We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another brilliant stay at The Rocks”
Review of The Rocks Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“another brilliant stay at The Rocks”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just come back from yet another stay at The Rocks! Its such a lovely and relaxing hotel that we keep going back. Wendy and Martin are great and really make you feel welcome. The hotel is perfectly located for the fab beach, shops and bars of Woolacombe and there is parking on site which is great. They really have thought of everything from the wetsuits and boards you can borrow to the little fridge to store your milk ( or wine ! ) in. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandydaveholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you again mandydaveholt, for another review!!! And thank you for introducing your Dad to the joys of surfing!!!! Looking forward to your next visit already! Wendy & Martin XX and one for your Dad X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
166
282
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great B&B that we stayed at when walking the South West Coastal Path. Wendy and Martin, the proprietors, are a lovely couple who can't do enough for you. Breakfast is a fantastic experience. I won't spoil the surprise! For walkers there are options with luggage transfer. This is somewhere I'd go out of my way to stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Bob J for taking the time to write a review- we really hope you do make another trip and that we will be on your way again :-) Wendy & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We all agreed that Wendy and Martin are the friendliest and most committed hosts we ever had (and we were a big group of 16 people). They took care of everything from individual breakfast wishes to the organisation of horse back riding tours and boat trips, and gave us great advice what to do and where to go. The hotel is equipped with body boards, wet suits, and everything else needed for a nice day at the beach, and just a five minute walk from there.
We're definitely going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Oh wow! Well we have to say that your group were an absolute delight ajnevs!!!! We were really sorry to see you all go and we hope you make us an annual trip!!! Wendy & Martin XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having stayed twice before we couldn't wait to share the experience with our children and our grandchildren. Our group consisted of 7 adults and four children, We stayed in the apartment with two of the grandchildren and the others stayed in the main hotel. We haven't had the opportunity to have a proper 'family' break with the young ones before so this was a special treat and one we hope to now make a 'Rocks' family tradition. Martin & Wendy are wonderful hosts and the minute you arrive you feel at home and so relaxed. Wonderful breakfasts to kick start a busy day on the beach and ofcourse we made use of the wetsuits, kayaks etc. One of our daughters is already saying she would like to hire out the whole hotel for her 30th Birthday in 4 years time! See you soon Lesley & Tony

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobsNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aaaaah JacobsNanny, I really think that being able to provide the venue where you all so obviously have such a lovely time is as much a pleasure for us!! ...and we really love your photos too!!! Really look forward to seeing all or some of you again! Anytime!!! Wendy & Martin xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really good B&B for a one-night stopover while walking the South West Coast Path. Martin and Wendy were very welcoming and we had a pot of team made plus cookies when we arrived. Very nice room and facilities included free wifi - although this only worked well when we were the only people in having arrived in mid afternoon. Martin recommended where to eat. The American Diner themed breakfast room was an amazing retro experience - enjoyed eating an excellent breakfast to Elvis Presley. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you David W so glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer here. The Wi-Fi is free and we are online every day, but we know some hand held devices struggle, and I don't really understand that, but not been a proper problem as yet. Hope to see you again one day soon. Wendy & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Rocks must be the most friendly and accommodating B&B anywhere.
Martin and Wendy made us feel so welcome and at ease.
We stayed for 8 nights having arrived a day early due to a planing error on my part.
It was really convenient to be able to leave the car in the Rocks car park, use the complimentary surfing equipment put on the complimentary wet suits and walk the short distance to the beach.
When finished, walk back and use the shower and changing facility. No changing on the beach and trying to get dry and especially no getting sand in all those important little places.
I can only echo all the other reviews and say The Rocks hotel is an absolute gem. Friendly, welcoming, clean,ideally located.
If you are going to Woolacombe you will not find better.
Andre & Cherry

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 1 & 3 both great. All the other guest whom we spoke to were happy with the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aaaaaaah, youre so kind, thank you Andrew & Cherry- I have a feeling we will meet again Wendy & Martin :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice this week at the start and end of a bike trek. The hosts were brilliant - nothing too much trouble, doing an early packed breakfast for us and being genuinely interested in our plans.

The hotel is spotless and located about 50 metres from just about anywhere in the town.

The breakfast room is 1950s diner with everything freshly cooked to order. The rooms are slightly small but there is a decent sitting room downstairs, but lets remember its a b&b!

Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Suttraveller- we are glad that you felt like nothing was too much trouble. That is all we hope for. Come back soon. Wendy & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Hotel

Property: The Rocks Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks Hotel is in the heart of Woolacombe. Only 300m from the beach. The whole hotel is constantly being refurbished to a high standard. We have a large collection of wet suits and a smaller collection of body/surf boards and even the odd kayak, that we are happy to lend our guest, free of charge.Be assured of a warm welcome and a unique experience. We look forward to meeting you soon!Wendy & Martin ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rocks Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing