We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind”
Review of Millbrook Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umberleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millbrook Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our second stay at Millbrook and just as good as the first time. The cottage is lovely and cosy (we stayed in Pulley Mill again), the grounds are fantastic and it was great to see all the flowers in bloom. Millbrook is such a relaxing place, the owners and staff are sooo friendly and you are made to feel very much at home and encouraged to explore the grounds, use all the great facilities and little hideaways (Mr Bens Shed) to chill out and enjoy a glass of wine or two. We couldn't recommend Millbrook enough - you would not be disappointed. We certainly plan a trip back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 549 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We choose millbrook as our wedding location, and it was the best decision we could have made. The accomodation, and people exceeded our expectations and delivered a wedding that was perfect for us

We loved the accomodation (Pulley Mill), and only wished we had stayed longer than 3 days. As soon as we got back, we booked to return for our anniversary, that says it all!

Accomodation, facilities are all to a high standard, and the people who are lucky enough to work in the estate were all extremely nice

The grounds were in great shape, as were all the extra facilities - hot tub, BBQ shack etc...

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What can I say? Millbrook is stunning in every way. We got married there last year in November and its taken we a while to write a review as every time I came write something I didn't feel I could do it justice.
It is the most perfect place you could ever hope to visit. We were guided though arranging our wedding, we had the runaway package and had Linda and Lisa as our witnesses. We really wanted something low key, minimal fuss and this is what we got. The whole experience was stress free and relaxed. The summer house had been decorated for our wedding, it was perfect with a roaring fire. We stayed in Pulley Mill which had the most amazing bathroom, everything you could think of was available and ready for you to use. We also used the BBQ hut which was amazing and got the company of one of the Cottages cats. The hot tub in the woods was also incredible. We hired Jim Wileman to take a few hours photos for us too and he was also absolutely brilliant. We didn't want anything too staged but he made us feel at ease and we have some beautiful photos to remember our day.
The grounds are stunning, basically you couldn't fault it in any way. Everything has been thought about, anything you could possibly want is already there for you, the attention to detail is what really makes this place so special.
Thanks to Kate and Bob for an amazing stay and to Linda and Lisa for being there to see us married.
Gemma & Ben.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with anything here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went for anniversary (we were married there last year! )
Total relaxation, beautiful surroundings run by wonderful people.
It was perfection in every respect and a wonderful way to reminisce and celebrate our first married year. Every consideration had been made, there was not a single detail missed!
Spectacular views! Loved borrowing the dog for woodland and lakeside walks. Perfect star gazing conditions - can't praise highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embry30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive at millbrooks gates you can see how beautiful and special it's going to be the grounds are truly breathtaking and lake view is the perfect cottage the hardest part of my stay was choosing between the bath with jets lights and a tv on the wall of the lovely big shower. I has my wedding also at millbrook in the summer house with they dressed lovely for the ceremony and I also hired the retreat which was the perfect setting by the lake and for my wedding tea party. Bob and Kate are lovely and so are Lisa and Linda who were big helps on sorting out my special day. We loved millbrook so much and are coming back next year for our first anniversary can't wait to be back love Nicola and kelly

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a super , beautiful , peaceful getaway , set in lovely grounds with two Lakes a Duck Pond
Landscaped gardens , a woodland walk upto where the family of Alpacas were grazing also areas where you can have BBQ's , they even have an indoor BBQ hut in the woods as well as a Hot Tub which was great. we stayed in the Pulley Mill which was beautifully appointed , great
double Jacuzzi bath , well equipped Kitchen which Had a huge bowl of Strawberries and cream waiting for us on our arrival , this was our first visit but definetly not our last.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a find! A peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

We arranged our runaway wedding to be held in the Secret Garden. From the moment we arrived it was more than we could have hoped for. The staff were attentive (without being intrusive), friendly and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The Secret Garden was the perfect venue for our wedding ceremony with its blissful secludedness and the grounds provided a great backdrop for our photographs. On the evening of our wedding we had private dining in the Summerhouse, which rounded off the day superbly.

It was with heavy hearts that we left this little corner of paradise and as the gates closed behind us we vowed that it would not be long before we would be returning.

Thanks to all at Millbrook for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleveleysWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umberleigh
4.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
593 reviews
2.6 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
20.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
110 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
624 reviews
13.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Cottages

Address: High Bickington, Umberleigh EX37 9BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Umberleigh
Price Range: $80 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook Cottages is a boutique award winning, luxury, romantic location with 4 luxury holiday cottages and a luxury B&B suite in North Devon. Millbrook offers accommodation for couples and small families within our 32 acre estate. We specialise in romantic occasions offering honeymoons, engagements, anniversaries, birthdays to remember and most importantly 'Just Because'! Millbrook offers a fantastic array of wildlife, wonderful walks (through woods, wild flower fields and around the North Devon countryside), a private hot tub in the woods, BBQ hut for all year round BBQs, Pet Friendly in 2 cottages, fishing on site, Luxury and Eco Friendly ethos, Close to Beaches and Exmoor, Great Local pubs, and much much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millbrook Cottages Hotel Umberleigh
Millbrook Cottages Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing