We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Umberleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value food”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch as pub has new owners food was good also good value 2 lunches for £12. Only gripe the toilets really need sprucing up .The new owners very friendly hopefully they will stay longer than all the others

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 505david505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    35
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
24
56
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chittlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have taken 6 months to try out the pub under new owners as the last time we went under previous people it was so awful, but what a transformation clean, warm, fantastic food, friendly and welcoming staff what more could you want from your local. Congratulations to Steve and his team and we look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for one night in October with my wife, daughter and dog. Very spacious room in building directly behind the pub. The pub itself is very nice, good food and ale, but what really made the stay was the welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast topped off an enjoyable visit. There is a lovely local walk by the river Steve told me about so, if with a dog, recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a series of 'so-so ' pub food experiences, I wasn't expecting too much. However..!! Wow. Best gourmet burger I've ever had, gorgeous starter, and the perfect sponge-based home made cheesecake, none of the pre-packed over sugared biscuit stuff. Really really good, and friendly service too. The only oddity? A Christmas song, surrounded by Bob Marley. See you again soon...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely little pub across the road from the pub, no longer part of the Tarka Rail Trail but good staff and good beer. We were wlecomed by a very polite landlady and also a lovely barmaid. Apparently they normally do their own pork scratchings but not available when we visited, hopefully we will be back to try these! We didn't eat here but the food looked good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY&NIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The new owners have really turned this pub around. We have been here a couple of times when we stay in north devon. Food is brilliant, I had they steak and it was delicious, staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. Some of my weddings guest stayed here and loved it.
They welcome family's and well behaved dogs. Will definitely return next time were in north devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This being our local pub had lots of previous bad press. But the new owners have turned it around.
We went last month and had a lovely welcome. The food was amazing...a lovely chicken in bacon and wine sauce with beautiful mash and veg. Big compliments to the chef and we will be back shortly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFamilyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umberleigh
3.1 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Pound Lane End | nr junction of A377 & B3227, Umberleigh EX37 9DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Umberleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing