We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced 1970s timewarp”

The Poachers Pocket
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Poachers Pocket
Ranked #14 of 32 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overpriced 1970s timewarp”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

CONTEXT
Stayed here for one night before starting the John O’Groats to Land’s end route by bicycle.

PROS

Good local beer.

Friendly staff.

CONS
This place is stuck in a time warp in terms of decor. It is like going back to the 1970s in terms of the fittings, colours and features. This links with price.

Price. I travelled the length of Britain on a bike on this trip and got a good sense of the price of rooms from Scotland down to Cornwall. The owners of this hotel have an absolute cheek to charge £55 for the room I was given, with the decor, old features (as in rickety and falling apart) and the “ensuite” shower being a shower cubicle in a corner of the room. Seems to be a place where minimum profit is invested back into the hotel. Had I not been travelling on the road and been able to book in advance, or been able to move on that night, I would of.

There was nobody there when I arrived at 17.30. A couple waiting outside said that they had booked in advance and were told someone would be along at 17.45, and indeed they arrived. But I think it is poor service not to have someone permanently there to take in guests who arrive without booking ahead.

UNDECIDED
Food. Interesting menu, but the rabbit and bacon pie I had was quite stodgy and dry.

CONCLUSION
Although I hate to say it, the Travelodge a few minutes down the road would be better, or other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glevum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
18
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Needed a quick lunch on the way back from the Exe valley to Nether Stowey.
Friendly welcome at thw bar, served promptly and given a table straight away.
The waitress was pleasant and was quick in serving the lunch.
Just got there in time as the numbers arriving were in double figures, and their service looked just as good as what we had.
Next time I will linger longer for a dessert. The board was showing my favourites such as treacle tart and jam roly poly.
The price was reasonable for a Sunday lunch - plenty of it, 5 different fresh veg with proper roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Roma108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A friendly welcome. The room was clean and comfortable but avoiding low beams in the room I was allocated, could be a problem if you're a tall person. Food was excellent and there was a good atmosphere in the pub. I experienced low level traffic noise from the distant M5 during the night but when trees are in full leaf, this may be reduced.
Recommended and I will return if in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 if you're a tall person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Poacher's Pocket draws us back time and time again. It is a hotel full of character and is located very conveniently between the M5 junction 26 (Wellington) and junction 27 (Tiverton and the North Devon Expressway) on the A38. The only thing that stops this being rated "excellent" is the traffic noise which can be variable, especially in summer - however, after an evening with the hosts Gill and Graeme Yeo - no-one really cares about it!

The rooms and en-suites are clean and characterful. The extensive menus for breakfast, lunch and supper with home-made foods,(including excellent breakfast preserves) are all served in very generous portions and include many locally sourced ingredients. Combining everything with a relaxed atmosphere and wonderful hosts makes staying at The Poachers an unforgettable experience.

If you are heading for or returning from Cornwall, the Poachers is in an excellent location and well worth an overnight stay. (Padstow is about 1 3/4 hours away.) Equally, the hotel is well placed to access Exmoor, the Blackdown Hills, the North and East Coasts for a longer stay. There are some beautiful walks in easy reach and other locations within 30 minutes drive include Taunton and Exeter with sporting venues for cricket, rugby, football and horseracing. Dunkeswell airfield offers flying and parachuting and Exeter airport is about 25 minutes away by car. The Mid-Devon Showground at Tiverton and the Devon County Show at Exeter are also easy driving distance.

We have enjoyed many visits, and look forward to more in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quieter as the A38 is not busy at night. Rooms to the rear face the M5 but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Poachers Pocket ...............a great inn to stay at between Willand and Washington on the A38
Rooms are modern,fresh and comfortable with ample en-suites
The food is traditional home cooked fare ......good portions and very tasty........cooked by Grame's (the landlord) wife ....Gill
I have stayed here countless times and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone considering either a stopover or a break

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevex52004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from our 5th visit to this superb hotel hosted by Gill & Graeme Yeo and are returning for another full week at Half Board in October 2012. This fantastic hotel is situated at Burlescombe Near Tiverton in North Devon.
The warm friendly atmosphere of the hosts and locals residents made our weeks stay so enjoyable.
Whether you intend staying for one or more nights you can be assured that the en-suite rooms will be very clean & comfortable and the breakfast and three course evening meals serving a variety of traditional home cooked food dishes are the best we have experienced anywhere.
There are many places of interest to visit in the area of Exmoor and Dartmoor as both are reached very easily, this includes the North or South Devon coast. If you enjoy walking or visiting National trust properties this is the perfect place to stay.
Peter Luffrum

Room Tip: All Rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterluffrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel ,it offers a nice relaxed atmosphere.
Our room and en-suite was very clean ,the bed very comfortable.
Tea, coffee and biscuits also in our room
The breakfasts and 3 course (4 choices of each course) evening meals were excellent plenty of home made cooking, we looked forward to our meals and enjoyed everyone.We ate in bar/restaurant enjoying the company of the friendly locals and a pint or two.
A large car park which is secure over night is a bonus.
We shall definitely stay there when visiting that part of Devon.
Thank you Graham and Gill see you again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which is on the front over looking the A38 which may cause a little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank togra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiverton
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Cross
Waterloo Cross
#1 of 1 in Uffculme
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#5 of 32 in Tiverton
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poachers Pocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poachers Pocket

Property: The Poachers Pocket
Address: Burlescombe, Tiverton EX16 7JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Poachers Pocket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poachers Pocket Tiverton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing