we were not dissapointed. Everything from the room,breakfasts and friendliness of Shirley and Steve were spot on also as the weather was so good we were able to enjoy a bottle of wine in a lovely garden with a fantastic view.Will visit again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nett22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed at Surf View for a short weekend break,got a warm welcome from Steve,the rooms were spotless and the beds nice and comfy
The location is perfect,great views and a short walk to the beach
The breakfast was fantastic and Steve really made us feel welcome,wouldn't have asked for more,next time we are in Woolacombe, will definitely be staying at Surf View. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Manager at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

It's taken me almost 9 months to writethis review, because I kept forgetting to... but I won't forget my stay at Surf View! Gorgeous room, such lovely and friendly service and beautiful location. And I was so impressed with the wine glasss in our room, I went and bought myself some!

I would strongly recommend this guest house to anyone who needs to stay in Woolacombe and I hope to stay again one day.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scwain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your review, belated or not, a big thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
99 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,708 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf View Guest House

Property: Surf View Guest House
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf View Guest House is family-run and situated in a lovely location overlooking Woolacombe's award-winning Blue Flag Beach with views across to Lundy Island. Just a 12 to 14 min walk through to the village and main beach. Why not visit our facebook page for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf View Guest House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing