We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real naturist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorns Naturist Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real naturist”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Acorns having spent the weekend there. The place was beautifully landscaped and in a lovely peaceful location, but sadly the weather seriously let us down with howling gales and incessant rain which didn't detract from the beauty of the place and could only get better with sunshine.
Sadly this glorious atmosphere was let down by so called " Naturists ". They had more clothing on than an artic explorer. The warmth of the clubroom which has beautiful furnishings and soft cosy sofa's, surrounding a glowing pot bellied stove beltching out heat, which a camel would appreciate. My husband and I were playing table tennis " ou natural " and felt that we were the odd ones out here, so we retired to spend the rest of the evening naked in our camper. This happened two nights running and we both thought what's the point of calling this a naturist retreat when it's quite obvious this is a clothing optional site, this is total mis-representation of their advertisments. Sadly we will not be returning to this idealic gem in the heart of Devon, the only nudity insisted upon is in the pool, jaccuci and sauna.
Talking about the pool and jaccuci, the pool is heated via a solar panel which is totally inadequate with the British weather as the pool was no warmer than the " English chanel ". The jaccuci is open to the elements under a wooden gazebo, which is fine for a sunshade but doesn't stop the wind blowing through.
The site warden Claire was very welcoming and helpful, not to say the frosty reception we received from Andy the site propriator, who didn't even bother to introduce himself. His wife Kathy introduced herself and the only other words she said to us was " who ordered the steak and who ordered the cumberland sausage ? " as she placed the meals in front of us.
Would we recommend it, yes to be fair the place is beautiful, ignore the owners and if you don't mind mixing in with other clothed guests then this place is for you. But if you want to feel comfortable naked then this place is not for you.

Andy and Julie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonholidaymaker, Owner at Acorns Naturist Retreat, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Julie & Andrew,
Thank you for your review and comments.
I am sorry you felt that Acorns is clothing optional, as we go to great lengths to be known as a naturist venue and not clothing optional, because with clothing optional, nobody feels comfortable.
I think the problem, as you pointed out, was the weather. It was a particularly wild wet and windy time when you stayed and though as you say, we do insist on nudity in the pool, sauna and hot tub, we can not and would not insist on people being naked in weather like that at other times. Most guests in the heated Cow Shed were merely wearing robes or sarongs for protection from the elements when venturing back outside.
The temperature of the pool is also down to the weather I'm afraid, as it is still early in the season and we have had precious little sunshine to heat all of the solar panels we have supplying the pool.
I do apologise for not introducing myself to you and hope you will come and pay us another visit when the weather is a bit better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
64
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Unlike other naturist camp sites this one includes all the facilities in the price .
Showers,sauna , pool and hot tub are all included which we have paid for separately at other places .
There is a club house with a pool table etc and they are licensed to sell alcohol .
With views over to the northern edge of Dartmoor it is perfect .
We are experienced naturists and are used to being fleeced just to enjoy the freedom that comes with being naked , this place is different and we cannot sing its praises enough .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just completing a weekend break at Acorns. This was our first naturist holiday and we arrived at Acorns feeling a little nervous. But we soon felt right at home thanks to the hospitality of our hosts and friendliness of other holiday makers. The mobile home we stayed in was clean, comfortable and well-equipped; the grounds perfect for relaxing strolls. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna and the hog roast which had been organised. I took the opportunity to have a Swedish massage - a lovely experience.

So pleased were we with our short break at Acorns, that we have immediately booked to come back later this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelightCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Acorns is absolutely one of the best naturist retreats, perfect location, marvellous hosts, and good amenities. A beautiful, peaceful country setting, the ideal place to strip off your clothes, and the trappings of every day life, and just lay back and let the world go by. The amenities are clean and welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. A nice quiet club room, good food if required, and perfect company from the other naturist guests. The pitches are well laid out with very accessible services, and there is B&B if caravanning/camping is not your scene. If that is not enough, there is a lovely pool and sun-deck, a wood burning sauna, and a hot tub to soak away your cares in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazCrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset. UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A weekend spent sans clothing in a peaceful country setting. Comfortable accommodation, good food, excellent facilities. A sauna, hot tub and pool. A games room and comfortable lounge area, plus two large fields to stroll through au natural.
recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnBurbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a little gem of a place ! The facilities are very good . The common room is very well heated in cold weather and the pool is gorgeous when it's warm. The grounds are immaculate with a great boules pitch. There are hens in a lovely wooded setting and a few sheep in the field and you can go for pleasant walks round the property. We'll be back !!

Room Tip: We had our own campervan so can't comment on the B&B side unfortunately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manxcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

So few quality naturist retreats in this country and this is one of the best. Friendly staff and guests, good facilities and surrounded by beautiful country. As well as room to stretch your legs on site many safe and picturesque country walks abound.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zhivag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiverton
8.8 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
365 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
7.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
73 reviews
9.1 mi away
Barton House
Barton House
#2 of 3 in Stoodleigh
37 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stoodleigh Court Coach House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Naturist Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Naturist Retreat

Property: Acorns Naturist Retreat
Address: Creacombe Parsonage Farm | Rackenford, Tiverton EX16 8EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturist retreat in the heart of Devon. Bed, breakfast and evening meals. Mobile homes for hire. Camping. Free use of hot tub, sauna, heated swimming pool, games barn 13 acres of land to explore. Situated between Exmoor and Dartmoor within easy reach of north and south coasts, including several naturist beaches. Free WI Fi, Discreet business VAT receipts given. Just 20 minutes from M5 junction 27, Payment by cash or card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorns Naturist Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Naturist Retreat Hotel Tiverton
Acorns Naturist Retreat Tiverton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing