We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
Nearby Hotels
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highbullen Hotel(Chittlehamholt)
$149
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
$158
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The George(South Molton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
89
22
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
22
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesthe pubperfect hostsrailway lineamazing place to staysingle trackmain roadcar parkattending a weddingsuperb breakfastclean roomslovely couplenorth devonbe visiting againfish and chipsfull englishfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 117 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Attending a wedding at an *extremely* close venue, then visiting friends in the area. Stayed five nights, three in a room in the main building, the last two in one of the cottages. The room was fine, no problems there, then the cottage was just sensational. Immaculately clean, spacious and comfortable. My local friends and I returned to eat in the hotel/pub on no less than three further occasions.

I join with my fellow TripAdvisor contributors to thank proprietors Dee and Andy. The review title says it all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed two nights in one of the cottages.What a great choice! Excellent accommodation, with everything we needed. Warm and cosy,despite the terrible weather. Ate in the pub both evenings.Excellent food, a great price and huge portions.Andy and Dee were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble.The log fire was an added bonus and you couldn't get me away from it! The locals made us extremely welcome and we will definately be going back again.Peaceful and relaxed break, just what we were after

Room Tip: The cottage with a double bed was excellent.Everything you need is provided.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I can often be found at the bar of the Portsmouth Arms Hotel. Sometimes I am just waiting for a meal - freshly prepared to order. I am fussy about what I eat, as I am sure Andy would agree, but Dee never fails to come up with something delicious. Andy also does a mean vegetarian breakfast! I know I can take friends there who need gluten free diets as Dee is quite happy to provide them with a bit of notice. I also do not hesitate to suggest it to friends when they are visiting the area. The rooms are comfortable, and not loaded with a heavy single supplement. The two adjacent cottages are a delight.

Oh, I nearly forgot to mention the company - for this is a country pub with some regular characters. It makes for good conversation, sometimes even serious. You can go in a stranger and be included in the conversation within minutes. There are not many places where I am happy to go in on my own as a woman. Here you do not need to feel awkward. If you are travelling solo and want a reasonably priced country break this would be ideal. The valley is quiet, the surrounding countryside lovely and there is plenty to do within 20 miles. You may even see my camper van in the car park - they allow overnight stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed over the New Year - Dee and Andy are the perfect hosts, warm and welcoming. Accommodation is very comfortable and warm, great facilities. Good food and drink, we had a great time. Thank you for looking after us again. Penny & Les

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

During my first visit to England from New Zealand in June 2013, I stayed with a friend who lives near the Portsmouth Arms. During my stay, I was introduced to Dee and Andy and some of the friendly folk who frequent the Arms and we had two meals and a number of drinks there. On my first visit, I was struck by the friendly welcome and the delicious, wholesome food. I had Vegetable Jalfrezi and it was rich and satisfying. I felt part of the fabric of the place, even though I had come from the other side of the world. It is hard to put this into words, but I think it is a testament to the excellent hospitality of the Arms that I felt at home there. Our visits were punctuated by the sight and sound of the small train that passes by the inn from time to time. I wished it would stop in order to allow its passengers to sample the hospitality within. In summer the inn was delightful. I imagined that it would be equally welcoming in the depths of winter when the large, open fire would be blazing. Thank you Dee and Andy for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews