We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday destination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umberleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Ways Holiday Cottages
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently had a lovely short holiday at this wonderful location. My wife is wheelchair bound, and we found the Stables very suitable for our needs. The cottage was very cosy and comfortable, with a lovely decked area outside. The setting is absolutely stunning and the gardens around the cottages are beautifully kept. The farm, with its variety of rare breeds is a delight. We also found it a perfect location for days out, and wished we had more time, as there is so much to see in the neighbourhood. There is loads of useful information in the cottage for days out and places to eat. I can highly recommend the fish and chips !! , from a van which visits the local village on a Tuesday.
Sue and her daughter are lovely hosts, and it was great to hear about their plans for the farm.
I would highly recommend Country Ways to anyone looking for the perfect North Devon holiday location

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Country Ways Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in 'The Cuchoo's Nest' at Country Ways in September with family for my son's wedding. The cottages are comfortable, roomy and have everything you need. It has lots of charm and the scenery is outstanding. As a wedding venue it was stunning! The service, in the barn, was lovely. The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of interesting places to visit close by for all age groups. The children really enjoyed feeding the animals at the farm. We would love to return for a holiday!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just been to my sisters wedding at Country ways - Venue is beautiful, even when it rained!!. A really chilled out place with amazing views. Feels like you are a million miles away from civilisation but actually only a few minutes drive from main places in North Devon. The cottages are lovely and you have everything you need. The animals are great and fun for not just the children, but the adults too!! :-)
Great place for a wedding venue, but also for just a little get away. I honestly do not think that a better venue could have been found.
Would definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting to tie the knot, or just wanting to escape the madness. You would not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Any Cottage at the venue is ideal.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recently stayed in the Warren at Country Ways and what an experience it was! It is a fantastic location within easy drive to Bideford and the North Devon beaches, should you feel the need to drive!!!
The owners also keep a small animal rescue farm and our children were encouraged to feed the animals (including Reindeer) and help with grooming every morning. They could visit them whenever they wanted. There was a play area which even had secret dens in the surrounding foliage. There were ancient woodlands and paths to explore and safe country lanes for family walks too. The extensive lawns had a few picnic tables and BBQs randomly dotted around and the views were amazing. We will definitely be returning for a family reunion as the cottages were all perfect for couples to large families or family groups. At the end of our stay we were able to have a look at all the other accommodation and found the choices awesome. Congratulations to Sue and daughter Anna for a wonderful experience, which we highly recommend.

Room Tip: Country Ways website and brochure accurately describe the cottages and location
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently been to some friend's wedding at this beautiful place. I didn't stay in the cottages but other friends did who had a great experience. Beautiful setting, lovely laid back atmosphere and all just perfect!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We've just got home after tying the knot at the beautiful Country Ways cottages. A better venue will not be found for the perfect chilled-out country wedding. The proprietor is so welcoming and hospitable, and was a big help. Being able to hire all of the cottages, the barn, and the grounds for the entire weekend was spectacular, and now they have the licence in place for the ceremony to be performed in the barn, you don't even need to leave - no waiting for the bride because she's stuck in traffic! The cottages are just like a home from home (better actually!). We'll be returning every year for our anniversary, and are already planning to book the venue again for a holiday with friends and family - the kids love the farm!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just arrived home from a perfect week's holiday at Country Ways! Where to start? The cottages are lovely; we stayed in The Warren, but were lucky enough on the different change-over days, to be shown around the other five cottages on the farm. All are furnished and equipped beautifully, with all the things you need to BBQ wherever you chose or wash stuff after a trip to the beach either on hand or available. Comfy beds - and the bed linen, towels and t-towels are all supplied. We had a supermarket order delivered and it was carried down to our door for us. Inside on the dining room table was a vase of flowers and a wicker hamper containing the makings of a cream tea to welcome us.
Our 7-year old granddaughter had the time of her life. Not only was she able to be really independent and roam the farm freely and safely, each morning Farm Club was a real treat; feeding and handling a variety of small animals, taking Pygmy goats out for walks on leads; feeding Bronte the pig and her litter of 9 piglets; and how many children get to groom reindeer every day? And on our last evening, leading Shetland ponies (and tiny foal) back to the stable after a day out in the field. And I haven't even got to the sheep, alpacas and little donkeys who love a cuddle yet!
Farm club actually appealed to the adults just as much as the children, although Sue and Anna were equally happy for the children to pitch up on their own each morning.
There are acres of fields, woodland and orchard to explore plus the farm is really dog friendly, with a huge dog field - no leads, no bags required!
We wanted to bottle the atmosphere and the views to bring home with us - it won't be long before we're back, hopefully with the rest of the family.
Thanks Sue, And and Anna - a holiday to remember!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank hildev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umberleigh hotels
2.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mole Cottage
Mole Cottage
#5 of 6 in Umberleigh
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B
Show Prices

Been to Country Ways Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Ways Holiday Cottages

Address: Little Knowle Farm | High Bickington, Umberleigh EX37 9BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Umberleigh
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Ways nestles amid its own pastures and woodland with lovely gardens and breathtaking views. Barnstaple, Exmoor and the wonderful sandy beaches of the North Devon coast are within easy reach. The 6 beautifully converted stone cottages are well equipped and include a flat screen tv, X-box, dvd player, iPod dock and Wifi and provide generous accommodation for couples and families. We are wheelchair friendly with one cottage category 2 wheelchair access and we welcome families with children and dogs. We encourage children to help with our friendly animals which include miniature shetland ponies, miniature donkeys, pygmy goats, reindeer, alpacas, pet sheep, rabbits, ducks and more! The Corn Barn offers fun for all ages and includes table tennis, table football, a pool table and range of giant traditional garden games, whilst the outdoor Play Area with a trampoline, playhouse, climbing frame and sand table is popular with children of all ages. The whole complex can be hired for bespoke wedding weekends with the Corn Barn providing a unique venue for up to 120 guests. There is a full sound system with iPod dock, kitchen facilities and a marquee lawn and terrace which are perfect for outdoor catering,live music and dancing. We are open all year round with off peak and late/special offers. We look forward to welcoming you to Country Ways and sending you home relaxed, refreshed and revitalised! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Ways Holiday Cottages Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing