We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay so far on LEJOG 2013”
Review of Angel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angel Guest House
Ranked #4 of 33 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent nights stay, the room was spacious, and the bed was comfy, a little road noise but I'm used to that! There was excellent recommendations for places to eat and drink, and they even didy breakfast early so I could set off on my ride in plenty of time! Best b and b en route so far!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The photos show this guest house as somewhere you would like to stay. Unfortunately I will not be going back. The B&B is very old(not in a nice way), run down and in need of some tlc. My room had no towels - which i had to ask for. However the bathroom was so cold i couldn't shower there. The only saving grace was the breakfast - which was substantial and tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollidc, Owner at Angel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Well thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Angel.

You are correct she is a little over 300 years old which leads to some issues and we are very aware that a full modernization would remove all the character from this venerable old lady and we have refurbished every bedroom with this in mind. So old certainly, but not in a good way? We think she's old in a wonderful way.

I am sorry you feel the pictures on the web site are not representative. We are still scratching our heads over this one, certainly the room you stayed in has had a full length mirror added, but otherwise is in the same condition now as when we put the four poster in there and took the pictures.

thank you for letting us know about the cold in the bathroom, you are the first guest to mention it and our local plumber is now quoting on a radiator for there.

The lack of towels was inexcusable, we endevour to keep standards of cleanliness very high, which is more of a challenge in a building of this age, but we certainly do provide towels (very nice ones from Ikea!) for all our guests so I hope you will forgive this oversite.

So you won't be returning. We're both sorry to hear that but a 300 year old B&B is not everyone's ideal.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, all our ingredients are locally sourced (except for the beans which are HP) and we believe you can really taste the difference.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Angel

Best regards

Chris Holliday
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here while doing LEJOG (Land's End to John O'Groats) in September 2012.

We had booked the B&B's along the way purely based on a target daily distance and budget; it turns out our luck was with us on this night. The lady & chap that run the place are really friendly and really helpful.

They did some washing for us and sorted us out with some ice for my knees (that were on fire) without a second thought.

The room was nice, well decorated and spacious with it's own private bathroom that was nice and clean.

Breakfast was really nice and quite filling - brilliant fuel for the following day!

Long story short, excellent B&B, especially for cyclists doing any sort of tour.

(Apologies to the owners for taking so long to get around to writing a review!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Chris and Sue are very welcoming hosts. I would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a warm welcome, with warm and comfortable rooms. The shower is powerful and water always hot too - always a bonus when away from home. Breakfast is consistently delicious. I am vegetarian, and was instantly offered veggie sausages and a selection of egg choices on arrival. Although the poached eggs are fab, once I'd experienced the cheese omelette, there was no going back. For all omelette lovers, Chris's is the best. So although plenty of other options were on offer, I chose not to explore the other options available.
I have stayed for a few weeks, and throughout this time I have felt thoroughly looked after and welcome.The balance that Chris and Sue provide within their hosting skills is just right: I never felt overpowered or obliged to be social at all, yet knew they were there if I needed them. I will take pleasure in recommending this guest house whenever I get the opportunity - thanks again Chris and Sue for looking after me so well. Hxx

Room Tip: I stayed in rooms on both sides of the house, and wasn't disturbed by traffic or town folk at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We travelled to Tiverton by coach, fully intending to be met by a friend but the coach was held up and over 4 hours late arriving. We decided to find a B&B for the night to save our friend coming to meet us so late.We got a courtesy call while we were still on the coach and Chris very kindly stayed up to greet us. We had the lovely 4 poster bed ......very comfy! and slept very well. Great cooked breaky and wonderful service.Lovely couple, lovely B&B so nice that we have decided to unwind there each trip and get picked up the morning after our arrival. Excellent value for money and well worth a visit!!! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4 poster!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniemac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Julie & Colin made our visit very pleasent. They both looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself was a great little bed and breakfast. Our room was very comfortable, clean and very spacious. The breakfast was excellent and well recommended. Its excellent value for money.

This is the second time we have stayed and we will certainly be back for a third visit next year!!

Bob, Sallie & Josh - Sheffield.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sell_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollidc, Owner at Angel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hello there and thank you for the wonderful review!

Unfortunately I don't think you stayed with us at the Angel as you mention the owners names are Julie and Colin and we are Chris and Sue.


Good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Devon, and please keep us in mind if Julie and Colin are full in the future!

Best regards

Chris Holliday
Proprietor
Angel Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here on my own as I was attending a meeting in Tiverton the next day. Managed to park right outside which made things very easy. The room was to a good standard, clean and had everything I needed. Would definetly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.9 mi away
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Guest House
Bridge Guest House
#9 of 33 in Tiverton
41 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stoodleigh Court Coach House B&B
9.4 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Guest House

Address: 13 St. Peter Street, Tiverton EX16 6NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range: $63 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Angel' Guesthouse is situated in Tiverton's central conservation area close to all the town facilities. 'The Angel' B&B makes an ideal base for visiting the unspoiled Devon countryside. Tiverton is centrally placed in Devon to visit Dartmoor, Exmoor and the North and South Coasts. Chris and Sue Holliday look forward to welcoming you to 'The Angel' B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Guest House Tiverton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing