We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
335
60
12
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
335
60
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews donkey sanctuary family bathroom fantastic site well stocked shop amenities block hole golf course lyme regis laundry room play park peaceful site dog walk toilet block hopper bus shop on site kitchen area spacious pitches toilet and shower facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 411 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

First time we have visited here. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception. Then a geordie lass (Cheryl Cole) we nicknamed her. Showed us to our pitch site she too was so chatty and helpful.... The site is immaculate with plenty of beautiful flower beds around the site too. There is a doggy shower free to use too. Great after muddy walks. The showers are clean and hygienic... Still have the crappy hairdryer on wall. Have yet to find a site with a decent hairdryer. But was having a laff with Cheryl Cole lookalike about it.... There are rooms with corner baths in too which u can pay a £1 and get 15 mins of hot water. Wat a fab idea..... There is also a laundry room complete with iron board and iron etc... This site is surrounded by lovely walks and the donkey sanctuary is literally a 10 min walk away. We went there every day of our stay.... Coastal walk down to beach is good too. Took us about an hour to walk down. Great going down but very steep coming back up... I am going to book to stay here again for sure.... Really recommend it. A great shop and cafe on site too. Fabulous breakfast baps and I hear the pizzas are pretty good too. Again the staff there are really pleasent.. 10/10 for this place... Well done you lot x

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakReception, Guest Relations Manager at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

Your Cheryl Cole nickname made me smile. Jess, as she's also known, is a new member of the staff, so it will be lovely for her to receive a mention for being chatty and helpul - I will pass it on!


10/10 says it all really - so pleased you felt that Oakdown had so many positives.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Just returned from a weeks stay in our touring caravan. Site cleanliness is excellent as are the shower and toilet blocks. However the shower cubicles are a little on the compact side and shower heads high resulting in the the spray spreading across whole cubicle so avoiding a hair wash is quite a challenge unless you have a shower cap (I don’t). . Only slight negative is the noise from the road which does die down at night.

On site Camptech and shop had very friendly staff and excellent ice cream.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakReception, Guest Relations Manager at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review

I'm sorry your shower experience wasn't straight forward, but, im glad you found the rest of the park to be good and the cleanliness to be excellent. I will pass your comments on to the house keeping team.


If you do come to stay with us again, which I hope you will, do feel free to ask for a pitch away from the road.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Just returned from a bank holiday camping trip to Oakdown and happy to confirm that the very positive reviews I read prior to booking were accurate.
Our reception experience was a good precursor to the remainder of the visit and we were guided to our pitch across the road next to the play area, close to the shop and cafe. The play area was well maintained and ideal for the children with us. I had wondered if it would be a little loud given the number of children around on a busy weekend but there were no issues, including when it came to sleeping.
The pitches are on astro turf which meant we were on a flat surface and avoided bringing grass into the tent. There was plenty of space and the electric hook up was easily accessible.
The shop and cafe are well stocked and reasonably priced. It is also where you pay for the golf. What a great little course! Well done to everyone involved in its upkeep.
The toilets and showers, kitchen area and site as a whole, are all kept to the highest standards which encourages everyone to do their bit in maintaining the cleanliness of the areas.
The walk to the donkey sanctuary is very pleasant, largely flat and affords protection from the bust road which runs alongside the camp site. We walked on to Sidmouth from the sanctuary. It was around 6 miles in total and there were some very steep ups and downs. There are beautiful views all of the way but be prepared for some tough climbing if you choose to take the challenge on. Our 11 and 12 year olds managed with a little encouragement. Thank goodness for the hopper bus service to take us back. I think I'm right in saying the fare is just a pound each. Great value.
I would happily book again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank iainasalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakReception, Guest Relations Manager at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to us a review.


Your comments were absolutely lovely, really great to read and a boost for the team.

We have had a really busy weekend, but most people are pretty considerate and do abide by our 'quite hours' rules. We want everyone to have a 'holiday' no matter how busy we are.

The amenities block / kitchen cleanliness is one of the top priorities for the wardens. They are both cleaned and checked regularly to ensure they are spotless.


I'm very impressed that you walked down into Sidmouth. The coast line here is amazing, hence being a Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), but it's a pretty tough walk in places. The Hopper bus was ideal, good thinking!!


We look forward to seeing you again soon!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

One of the best we’ve stayed in in 10 years of caravanning. Arrived late around 7pm, buzzed for the warden. He arrived immediately with a warm welcome and overview of the site and showed us to our pitch. Site is immaculate, very flat, really attractively laid out and spotless. Shower and toilet block immaculate at all times. Warm and friendly service in the shop. Busy but didn’t feel overcrowded at all and spotless play area for the kids. Brilliant site and we will return.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 30minute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakReception, Guest Relations Manager at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, that was lovely to read first thing in the morning.

I'm so glad that you had a lovely stay with us and to say it's the best place you've stayed in 10 year of caravanning means a lot.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

We Stayed here over the Easter weekend and boy we were impressed. A lovely site which is maintained to the highest standard. The same could be said to how clean the site is. Very Friendly and welcoming staff. A little shop on site which is not overpriced and they serve Food which was lovely. A small golf course accompanies the site which was a joy to play. A very peaceful site overall and we had an awesome time here

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakReception, Guest Relations Manager at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review.

We are very proud of our 5 star park, and our wonderful staff work hard to maintain the standard.

You made some lovely comments. We hope you will come back and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews