We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walked with the horse”

Grand Western Canal
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Western Canal Country Park meanders through 11 1/4 miles of beautiful mid-Devon countryside between Tiverton and Lowdwells (near the Somerset border). Declared a Country Park in 1971 and a Local Nature Reserve in 2005, the canal is a wonderfully relaxing place for a peaceful walk or cycle ride along the towpath, or even take a ride onboard the much-loved horse-drawn barge that has been taking passengers for trips along the canal since 1974. The abundance of wildlife and scenic landscape that characterise the Canal today make it a great place to enjoy walking, cycling, boating, fishing and picnics.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Walked with the horse”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We followed the horse barge there and back for it's morning voyage as hubby is a great horse lover! Taffy, the horse, was very placid and well behaved. The information centre has some lovely exhibits and interesting free literature about the Great Western Canal. There is a small gift shop and the Ducks Ditty floating cafe. We enjoyed the walk the flat walk along the tow path but wish that ALL dog walkers would "pick up" after their pets!
We had a nice light lunch at the canal Tea Rooms.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    76
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely towpath walk”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stopped here to exercise our dog before a long drive home.
It's not the easiest place to find as its rather tucked away amongst houses and bungalows.
Once on the towpath you really enjoy the peaceful surroundings.
The water was busy with ducks and moorhens and we were lucky enough to see a kingfisher.
We didn't have time to do the horse drawn barge, which was very busy but it looked fun and very relaxing, definitely the best way to see the canal.
There was an excellent tea room beside the car park, serving excellent food. It was very popular as most of the food was sold out.
There is limited parking but the pay and display rates were very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely and Peaceful”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place is nice and great for all ages. It is suitable for disabled people, but do be aware going under bridges as in some places the paths get smaller. The horse drawn barge is a great thing to go on though it can be dear on the afternoon trips. Since the canal breach in November there is a diversion in place around the sandford peverell area. The Grand Western Canal is great for walking, kayaking, canoeing, running, and bike riding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank miniwhominds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relaxing environment”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place is a great place to go for a leisurely walk or run with no cars in the way. There is also the barge. The canal is also a great place to take your kids to as well because there is a new visitor centre with a touch screen computer, puzzles, a massive board game and lots more. This place is for all the family and a good day out. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank miniminiwhominds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely trip, well worth a visit.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited the Grand Western Canal on Sunday, to go on the horse drawn barge. My partner and I didn't book as we didnt think it would be necessary - how wrong we were! When we arrived we were sadly told the barge was fully booked, but the very helpful Sam took my phone number just in case there was a cancellation. So we decided, as we had driven all the way there, to have a drink in the Ducks Ditty Floating Cafe, but before we ordered, we had a much welcome phonecall from the very helpful Sam in the booking office to say she had two tickets for us! A lovely trip followed along the Canal, with a drink in hand purchased from the on board fully licensed bar. A lovely couple of hours spent with Dandy the horse and Roxie the dog - would recommend this to others - well worth a visit. Also was lucky enough to spot a kingfisher on our travels!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Western Canal also viewed

 

Been to Grand Western Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing