We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place, and wonderful horses!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umberleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Higher Biddacott Farm
Ranked #3 of 6 Umberleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We chose Higher Biddacott Farm because it is near to the RHS gardens at Rosemoor. This was a truly wonderful place to stay - Jonathon keeps and trains the most beautiful, gentle, heavy horses, and it's worth coming here just to view the deep rapport between man and animals. These gentle giants obviously love their master, and it was a privilege to see them. Apart from that very moving experience, the 16th century farmhouse is a very interesting old building, beautifully restored in a style in keeping with it's age. We had the double bedroom with the gorgeous platerwork ceiling, which is a work of art, and by itself worth the stay. Jonathon & Fiona have managed to fit a cleverly made ensuite toilet & shower into the room without ruining the ambience of the place, the beds were clean and very comfortable. One tiny flaw, no hairdryers are provided, but that's minor. A fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a wonderful old ornate plasterwork ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alec1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in July 2011 as we were attending a friends wedding. Fiona was kind enough to pick us up from the train station and then treated us to some exceptional home made choc bic's and a cup of tea. Our room was large and had a lovely view. The breakfasts were fantastic and when we needed somewhere to eat on the day after the wedding when I had a very sore head Fiona cooked up a fine Sunday roast for us!! Basically the service here with a combination of lovely hosts, a stunning location and comfy rooms for a bargain price would make it a great choice for anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This B&B Farmstay was the highlight of our trip to the UK. Awesome hosts/food/accommodation and not least experience!! We are farmers from Australia and run a Farmstay with draught horses, so when I found Higger Biddacott Farm just had to visit there for market research!! The house is so old and wonderfully restored with character plus, the bed very comfortable, We stayed in for dinner both nights, Fiona is a faboulous cook! and I had the best time driving pairs of horses with Jonathon. If your looking for a special experience, want to get involved and are farm or horse orientated, you must visit here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

What a lovely time we had and I even got to meet the horses in the paddock and stables. I was in my element. We had the best welcome to the farm by John and Fiona and I have to say that the brekkie Fiona put on and cooked for us was the best brekkie ever. Yummy!! I would detinately come back, the only thing stopping me is the distance as we live on the other side of the world and a lotto win to pay for the airfares. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonzaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

A warm welcome, a relaxed and informal atmosphere with good food, congenial company and interesting conversation in an old house with attractive features on a working farm which most unusually employs horses rather than tractors where possible.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham_harris83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Higher Biddacott Farm is located in Chittlehampton ,about 5 miles from South Molton. Its run by the Waterer Family. The main hosts are Fiona & Jonathan with support from 2 children Tiggy & Harry.
The location of this farm is superb in the peace and quiet of the Devonish countryside,although only 2 large fields and a lane from the local pub named The Bell.

This farm is unique,although a working farm with accomodation,Jonathan works with Shire horses,a sight to be seen up close. He also breaks in these horses and where possible will provide Carriage driving lessons during his working day. This is an experience not to be missed,so if you enjoy horses then Higher Biddacott Farm is well worth a visit.

Fiona looks after the guests as well as being a very active part of this farm. It has to be said that shes always smiling from morning to dust,and she will always try to provide information and give support,you only have to ask.

The kettle is always on and if requested Fiona provides a rather delicious cream tea. Breakfast is superb,the full breakfast is made with locally sourced products and there is always plenty,not to mention other breakfast things if you dont want a full hearty breakfast.

Fiona will also provide evening meals if you just fancy remaining at the farm.

The room are good,equipped with tea service,lcd television and lashing of hot water if you just fancy a soak in the peace and quiet of the farmhouse.

If you fancy a short stroll (15 mins) you can walk through the fields to the local pub,ask for simple directions before leaving the farm.

( The Bell - located in Chittlehampton,its well stocked and has a lovely menu,reasonably priced,but you may need to book a table if eating on the weekend )

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fieldmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umberleigh hotels
0 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rosie Banks B&B
Rosie Banks B&B
#5 of 7 in Umberleigh
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Higher Biddacott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Biddacott Farm

Address: Chittlehampton, Umberleigh EX37 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Umberleigh
Hotel Class:4 star — Higher Biddacott Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star farm house, family run bed and breakfast accommodation in a twelfth century Devonshire Farmhouse on a working farm. Shire horses are used to work the ground and provide wagon rides and carriage driving courses. Delicious locally sourced home cooked meals provided. Cream teas and home-made cakes always available on arrival along with a warm welcome. Easy access to Exmoor, North Devon beaches and Rosemoor Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Biddacott Farm Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing