We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howden House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park 'n' Lodge(Westcott)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Waterloo Cross(Uffculme)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Lion Hotel(Dulverton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
48
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswisteria roomb bcomfortable bedon arrivalgreat hostslouisemartindevon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This B&B is an absolute MUST when visiting Tiverton in Devon and surrounding area. We have stayed twice now and would recommend it to all our friends. It is home from home with the added luxury of service with many smiles, comfortable, relaxed surroundings, fab breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble and amazing views.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thanks for writing such a nice review and for being such lovely guests too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Everything about Howden House is first class. Nothing is too much trouble for Martin and Louise, who's friendliness and helpfulness made our short break so enjoyable. We stayed in the spacious and comfortable Wisteria room, enjoying the wonderful view over the Devon countryside, and the peace and quiet. Personal touches, like the home made biscuits and fresh flowers made it feel as if we were staying with friends, and the benefit of a Wi Fi connection was perfect for my computer obsessed husband's daily on-line fix! Breakfast in the pretty dining room was excellent, and I've simply got to mention those golden yolked fresh eggs from Howden House's chickens - scrumptious! The convenient location, just outside Tiverton was perfect for making our visits to the NT properties at Knightshayes and Killerton, and would be ideal for touring the area. As keen animal lovers we also enjoyed making friends with the goats and the gorgeous Millie and Pepper. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your amazing review, Jules. It's really appreciated. We loved having you here and are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Devon. We'll hope to see you back here before too long. Take care, Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in May; the hosts were really helpful through the booking process and they did everything right to help us feel welcome and have a very enjoyable stay, all the way from arrival to departure.
Our room looked out onto a view of the surrounding hills which was a gorgeous sight in the evening sunshine. The room was a good size, all fresh and clean.
Full English Breakfast was very good quality local produce, cooked fresh to order and included eggs from own chickens and some (very popular, I am not surprised to hear) rhubarb compote to start with (goes very well over a bowl of cereals)
Location was great for touring Devon and would certainly return if in area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilacwheaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and your breakfast - the rhubarb comes fresh from friend Diana's garden. We do hope you'll be visiting this lovely area (we're a bit biased!) again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We travelled to Tiverton for a long weekend with our young family, including our 1 year old and 3 year old boys. Martin and Louise were very welcoming and made us all feel at home instantly. Our room was spacious even with an additional put-you-up bed and travel cot and had a stunning view to wake up to. The breakfast and jar of homemade biscuits in our room were delicious and the boys loved meeting the goats and the chickens. Great location too. Very glad we booked an extra night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We so enjoyed having you all here and being involved in the excitement of the skydive! Really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for your really kind review. Pepper says hello to the boys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great weekend break here. Very peacful and Martin & Louise were perfect hosts. Good location for what we wanted and pre-stay, Lousie was very helpful with restaurant location. Stunning views from the en-suite. Fautless!!

Room Tip: One room does not have WiFi but otherwise all is fine.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAshtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Owner at Howden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thanks very much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - and the view from your bedroom. It was really good to meet you both and I hope you'll have reason to visit again. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews