We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Room with a view”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sueV4594R...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Room with a view”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Well our stay here was superb.May cottage was cosy warm ,comfortable beds,plenty of hot water and very well kept.The views from the cottage were beautiful with abundant wild life especially the deer visiting on an evening. The swimming pool was ell maintained and immaculately clean .Its very well situated for visiting other places thats if you an drag yourself away from the peace and quiet. Nearly forgort the delicious cream tea waiting us on arrival.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smileysun...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning, must visit!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We returned from our visit to Three Gates Farm refreshed and relaxed with some fantastic memories. We were so impressed by our stay in Nuthatch and it was perfect for a cosy retreat with our puppy!
The cottage was well equipped and has everything that you could need. We had our food shopping delivered to our doorstep so we wouldn't need to thirty about the dog. There are fresh eggs available from the farm so no need to buy. The pool is lush and sauna is very relaxing. Nice little gym too! Lots to do out and about too, exmouth beach lovely and sandy and plenty of places dog friendly. Was so lovely to meet Lynne, Johnathon and Ellie- May. Hope to visit again xxx

Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keirakeir...
1 review
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you picture staying in a cottage in the countryside, then this is it, you won't be disappointed. If you want to hide away from the world or if your a walker or just want a family holiday, 3 gates farm suits every need. It's the perfect getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fieldmonk...
1 review
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at three gates farm I'm may cottage for our honest moon 3 years ago and just had to come back this year because it's just wonderful. Fantastic location, only 30 mins approx to Exeter if you like shopping, and tiverton town is lovely for a wonder. but personally I could have gone the whole time not leaving the farm. The surroundings are beautiful and the pool area is the cleanest I have ever used. We will be back again very soon I am sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthoncon
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Most welcoming”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I spent a delightful 7 days in May Cottage. Three Gates farm is situated amongst the quiet Mid-Devon lanes equidistant from the north and south Devon coasts while being very convenient for NT places and many good bistro pubs. The cottage was immaculate, being well furnished with good cooking and food storage facilities. A real plus point is the very complete information on nearby attractions and where to eat so one can be a stranger to Devon and get to the right places. Both Lynn and Jonathan are enthusiastic and very welcoming. I first saw this place on the BBC's "Escape to the Country) about 4 years ago and was very impressed; an impression that proved to be justified. This was our first self-catering "staycation" in the UK for many years. The swimming pool is a real bonus, especially for children - so ideal for the family holiday.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueEng201...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect rural getaway”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Jon & Lynn were extremely helpful and welcoming hosts. The cottages are beautifully clean & comfortable, the views of miles of Devon countryside were amazing.
Having the use of an indoor pool, sauna & fitness machines, made it the perfect place to stay for a self-catering holiday.
Lots of helpful information on local attractions and eateries are available in the property.
For younger children there is a good play area as well as ducks & geese to help to feed!
Wi-fi was a bit slow, but then that is to be expected in very rural areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Indoor pool & fitness suite
Liked least: Very narrow roads!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent new holiday find for the 'Fab Four Families'”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just come home from a wonderful weekend break at Three Gates Farm. Between four families we hired all five cottages, so had the pool and park all to ourselves. Each cottage was fantastically well equipped, Jonathan & Lynn have thought of everything - from plenty of mirrors (essential when the majority of your party are girls), to plug covers in every socket!
Although the cottages are 'in the middle of nowhere' it really isn't a very long drive to Tiverton the nearest town. There are many walks and national trust properties locally and we have all decided there is nothing for it - we are going to have to return!
ps The only reason I gave a 4 for sleep quality was because our bed in May cottage was too hard! But we realise that is a personal preference!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing