We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoilday 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

OK that just about sums it up nothing special good activites for the kids but was very noisy at night. Most nights were ok but there was two where i would not get to sleep because of the noise coming from outside. Also the bin men were in polite throwing litter at each other and being damm right stupid. First aider was excellent relly calmed both me and my daughter down when she cut her foot open at the beach , he treated it and then helped me take my daughter to the car so i could take her to the hostpital .Overall ok accomadation and site but good location

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_l1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read that in the most oart you enjoyed your holiday. I apologise that you found the evening entertainment too noisey and I will pass these comments on to our Entertainment Manager. I'm pleased our first aider was able to assist your daughter and hope she is recovering well. Sarah Weekes - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,762 - 1,768 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rooms were very clean. The staff provide you with a welcome pack containing cleaning cloths, sponges, washing up liquid, and soap. The entertainment is very good, Betty and Billy beach ball were very funny! They also had some magic shows and animal shows, and live music. The beaches are very nice, sunny and warm .I would recommend not going to the beach if you have a bird phobia. The swimming pools have heating and are fairly big. They have a shop, with food and basics, and also activities such as colouring, painting etc. There is also a painting studio, expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your family fully enjoyed the facilities our Parks provide. I hope to see you again in the future. Sarah Weekes - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Following booking our trip and paying the accomodation fee, we only had our service charge remaining to pay, unfortunately the lead in our party was taken ill and missed the deadline to pay this small remaining charge. A final reminder was sent, but the letter was not received as the addressee was not even in the country. As soon as this was realised (a few days later) we tried to make the payment, but it was refused and we were told the holiday had been cancelled and there would be no refund. We made several phone calls, several emails and wrote a letter and the responses ranged from unhelpful, verging on rude and then completely ignored. Proof was given to show that the letter had not been recieved and that the addressee was out of the country, however we were met with a "computer says no" attitude. We will never book with Woolacombe Bay again and I want to ensure that all customers are clear that your whole holiday can be canceled and resold for being a few days late in payment and staff are unwilling to take personal circumstances into account. When we checked, holidays were still on sale when we were due to stay, however our holiday was not reinstated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

We are sorry to read that you were not able to take up your holiday. When a newspaper promotion booking is received from the newspaper we send immediate booking confirmation to the name and address which is supplied to us for the booking. When this balance is not paid by the due date, we do send a reminder letter and where a phone number has been supplied to us with the booking we also make telephone calls to follow this up. This balance reminder urges the customer to speak to us before the date allowed in the overdue letter is reached so that we can both agree on a date to pay. If the balance is still not paid after the balance due date we send a final reminder letter giving an additional week to pay. In all the balance chasing process takes at least two weeks before the booking is finally cancelled, which is at least four weeks from the initial confirmation being sent. As the newspaper promotion makes it clear that additional charges are payable and that these are due immediately upon the confirmation being issued, as well as the initial per person payment to the newspaper is non-refundable, we are unable to reinstate bookings which are cancelled for non-payment, especially given the amount of time allowed to pay the balance and number of reminders sent. I am sorry that you found our team members unhelpful or rude, they do make every effort to ensure that customers' holiday are organised smoothly although it is regrettable that when balance reminders are not acted upon this does put them in a position where the help they can give is limited. I hope that you accept my assurance that we work hard to provide a high level of service. I am confident that on any future holiday with us that you will find our reputation for high standards of quality well deserved. Kevin Darvill - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The site itself we thought was very good, location providing some amazing views of the coast. The site is very hilly and there is a very steep hill (Sandy Lane) leading down to Woolacombe so beware if you have mobility issues. We were worried after reading some pretty bad reviews but found the site to be pretty good.

The site has a large entertainment hall for families as well as a shop, spa, launderette, small arcade and a few other activities for the children. The car parking was a bit of a nightmare where some spaces were simply too close together (watch your doors)

We went for a budget caravan which was plenty big enough for 2 people however beware the checking in and out times: We couldn't check in until 4 pm (most of the day is gone) and check out was a very early 10 am.

There was plenty of utensils, microwave, oven/grill and fridge with a small freezer. Despite the age of our caravan we found the place to be clean and tidy. There was also plenty of hot water (a good shower) and a gas fire but no heating in the 2 bedrooms so perhaps take an electric heater. There was a small portable TV (no remote) and the picture was very fuzzy. The only real gripe we had was the mattress on the double bed. This was terrible, not comfortable at all.The only recommendation I can make to the park, invest in some new decent mattresses.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask the caravan site about how close some of the vans are to the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belbox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the issues incurred with your Television and matress and if reported we would ave resolved these issues for you immediately. We do provide accomodation with heating and an earlier check-in time if guests require. I am happy to report we are investing heavily this year in updating our Televisions and have recently completed our winter accomodation checks so I am confident the matresses will be removed if required. I hope to see you again in the future. Sarah Weekes - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked an 'Exclusive' caravan. Nice accommodation for a caravan. All clean and spacious with plenty of space for a family (we were a couple). Staff were nice and friendly in reception. Good for families with lots of amusements and outdoor activities but we didn't try any. Walk down hill to Woolacombe beach/town centre (1/2 mile) was ok in daylight but too hidden & obstacle strewn in darkness so factor in taxis/driving.

One small problem was the DVD remote did not work! Also I could not get WiFi Internet Access in our caravan (website says park wide WiFi) which was disappointing given the phone signal you get in the middle of the Devon countryside! We paid more for 'Exclusive' which was nice enough but probably wouldn't want to go much further down the price list if you want luxury!

Room Tip: Stick with higher priced caravan options if you are picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thnak you for your review. I am pleased to read yo enjoyed your stay here and found the Park had offered all the facilities you required. I apologise for the lack of wifi connection during your stay, we have an external provider for this service and we report all faults we recieve to them to resolve. I apologise that on this occassion they were unable to acheive this immediately. I hope to see you again in the future. Sarah Weekes - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Just had a long weekend at the village Friday to monday. And as ever had a great time everything was top notch just wish we had the time to stay longer, already booked for next year in the same caravan can't wait , all the best Steve and dawn stoke on Trent.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uppy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. Your comments are apprecaited and encourage our staff to continue working hard to rpovide the best service and facilities possible here at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village. We look forward to seeing you next year. Sarah Weekes - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and my wife have just had a short break at woolacombe bay,and despite all the negative comments that we read beforehand,we really enjoyed it!!!Arrived early,and was allowed to book in early.thank you,needed it after a six hour drive from Barnsley.Caravan was clean and had a nice view(a15)the site was quiet and clean.i would like to say a special mention for two maintenance men who went out of their way and provided me with a wheel brace to change my flat tyre,even though their days work was over,We enjoyed the entertainment and food from the restaurant and the staff were friendly and helpfull.some people expect too much,if you want 5star, pay 5star.(october8th-12th)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed the facilities our Park offers. I hope we will see you and your wife again in the future. Sarah Weekes - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
873 reviews
4.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,879 reviews
4.4 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
907 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
637 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village

Address: Sandy Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: $22 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Packed full of fun and overlooking the beach, this lively holiday park enjoys magnificent views across the bay and offers excellent facilities and activities to satisfy all ages. So whether it's as a couple, or with family and friends, there's something for everyone at this superb setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing