We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

After having my 10 month old daughter, my partner decided we needed a short break away. I was looking forward to a cosy (despite it being bronze) caravan, maybe a drink on the nights & quiet- NOPE!! First we went to book in & asked about the entertainment. "£30 please".They wanted to CHARGE OUR BABY £10 for something she has no idea about & would probably have fallen asleep! Absolutely disgusting!! So we settle in, turn the heaters on... I say heaters more like warmish air fans. THEY DIDNT WORK we resorted to having all 3 of us in a bed to keep warm. There were areas of flooring ripped up which my daughter found. Overall I wouldn't let my dog stay here - over priced hostel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo2638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your recent review of Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village. I am saddened to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your holiday and felt this overshadowed your break with us.

The literature provided online and in the brochures states that when booking a Promotional holiday with Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks, Entertainment Passes (which entitle you to use 40 free facilities and watch entertainment across the four Parks) are £7.95 per person if pre-booked before your arrival, or £10 per person per break once you have arrived on Park.

The Budget and Bronze Holiday Homes unfortunately are not equipped with heating and are not advertised as such; I apologise that you were disappointed with the Bronze holiday Home and felt it did not suit your requirements. I also apologise that you were unaware of the terms and conditions prior to arrival and felt this dampened the feel of the start of your holiday.

All feedback whether positive or constructive is deeply valued to our company and the staff that we employ; it helps us identify areas to improve our Park further to ensure the best possible holiday experience is received by our guests and so I would like to thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,544 - 1,550 of 1,916 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Absolutely fabulous. Stayed with the family and 2dogs in budget caravan. Not top of the range but comfy and kept very clean. Any problems we had were sorted the same day. All park staff were always very friendly and the entertainment staff worked hard. Coming back again next year. Can't wait :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fionacave65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your lovely review! It is fantastic to read you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at Woolacombe Bay and are coming back to us next year. Our staff work very hard to ensure all aspects of your holiday meet and exceed your expectations and I am pleased to learn that the friendly and hardworking nature of our Team was particularly memorable; your kind words will be relayed accordingly and will encourage them even further.

We really look forward to your return next year; if you haven’t already booked for 2014, check out the latest deals and offers on our website for your next break.

Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay, yes if we were to be ultra picky you could just about here people talking in the next caravan but that in no way spoiled the stay. The weather was fine which always makes a difference One of the better points of the holiday was the comprehensive food package that was waiting for us on arrival, This included every thing you could think of from bacon & eggs to coffee & tea

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is excellent to hear you enjoyed the Exclusive range of Holiday Home at Woolacombe Bay during your recent holiday; they boast many luxurious features and I am pleased to read that the Grocery Starter Pack was a welcome addition to your break and found it had everything you needed to start your holiday.

We hope you will return to the Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village in the near future; check online for the latest offers and discounts for your next break!

Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Have just got back after stay in a platinum caravan with sea views(e9) the caravan was spotless with all mod cons, the shop is a bit pricey only used a couple of times, entertainment is good, restaurant and take away also good plenty of food, we enjoyed our stay that we have booked for this time next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your holiday in one of our Platinum Holiday Homes at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village so much that you have taken advantage of the fantastic loyalty rebooking offers for next year.

We can’t wait to welcome you back in 2014 for another fun-filled family holiday.

Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just come home from a holiday at woollocomb bay holiday park, this was a very enjoyable experience, we enjoyed our stay there were 4 adults and two children on holiday with us. The accommodation was lovely a few cobwebs to be found but otherwise no problem! The biggest problem was no Hoover in the property for us to clean before we left as I would have liked to, obviously the site was quieter as it was term time, but there was lots to do and the staff and entertainment went above what was required to help us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gill1963Kentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your holiday in the Woolacombe Bay Farmhouse recently.

Our Team consistently work hard to ensure you have the very, best holiday experience and I am pleased they made your break so memorable; your encouraging words will be relayed to them and are most appreciated.

We hope you will return to our Park in the near future; check online for the latest booking offers and discounts.

We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you want a caravan with stained seating in a Gold standard then come here, no facilities other than a pool in September for children. The caravan had food still in the fridge from the last occupant and you could hear the people talking in the next caravan with all the windows and doors shut.The carpets were marked in the bedrooms and no WIFI on site although the lady at reception said it was controlled by another company, in other words there was none. The shop was the only good part with food still in date. I will post a video on Youtube for you to see this shambles.

Room Tip: Do not come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

I apologise you did not fully enjoy your holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village recently and found certain aspects to overshadow your break. Our Housekeeping Team work very hard to ensure that any issues are detected and rectified prior to your arrival however I apologise you feel this was not the case on this occasion. Any problems reported to Reception are taken very seriously and are resolved as quickly and professionally as possible and I hope that the issues you encountered were reported to us and dealt with to your satisfaction before departure.

Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks boasts over 40 free facilities for guests to use across four Parks including Tennis, Table tennis, Crazy Gold, 9 Hole Golf, Pitch and Putt, and hour free session to use at the Romano Spa, a variety of children’s activity clubs available each day and many more, however it is most disappointing that you were not able to fully take advantage of them and felt there was not much offered for your children to do.

All feedback provided by our guests whether positive or negative is appreciated and helps to identify areas to improve and develop the Park even further to ensure it is the best it possibly can be and so I thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Woolacombe bay site was as expected caravan clean and a nice gesture to include a toy and bed for dogs, The problem arose with my husband being in wheelchair 90% of time as he could not access a lot of facilities ( resteraunt ect due to being on 2nd floor)also there werent any disabled toilets in the entertainment centre..As I informed them of the fact of him being in a wheelchair when I booked they should have let me know then there would be no access,as I would have looked at their other site which they told me after we arrived was more suited to him

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

It is saddening to read that you did not enjoy your break at Woolacombe Bay fully and found it was not suited to your requirements. Due to the anonymity features of this review website, I am unable to be provided with your individual booking details to check how you booked your holiday.

Our website provides accurate information regarding each holiday Park to ensure you choose the right Park for you and your family, it states: “Part of the charm of this Park is its stunning sea views from many of the caravans however, it does mean that the terrain is very hilly and we do not recommend this Park for guests with mobility problems. Woolacombe Bay is a hilly Park so you may not be able to get from one side to the other without the use of a car if you have limited mobility. We try to make our facilities and entertainment venues as easily accessible as possible; however you will find steps to access the indoor pool on the lower ground floor and restaurant on the first floor. Our team on the Park will be more than happy to help in any way that they can." There is also a similar message in our printed brochure on Woolacombe Bay's page.

The Golden Coast is a more disabled-friendly Park and offers accommodation to suit a variety of requirements and I do hope you bear this in mind when thinking of booking another holiday with us. I offer my sincerest apologies that this was not raised to your attention prior to arrival; however I do hope you were otherwise able to enjoy your holiday and the breath-taking surrounding areas of coastline and countryside.

Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
855 reviews
4.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
3.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village

Address: Sandy Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: $22 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Packed full of fun and overlooking the beach, this lively holiday park enjoys magnificent views across the bay and offers excellent facilities and activities to satisfy all ages. So whether it's as a couple, or with family and friends, there's something for everyone at this superb setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing