We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to stay for all the family.”
other travelers have booked this property
Our 33ft indoor pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our 33ft indoor pool
The Long Barn lounge The Long Barn @ Three Gates Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Our 33ft indoor pool
The Long Barn lounge
The Long Barn @ Three Gates Farm
Surrounding countryside
Play area & 12ft trampoline
Fitted kitchen with cooker, fridge, freezer, dishwasher and microwave
Double bedroom
Our neighbours
Feeding the chickens
Single room, converts to a twin
Our fitness room
One of the bathrooms in the Long Barn
Floor plan of the Long Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daylily93...
Carhaix
1 review
“A perfect place to stay for all the family.”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a wonderful time we had at Three Gates Farm. We had a family reunion and the location, facilities and general ambience pleased everyone. It's a gem of a place, hidden away in the beautiful mid Devon countryside. lWe had a warm welcome from Jonathan on arrival, a cream tea awaited us in our cottage and from then on it was pretty much a dream holiday. One thing that impressed us was the attention to detail, so many things that made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Top marks for the swimming pool, gym and sauna, so well maintained, the pool was heated to a perfect temperature, what a plus that was.
All in all it truly deserves a five star rating. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing & homely”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Long Barn with 2 children. It was ideal as it was on one level. It was very comfortable and even without a log fire (which we may not have lit anyway with a 2 year running around!) it was still snug and warm. Great place to relax and chill, let the kids off the leash and put our own feet up. Pool was great, warm and clean. We booked private swimming lessons and I was amazed how much our 5 year old progressed with the 1:1 attention. Owners were lovely - very welcoming and around if you needed them but otherwise left you alone. Some great National Trusts nearby and easy to drive to the north or south coasts for days out.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
readtrav
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic site and location”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Three Gates is a collection of cottages a few miles north of Tiverton in Devon. We stayed in Long Barn with three bedrooms in a nice layout for our group. The barn was well equipped, warm on colder days (this is March after all).

The pool and playground on site were very well received by our four year old who spent many happy hours on both. She also enjoyed feeding the chickens and looking for eggs.

Overall a lovely holiday with lots to do which is exactly what we had hoped for. We'd certainly consider coming back again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family cottage.”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a winter and New Years break with two young children and grandparents. Fantastic layout and beautiful cottage yet still practical with little ones and very clean. Even milk in the fridge on arrival! The heated swimming pool was brilliant especially for rainy days and a good size with lots of pool toys available. Good base for exploring both Somerset and Devon. Hosts were friendly and approachable. My son is eager to go back and help feed the animals again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Onsite pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara B
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Holiday!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked the cottage hoping for a lovely relaxing Christmas break - it was everything we hoped for and more!!
The cottage was large, well appointed and cosy.
The location was very nice with lovely views.
The indoor pool was very nice and kept us busy on rainy days!!!
The owners were very nice, our youngest child said the best bit of the holiday was when Jonathan took her to feed the chickens!!!
We found a couple of lovely country pubs to visit and everyone in the area was very welcoming.
We are looking forward to going back (hopefully in the summer) to make full use of the outdoor play area and to get the BBQ going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Leaving!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlonsdale...
2 reviews
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just come back from our first break at three gates farm. Even though the weather wasn't great we had a fantastic time. We stayed in the long barn which was perfectly laid out for two family's. It was very clean, with everything we needed. The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming and showed us around on arrival. The swimming pool made our holiday, we couldn't get our 3yr out of it, she had so much fun.
The barn was in a great location for exploring South Devon, but tuck away in the peace and quiet countryside. I feel the barn was really good value for all the amenities and hope to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieB_9
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Long Barn for 2 nights in April 2015. We chose Three Gates Farm for its location as we were visiting friends in the area. We also only wanted a 2 night (Friday and Saturday) stay and they were happy to accomodate this. It's a nice part of Devon - scenic but not massively touristy with great countryside to explore. The barn being all on one level was an added bonus as my elderly father who travelled with us finds stairs a little difficult. The barn is lovely - well equipped, cosy, clean. Everyone said their bed was comfortable. We used the pool, sauna and gym - a nice addition to the facilities. We liked watching the birds on the feeders from the windows and eating the fresh hens eggs that are available. I liked hearing about the two cats. The hosts were lovely - friendly and welcoming and keen to make sure we had everything we needed. They very kindly provided a cream tea for our arrival.
If I could make one suggestion it would be to have a bigger teapot (big enough for 5) and a tea cosy.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing