We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage for exploring Devon!”
Dartmoor and Exmoor Cottage - Barn conversion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dartmoor and Exmoor Cottage - Barn conversion
Exmoor Cottage Lounge Exmoor Cottage Lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Dartmoor and Exmoor Cottage - Barn conversion
Exmoor Cottage Lounge
Exmoor Cottage Lounge and dining area
Exmoor Cottage Lounge through to Galley Style Kitchen
Exmoor Cottage, Galley style kitchen
Exmoor Cottage, spacious double bedroom
Exmoor Cottage, double bedroom alternative view
Single Room
Single Room
Exmoor Cottage, Family Bathroom with shower over bath
Picnic benches and barbecues in the guest garden
Amazing views from the guest's garden!
Lots of sky here!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Umberleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K A
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cottage for exploring Devon! ”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just spent a week in Exmoor cottage! The cottage is situated in lovely quiet rural spot with beautiful views of the Devon countryside from the garden. The cottage is clean and welcoming with everything you would need! The bedrooms are especially comfy with lovely crisp white bedding! The garden is shared with the other cottage! It is perfect for dogs all securely fenced with an extra paddock where they can run around. The owner has 3 dogs but they are kept separate from this area. The weather was rather mixed so we didn't get to enjoy the garden as much as we might have.
The cottage is in a good position for exploring north Devon, just 15 minutes from Barnstaple which has supermarkets, a pannier market and a high street with the usual shops plus some lovely independent ones. The Beautiful north Devon coast is about 30 min drive away. We especially like Instow where dogs are welcome all year round. This cottage is very good value for money. Lory the owner was very friendly and welcoming and we appreciated the freshly baked welcome gift!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thankyou for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that Benson enjoyed himself too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweedie1
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Perfect family cottage with great hosts and stunning views!”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there in May 2016 for one week with our son and daughter in law and two young children. It was bank holiday weekend so accommodation was very scarce. We communicated with Lory the owner about the accommodation and were assured that it would suit our needs and it did! Lory and Colin were exceptional hosts which made our stay all the better! The cottage has one large double bedroom upstairs and two single bedrooms, one being larger than the other. We put two travel cots in the single rooms (Lory can arrange to lend you one and a stair gate and a high chair). The king size bed setttee in the lounge was useful as there were 6 of us in the cottage. The kitchen is excellently equipped there is nothing that you will need. Take some toilet rolls with you and maybe some more washing up liquid if you intend to wash up a lot, but there is some of both to start you off. The fridge and freezer are of a good size so we just turned up with a freezer box full of food to start us off. The cottage has a good wifi signal and tv, dvd player and wii box if you like playing that. Garden is wonderful for children with picnic table and lots of space to run around. Horses in fields and tractors going down the road which amused our 2 year old grandson. The cottage is quiet and in the countryside but within driving distance of good pubs and the seaside. We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were helpful before arrival and during stay.
Liked least: Children found it difficult to sleep without blackout curtains but we managed and this is a minor point.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage - highly recommend. We've just spent a week in this fab home from home. Very well equipped, very comfy, beautifully furnished and a great location for exploring all that North Devon has to offer. Lory and Colin were very welcoming and helpful. Just lovely.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn L
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and cosy with stunning views!”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 3 others stayed here whilst attending a wedding in just down the road. Lori and her partner were so welcoming (cake on arrival!!) and even drove us to the venue on the saturday. Luckily it was a beautiful day on the saturday and we got to enjoy the use of the garden and appreciate the views before going out. The house itself was warm and cosy and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the 1 twin room was actually two single rooms! The kitchen had everything you would need to prepare your own food and there was plenty of space in the living area for us to lounge about it too. Definitely recommend to a friend!

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, would highly recommend”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the warm welcome to the fond farewell Lory was helpful and accommodating to my husband and I along with our 7 week old baby and 2 dogs.
The Exmoor Cottage is kept immaculately, wonderfully decorated and has all the amenities you could need.
You will not regret booking with Crossways Holiday Cottages.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing