We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorns Naturist Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just come back from Acorns and it was my first time there. Its soo soo nice. Fantastic views, lovely walk around the fields where you can loose your self and really enjoy naturism.

The sauna,pool and hot tub are all very nice to use. Nice clean facilities and I enjoyed the games room.
I also enjoyed the patange court and watching all the chickens, ducks, pigs and sheep which are around the camp site.
The owners are lovely and really make you feel at home. I cant wait to go back there and be a regular.

This place really is a fantastic place to be a naturist and perfect for your first time at trying naturism. Thank you for making my time soo memorable xxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlymouthEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Perfectly situated in the heart of rural East Devon, Acorns provides idyllic B&B and camping for naturists on a tranquil 13-acre site with far reaching views towards Dartmoor. Should you feel inclined to explore further afield, there are towns, villages and naturist beaches but we preferred to do nothing more energetic than sunbathe around the swimming pool, stroll through the fields admiring the hedgerows and trees, relax in the jacuzzi watching nuthatches, goldcrests and woodpeckers feed while buzzards circled overhead, before melting away time with friends in the wood-fired sauna - just across the courtyard from a spotless shower and toilet block. We stayed in the cosy farmhouse for 2 nights B&B plus one night's evening meal. All meals were excellent and extremely tasty. Nothing was overlooked by Andy & Kathy in making the bedroom perfect. The bed was SO comfortable and we loved being able to see the stars above through the skylight without any street-light pollution. Add to all this that free wifi is provided and, best of all, you don't need any clothes while on site, it makes for the perfect naturist retreat you won't want to leave. We, as seasoned naturists who have travelled and enjoyed many naturist breaks in Europe, would recommend Acorns as the ideal place to experience, maybe for the first time, what makes naturism so normal, relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank barrythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We visited last year and during our stay we had both wonderful sunny days and heavy driving rain. I thought the facilities were good but I also thought the site was to some extent "work in progress."
The lounge was a bit dismal but I was told that this year would see a new set up. The swimming pool was too cold to venture into and the distribution of electric hookup points needs a bit more thought. We initially went for a certain pitch only to find the hook up was too far away, even with an extension. They need centralizing. I was also surprised to see no boules court at a naturist site. I also thought the camping area could, if the wind had blown strongly, be a bit exposed. That's the negative out of the way.
The site was clean, welcoming and the wood-burning sauna fantastic. The hot tub was excellent and we found the water had been changed.There is a small shop for the forgotten essentials and plenty of room to wander about. Wifi is available
It's a site I hope to visit again and the negative was far outweighed by the positive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed in the B & B for 5 nights in August and had dinner every night. It is all perfect - it is natural, deeply rural and very easy going but extremely well run by Andy, Cathy, Clare and Martin. Set in rolling Devonshire countryside with two large fields as well as the attractive caravan and camping pitches, I love being able to take naked walks around the whole site. The pool, sauna and hot tub are all terrific places to relax and the showers are spotless - I used the outside showers because I had the (charming) single room, though you can use an inside shower. The food was excellent every night and, as a solo traveller, I particularly enjoyed the friendly company. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DavidJC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent four nights at Acorns in our caravan in late September 2011 and had a great time. The place is really well run and very friendly. We spent our evenings in the wood burning sauna (I never even knew they existed but it was fantastic) chatting with at least one or more of the other campers. The showers and toilets are good and very clean, the sauna is excellent and the hot tub was a lovely way to spend an afternoon with a glass of wine!
The site is on a sort of small holding, so from our caravan windows we could see pigs, chickens and ducks, spread across the various areas of the grounds, which made us feel like we were proper country folk! There's a simple walk around the site, which you can do as a naturist, that takes about 20 to 30 mins and feels like a proper country ramble across the fields. Luckily for us the weather was good so we did this walk twice during our stay (when we weren;t too busy relaxing in the hot tub or sauna).
Everyone there was really friendly and there is a nice ambience that is very welcoming. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a first time naturist site visit, or to regular nudies like us.
The only word of warning is be careful if you are towing a large caravan as the route in has a few thin, windy lanes in the last couple of miles. It would probably be a good idea to give them a call before you arrive to make sure that no-one is leaving to come the other way with a caravan at the same time, as otherwise you'd have a nightmare trying to reverse.
We will definitely be going back to Acorns and plan to spend a few days here next year. Its very convenient for driving out to North Devon (we went to Clovelly) and also to Dartmoor and Exmoor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joelsw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

What a wonderful place. I was working in the area and thought I'd take the opportunity to try out Acorns. It exceeded my expectations. I opted for B&B, and on two of my three nights I also had the evening meal. I couldn't have been looked after better. Andy got up early to cook me a delicious full English breakfast as I had to get on the road by 8am. What bliss on the day of departure to be able to relax, have breakfast at a more sensible time, and then enjoy the facilities for the morning before heading off.

And those facilities are just great. As one would expect at any naturist site, there's a pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna. But the pool is in an amazing position, with stunning views across the moor and to the hills. It's a real suntrap, with comfortable sunloungers on the decking, and heated by a bank of solar panels. The jacuzzi was a lovely place to relax after my days out working, and the large sauna is heated by a woodburning stove which seemed to me to be a slightly less aggressive heat, which I definitely preferred.

There's a games barn, a separate lounge for the campers / caravanners, there's Wi-Fi throughout the site, long walks around the fields to visit the pigs and the chickens or just to enjoy the naked walking in the countryside.

Kathy, Andy, Clare and Martin all work incredibly hard to keep everything nice and indeed to improve the facilities. They have plans for an improved games barn and two self-catering cottages in the current barn. If fresh home-grown food, superb hosts, and lovely facilities in a proper naturist retreat is what you're after, Acrons Naturist Retreat is the place to be.

Room Tip: The single B&B room shares a shower room with the double, so if you want it all ensuite then ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TamaraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just got back from a couple of days camping at Acorns and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - even the rain didn't spoil our stay. It was our first stay at Acorns and in fact our first naturist venture so we really couldn't have expected a more perfect place where the other guests were friendly and the scenery fantastic. Will certainly be looking forward to our next visit.
Minor gripe but in no way a negative one - the games room and TV room could be a little bit more inviting.
D&K

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DKDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
9.6 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
6 mi away
Stoodleigh Court Coach House B&B
2.7 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
396 reviews
12.9 mi away
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
9 mi away
Barton House
Barton House
#2 of 3 in Stoodleigh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Naturist Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Naturist Retreat

Address: Creacombe Parsonage Farm | Rackenford, Tiverton EX16 8EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tiverton
Price Range: $45 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturist retreat in the heart of Devon. Bed, breakfast and evening meals. Mobile homes for hire. Camping. Free use of hot tub, sauna, heated swimming pool, games barn 13 acres of land to explore. Situated between Exmoor and Dartmoor within easy reach of north and south coasts, including several naturist beaches. Free WI Fi, Discreet business VAT receipts given. Just 20 minutes from M5 junction 27, Payment by cash or card. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acorns Naturist Retreat Hotel Tiverton
Acorns Naturist Retreat Tiverton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing