We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Accommodation and Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David P
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our second stay at Three Gates Farm, last year we stayed in the Long Barn as my parents stayed with us and this year we stayed in May Cottage. Both times the cottages have been exceptionally clean and equipped with everything you could possibly require. The indoor pool is a fantastic feature with the benefit of a small gym area and sauna. The rural location has stunning views and is well served by the nearby villages and the local town of Tiverton. It's central location means that you can be at both the North Coast and South Coast within the hour and there are loads of places to visit; Sidmouth, Escott and Dunster were amongst our favourites. Jonathan and Lynne work hard and put a lot of thought into ensuring everything is just right and it certainly shows. We would have no hesitation in recommending Three Gates Farm, it is a Devon delight.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyne...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Cottages and facilities!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from our second visit to Three Gates, this time in the beautiful, spacious Long Barn and with 2 children and a grandparent, the layout of the property was perfect. Nothing is too much trouble here - there's loads of thoughtful information on what to do, where to eat, the children were invited to feed the chickens and rabbits, the play area and games room are an added bonus and the swimming pool is fantastic. This year we again took the opportunity to arrange swimming lessons for the children (aged 8 & 4) and they came on tremendously in just 3 lessons and we also treated ourselves to a massage with Charlotte, who we highly recommend! The location is typical Devon and adds to the feeling of getting away from it all, but within easy reach of some lovely villages, pubs and things to do. We would highly recommend a break here - no doubt we'll be back for a 3rd visit in the very near future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HB393
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to recharge your batteries”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Went for a long weekend with friends and this was a great place get away from things. We stayed in the Long Barn which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed (kitchen amenities, dvd, WiFi etc). Pool is great and pretty much had it to ourselves while we were there. Rural location with winding country lanes and lovely views over the valley. We spent a sunny afternoon at and around the Tarr Steps which is beautiful and worth a visit. The owners were really welcoming and helpful and although i visited with friends, I would certainly recommend for families (and will be back with my own).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel_biddy...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Love the Long Barn Cottage at Three Gates Farm, it suited us perfectly. Felt like home away from home with great facilities, lovely views, amazing starry night skies, peaceful and charming spot. Loved our early morning swims to get us ready for a day of exploring the beautiful country side & beaches. Fantastic Thai takeaway, great cream teas & lovely pub food near bye. Lynn and Jonathan are such lovely hosts with lots of local knowledge. We left feeling refreshed and recharged for life's adventures. We shall be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday - for all ages”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We love Three Gates Farm!
The cottages we stayed in were warm, well equipped, clearly well maintained and spotlessly clean.
The first time we stayed was with my husband, two children and 78 year old mother-in-law. We stayed in the Long Barn, which was perfect for us all. It's all on one level and has three bedrooms and two bathrooms (one is new). There's a patio at the back with a picnic table, where we sat and watched the children play and the ducks on the pond and took in the views. There are a few sun loungers to borrow for those lazy days - and a barbecue.
We visited a fair few places around and about, for all the family - but it was great to return to our rural retreat for a family swim!
The pool is warm and large. Most days we were the only family in the pool (even when we swam twice a day!). There are some inflatables and pool toys to borrow and Jack had 3 lessons with a fab swimming teacher (highly recommend).
There's a library with books and toys for little ones to borrow - and some outdoor games (like table tennis).
My husband and I managed to escape on our own last year - for a quiet break in Nuthatch (one bedroom). We slept in so well in the 4-poster bed (standard size) and loved the comfy sofas and log burner. It was nice to be treated to great food in the local pubs!
It's very peaceful at Three Gates, the air is fresh and the stars in the night sky are amazing!
The information we received before our stay was very helpful - and there was alot of information in the cottages too - walks, where to eat, where to visit, etc.
Lynn and Jonathan were very friendly - just like on Escape to the Country - so strange to have seen them and Three Gates on the TV!! We are very glad they bought property no 2 - we are/will be regular visitors!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing