We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly staff and great atmosphere”
Review of The Hickory Inn

The Hickory Inn
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family run business offering a great atmosphere and home-cooked locally sourced food. Old school american style food, everything cooked from scratch by our experienced chefs - Ranging from Beastie Burgers to succulent steaks and also some classic american dishes such as gumbo and jumbalaya. The Barge Inn will be having a face lift as we have big plans for a refurbishment of the function suit to provide a fresh new restaurant for the local community to enjoy. Open from 12 midday on weekends and from 5pm weekdays - always happy to serve food!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After a walk along the canal we decided to visit the hickory Inn. Highly recommend a stop in this village gem. A Friendly welcome at the bar and restaurant. Food was so tasty and freshly prepared. We tried the ’Hicks chicken melt’ and ‘surf and turf stack‘ burgers...mouthwatering! We ate every last bite. Good portion sizes and prices. Worth every penny. We were with another couple and their baby; the staff were very helpful and attentive. Looking Forward to our next visit!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LouiseM879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a vegan I was blown away by the options available at the Hickory smokehouse. I had a mouth watering chick pea pattie. The crispy coating was amazing. I am often on the hunt for vegan options that are a bit more trashy and not necessarily always super healthy and this was one of the tastiest meals out I've had for a long time. Just enough room for Brownie and ice-cream afterwards. I didnt ask what the Ice-Cream was, but it was amazing! Look forward to going back there and trying all the other vegan options!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smoulderoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Came to the Hickory Inn and we were all not disappointed. We were a party of 4A and 2C, one of whom was an apprehensive older gemtlemen (Phil) and the staff were excellent in acommodating changes to the menu, especially for the kiddies. Great cooking from chef Ben, excellent/generous portions, delicious taste and next time I'm back in the country will definitely return. I believe even our more apprehensive local members may return even sooner. 5*

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Q7851WVjoshuaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Had another lovely meal here, this time we met the chef Ben, really nice guy and great food! Can't recommend enough!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Genipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We were looking for somewhere to eat for Sunday lunch near to the M5, we had pulled pork cooked by Ben. It was delicious. The staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The restaurant is decorated with American flags and the atmosphere is inviting. The toilets were very clean.
Would recommend- it’s not fine dining but certainly fills a gap if you are hungry.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Pirtonpensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hickory Inn also viewed

 
Tiverton, Devon
 
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to The Hickory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing