We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Maltsters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maltsters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Tuckenhay B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Spent 5 nights here, perfect spot with views over the small river. Lots of lovely little villages close by. We were made very welcome, lovely atmosphere. Rooms comfortable and clean. Food was excellent, service great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

food good but tonight the service was slow and we all commented on how we felt ignored and not well attended to, I think this due to the table we were sat on (the room on the left of the front door) which is out of the way a bit. we eat here regularly and have always sat in the main restaurant section. We just feel a little disappointed as we came with our parents who said they didn't like the place and we wanted to show them why we like it, they said they didn't like it because they thought the service was poor, it turns out they were sat at that table last time they visited.
the moral to the story is don't ignore the diners in this room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank katy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at the Malsters arms while we were taking my son in to the navy at Dartmouth and the stay was fantastic , the staff were excellent and the other guest there were really friendly , i would stay there time and time again what a place , always helpful views of the river brilliant ,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfcsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Ate here for two nights whilst staying locally. Superb waterside location . Friendly staff & Locals .Hadn't visited since the "Floyd days" but really jolly good . Well cooked food , ample portions and good value.

Very atmospheric eating area overlooking the river . Happy for us to have our two dogs with us . Good ale & wine.

Spoke to Le Patron and suggested he should put in a dumb waiter to hoist food from the kitchen to the dining room - he replied "we already have one but I want our waiting staff to be responsible for the food ( quality & presentation) from Chef to table" I am impressed a positive attitude which works!

Eat here with no worries - good stuff

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing one night stay and were really impressed with the fantastic food, beautifully cooked with lovely local produce.
We stayed in the spacious and nicely furnished Kingfisher room with lovely bath and very comfortable bed.
The location is absolutely stunning with great views.
Thank you Gemma and Helen

Room Tip: Kingfishers is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We were a stag party of 13. Great spot off the beaten track, and they have a good private room and bar which was perfect for us. Great and friendly staff who could not have done more for us. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a great night at The Maltsters - friendly, fun, vibrant yet relaxed. Food was excellent and great selection of well kept beers (all local). George and his youthful team did a great job of making our Saturday evening feel like one happy party night aided by excellent live music. For a first night of our week's holiday it was certainly one to fondly remember. See you soon for sure!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank FIRSTCRICKETTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuckenhay
0.5 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
113 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
600 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
279 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltsters Arms

Address: The Maltsters Arms | Totnes, Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tuckenhay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckenhay
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maltsters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maltsters Arms Hotel Tuckenhay
The Maltsters Arms Tuckenhay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing