We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mole Cottage(Umberleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosie Banks B&B(Umberleigh)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdental flossnorth devonfresh fruitbe visiting againexcellent hostsfull englishcouple of nightscomfy bednothing is too much troubledereksherryconservatorygothicsuitepubstoiletriescomfort
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is the place to get away from it all and enjoy a fantastic location. It offers a perfect place to rest and forget about work. The breakfasts are out of this world, beats any hotel that I have stayed at and that includes those globally. Mein Hosts are perfect, couldnt ask for a better couple. Always making you feel welcome and at ease.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul-1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My partner and I celebrated our civil partnership at The Travellers Rest Old Church and couldn't have asked for anything better. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. Our hosts Derek and Sue were brilliant in creating an informal, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The main church room was decorated beautifully for our civil partnership ceremony with flowers collected locally and made into wonderful displays. Sue created a lovely Devon cream tea for our afternoon reception with cakes, scones, chocolate strawberries and other tasty treats!

Our room, The West Suite, is advertised as their premier room and it didn't fail to impress with a luxurious four poster bed, a private conservatory with views over the beautiful countryside as well as a whole host of extras to make everything that bit more comfortable.

As well as the great accommodation indoors Sue and Derek have a lovely garden which is ideal for sitting in on a summer evening.

Some friends and family also stayed at The Travellers Rest and said their experience was just as good as ours. Guests at the ceremony commented that they'd be making enquiries about their own stay there!

The Travellers Rest is the true definition of a hidden gem.

I really could not rate this place any higher and cannot wait to make a return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malpasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The Travellers Rest Old Church can only be described as the most wonderfully unique place to stay in North Devon. It sits in a marvellous country location but is still close to all the attractions that North Devon has to offer. The food and the hospitality is second to none and I can not recommend it highly enough.

D Savage
Northants

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Don006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Just spent a wonderful New Year celebration and break at this unique and wonderful hotel.
Cannot speak highly enough about the hospitality, food and attention to detail, all excellent.
Sue and Derek are the perfect hosts and made our break special. This hotel is a one off, Sueand Derek have created a unique establishment which has been sympathetically restored to a high standard. It takes on a different ambiance depending on the time of day or the ocassion. The food is first class and would compete with any first class restaurant.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank harrietWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We met Derek and Sue at a wedding and they told us about the old church they had purchased in North Devon. The church had been converted into a beautiful home some years ago and Derek and Sue have worked hard during the last few years to update and change the church to make it suitable for use as a B&B. We stayed at the Travellers Rest Old Church with friends over a weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday and I cannot fault Derek and Sue's attention to detail - the hospitality was superb. The rooms were comfortable with all the things you need to make you feel at home and the food was fantastic - Sue cooked us an excellent birthday dinner with Derek doing an amazing job as 'chief waiter'! The Church benefits from being in a delightful location with lovely views across open countryside. We look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TobyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews