We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rising Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Umberleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rising Sun”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food was good, the desert was expensive and average. It was cold and the bar had a few customers, no atmosphere. We had a meal there a few years ago and were disappointed with our visit. I think the management has changed. Go to the Bell at Chittlehampton instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    38
    13
    6
    11
See reviews for
27
59
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived at the Rising Sun just as they finished lunchtime shift but they went out of the way to make sure we could still get something to eat. They were such a friendly bunch. Really interested where we came from and the area we were visiting. Nothing was too much trouble. We can't comment on the evening meals but the snack we had at lunchtime was first class. I would have no hesitation in recommending this pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went here for a meal one evening with friends. Food was good. Not particularly welcoming though. Loo was plastered with mildew. Probably wouldn't bother to go there again although the food was quite decent and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umberleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The land lord was a great laugh the staff were so friendly and coudnt do enough for us. the food was to die for especially the lamb rump on the specials board and the thurday steak night the best steak i have ever had. maybe that last comment they should have had meat lol. but our friends had the mushroom stroganoff and said it was lovely.

great stay.

Room Tip: dobbs a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob1Umberleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Probably the worst roast dinner I have ever eaten. I ordered the Nut Roast but there was nothing ‘roast’ about it. Boiled Carrots, Peas and Cauliflower with a fried veggie burger from a supermarket served with gravy made from vegetarian gravy granules! And to top it off boiled Potatoes!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank harriettsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

4 visits to restaurant with current owners. Trip 1 ok trip 2 very mediocre, trip 3 OK and trip 4 on 26.11.11 very poor. 5 family members 4 meals below standard. Steak ordered medium rare came up medium to well done, chips were cooked in stale, reused oil. My wife ordered sea bass with a prawn sauce. It had clearly been left under heat lamps for some time as the sauce had dried out. My son ordered fish with prawn sauce but came with no sauce and was over cooked. Caesar salad, the croutons suffered the same fate as chips and were inedible. The steak was brought to the attention of the waitress. They did offer to cook another steak but the idea of a family meal is to eat together. They did take of the steak from the bill but when you complain to the waitress I do expect to see some personal intervention from management. If there had of been I probably would not have submitted this review. They were too busy taking to 3 or 4 regulars/friends at the bar. Indifferent and disappointing and will not return

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcb1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I visited the pub in November 2011 as part of a family meal.

Upon arrival the new (as of March 2011) hosts were very warming and friendly. The choice of food available on the menus was extensive and they now have special offers on food during the week which is a great idea. The specials help to support their traditional British menu and the specials board for those that fancy something more international. When we visited it was a Wednesday night and there was an offer of two home-made pie of the day meals for £5.95. I'm sure you'll agree that's good value.

I had a starter of goats cheese which was super and included a large cut of cheese! This was served with sun-dried tomatoes and a balsamic salad. The presentation was faultless.

For main I had fish and chips. The fish was beautifully cooked in a home-made beer batter. The chips were also cooked to perfection.

For dessert it was chocolate fudge cake. This wasn't home-made but still tasted great all the same and was served with vanilla ice cream which you could tell wasn't the cheap stuff from the supermarket so another plus there. My family members can also confirm their meals were of the highest order.

I opted to try both Ales during the meal. At the time there was Otter (3.6%) and Bays Gold (4.3%) available. Both ales were crystal clear to the glass and tasted perfectly fresh.

I highly recommend the pub if you are looking for a cost effective yet highly enjoyable meal in a lovely setting. I would of given it 5 out of 5, however the car park lights weren't on when we arrived or left, which meant a pitch black walk to and from the car. Other than that it was a superb evening.

Room Tip: Currently a Wednesday night is pie night (two for £5.95 with veg) and a Thursday night is steak nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umberleigh
3.1 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
105 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
3.7 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,532 reviews
7.3 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,234 reviews
6.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Pound Lane End | nr junction of A377 & B3227, Umberleigh EX37 9DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Umberleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing