We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting location, food not bad but service erratic !”
Review of The Maltsters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maltsters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Tuckenhay B&B and Inns
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting location, food not bad but service erratic !”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I went here for a lunch. The dining room was pleasant with views over the creek but it took quite a long time after being seated for a member of staff to return. Nobody offered us a drink and we had to ask for them when our food order was taken.
I had a burger (real meat) which was delicious and quite substantial. There was a choice of thick or thin chips which was nice. Other had salads and the nippers shared an adult burger as no little ones available.
No one came to see if we wanted pudding and I had to hunt it down along with a refill of my drink.
Given the quality of the venue and the food, which was at what I would call the top end of the pub menu price range, the service was a tad disappointing.
The staff, however were friendly and it could have been put down to beginning of season teething troubles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    77
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
154
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have lived in the local area all my life and have always fancied a meal at the malsters tonight I was very disappointed by the food the brown shrimp was tasteless my wife's fish was cold and the steak was as tough as old boots my wife even sent her meal back but we still paid an expensive full price for the privilege,a real shame as in my job I direct people in the direction of the malsters but after sampling it myself I'm afraid no longer I shall try the watermans next!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank masterj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I am sorry to say that my parter and I find the food is expensive, I ordered the Bang Bang Chicken Salad for £12.50. I had hoped for that price it woud be really substantial, but I am afraid that it was not, it was so small that I could believe they were charging £12.50 for it.. But on the plus side it was tasty due to the spicy peanut dressing. My partner ordered the burger but unfortunately there was so much grease coming out of the burger that it made the bread all sogging but again on the plus side the chips were really nice, We were not in the mood to complain as we had aleady suffered a disappointment elsewhere so we just ate it and left as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kittycat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Spent 5 nights here, perfect spot with views over the small river. Lots of lovely little villages close by. We were made very welcome, lovely atmosphere. Rooms comfortable and clean. Food was excellent, service great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

food good but tonight the service was slow and we all commented on how we felt ignored and not well attended to, I think this due to the table we were sat on (the room on the left of the front door) which is out of the way a bit. we eat here regularly and have always sat in the main restaurant section. We just feel a little disappointed as we came with our parents who said they didn't like the place and we wanted to show them why we like it, they said they didn't like it because they thought the service was poor, it turns out they were sat at that table last time they visited.
the moral to the story is don't ignore the diners in this room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank katy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at the Malsters arms while we were taking my son in to the navy at Dartmouth and the stay was fantastic , the staff were excellent and the other guest there were really friendly , i would stay there time and time again what a place , always helpful views of the river brilliant ,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfcsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Ate here for two nights whilst staying locally. Superb waterside location . Friendly staff & Locals .Hadn't visited since the "Floyd days" but really jolly good . Well cooked food , ample portions and good value.

Very atmospheric eating area overlooking the river . Happy for us to have our two dogs with us . Good ale & wine.

Spoke to Le Patron and suggested he should put in a dumb waiter to hoist food from the kitchen to the dining room - he replied "we already have one but I want our waiting staff to be responsible for the food ( quality & presentation) from Chef to table" I am impressed a positive attitude which works!

Eat here with no worries - good stuff

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuckenhay
0.5 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
99 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
263 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
292 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 27 in Totnes
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltsters Arms

Property: The Maltsters Arms
Address: Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tuckenhay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckenhay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maltsters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maltsters Arms Hotel Tuckenhay
The Maltsters Arms Tuckenhay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing