We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night's sleep, kind hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best night's sleep, kind hosts”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our welcome was greatly appreciated, as our first night away since major hospital experience, looking for somewhere warm, comfortable and friendly to sleep.
It lived up to all our expectations; cosy ground floor room was perfect for our weary limbs, with cute dressing room and ensuite.
Best night's sleep since leaving hospital! Though it is by a road it didn't disturb us.
The hosts were especially helpful wth my extra medical needs, and also provided a simple supper which after lunch out was just what we needed.
Extra interest was visiting the pig and meeting the other animals.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor in the Rose room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a lovely holiday. Thank you very much for your kind review and we wish you both well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    21
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
51
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here very briefly overnight when visiting friends in Honiton, so we just wanted a nice clean room for the night and that's exactly what we got.
The room was warm with a comfy double bed, a plasma on the wall, en suite facilities and a kettle with tea and coffee.
The owners were a lovely couple, very warm and friendly and really helped us out with a bit of a small dilemma we had.
The guest house also boasts a lovely shared living room with a fine selection of books and board games and more tea and coffee to help yourself to. You just want to spend Christmas there and watch snow fall outside!
The breakfast was lovely too, with one of the best scrambled eggs on toast I've ever had! We then took a brief walk up the hill to meet one of their very vocal pet sheep before swiftly heading back to London.
We will definitely return and highly recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luigi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear luigi78 , We are so pleased you had an enjoyable weekend with us Sorry for the belated reply. We are glad you appreciated all that Wellington Farm had to offer during your stay. It was a pleasure to have met you both and you will always be welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Having stopped here en route to Kingsbridge a couple of times, I decided I couldn't pass without having a cream tea.
I attempted to lift the latch on the door to the lovely cottage tea room when Gary the owner appeared in his handyman attire! He explained they weren't due to open properly until the following week. I attempted to make my apologies for disturbing them and depart but Gary wouldn't hear of it. Marci appeared ( and instantly recognised me which was lovely) and set about producing my cream tea - the best scones in Devon I can tell you! This delightful couple could not have been more welcoming and allowed me to take up their time while we chatted all through the scrummy tea like old friends. It's easy to pass by this place as it is on the main road through Wilmington and gone by in a flash. There is accommodation there also and I feel sure that would be delivered to the same high standard. Find time to stop - you won't be disappointed :))

Room Tip: Oops! Couldn't delete the sleep quality bit but I didn't stay here but only used the tea roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Cream Teas and we look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip , was given a warm and friendly welcome at the door, and then shown our rooms. The place is set in a beautiful thatched cottage that allowed me to get away from that run of the mill Hotel feel. The room was spotless, was given a four poster. Although the B&B is next to a busy road I had no issues with noise. The bathroom was shared but this was not a problems and is stated on there website. It was spotless . The downstairs area was made to resemble the cottage's appearance and was like Home away from home . Myself and Wife watched the Rugby and drank wine . The Friendly atmosphere made it easy to talk and enjoy company of others that were staying. Breakfast was full english , and I not one complaint with friendly service with nothing being too much. Gary & Marcia Keep up the great work . Will be staying again on my next trip.

Room Tip: If you're a couple choose the four poster room, if don't want a shared room select the on su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_wales-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting you again if ever you venture to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Rob and myself stayed in this beautiful idyllic little thatched cottage for one night, we had a very warm welcome, our room was beautiful we had a shared bathroom that was spotless, the food was amazing and the lounge was very comfortable, we met a beautiful couple and we stayed up talking to the small hours in the lounge it was so cosy it felt like home.I would definitely recommend and stay here again, marcia and Gary were the perfect host

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It really was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you had a memorable time in our dear old farmhouse We very much look forward to you visiting again. Thank you so much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed one night on 22/1/2014 although we were due to stay two. When booking we were offer ed a room with king size bed but no bathroom although we were told both shower and toilet were opposite and we would be only people using it. This was not the case so we were allowed to use bathroom next door which was freezing cold and had not been cleaned.

The room was cold on our arrival curtains useless, extremely noisy as right on road and bed soggy. We were asked to pay on arrival before seeing room which we've never experienced before. Overall extremely disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
As can be seen by our other reviews, we always extend a very warm welcome and upmost care and attention to all of our guests needs. You booked for one night, with the option of two, a room which you knew had shared facilities, despite an 'en suite' room being offered. Due to a very late booking that evening it was explained that the bathroom was to be shared. Your outburst in front of the other guest caused extreme upset and embarrassment both to my wife and the guest. My wife apologised profusely to the gentleman and explained that he had every right to use the facilities that he had booked and paid for, as he had offered to refrain from using the shower room if it was going to cause a problem. You later rang us from your room insisting that you have sole use of 'en suite' facilities in the next room. We explained that the room was being refurbished and out of commission, but nevertheless agreed, insisting, against your wishes , that the toilet was checked for cleanliness before use, which was done. Every effort was made to accommodate your requests, including a table being laid, so you could enjoy your takeaway meal in our dining room, which we later found unused. Despite informing us you were an early riser, your husband told us that you wished to 'lay in' and could we delay breakfast. Your unwarranted review is not appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed overnight 23/1/2014
Chose Wellington Farm because I liked the photo on the Web Site!
It is a genuine old farmhouse with wooden beams, inglenook fireplaces and the most helpful and friendly proprietors.
Stayed in the Honeysuckle room with the 4 poster bed. Room was clean and tidy. Excellent sleep - very comfy.
Breakfast was excellent Full English done to a turn.
I would have liked to have stayed longer but was only in Devon for a day.
If you want a stay in a place with real character rather than a bland hotel chain, this is it.
Thoroughly enjoyable stay and would recommended to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcia t, Owner at Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Johnny, thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the charm and character of this delightful farmhouse. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
4.9 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
288 reviews
5.3 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rose Farm B&B
Rose Farm B&B
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
43 reviews
6.2 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
183 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Heathfield Inn
The Heathfield Inn
#5 of 17 in Honiton
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Wellington Farm Eastleigh Road, Wilmington, Honiton EX14 9JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast and Tea Room and self catering Apartment and Lodges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing