We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds and house”
Review of Knightshayes court

Knightshayes court
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paignton
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds and house”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited this National Trust property today for the second time - this time without our dog, as there is not much of the grounds open to dogs, only the parkland which was mostly longish wet grass when we visited before!

Today, we took the opportunity to go into the house itself. Lots of rooms open on the ground floor - Great Hall, dining room, billiards room, morning room, drawing room, library. Stewards in each room, who were happy to explain things to us. There was an introductory DVD to watch, but we didn't see that as there were several people in there already. A lot of the house was heavily renovated about 10 years ago, so the colours are very fresh.

We then went to the restautrant for lunch (back at the entrance a few hundred yards away) for a tasty gluten-free soup and roll, before walking back past the house to explore as much of the "Garden in the Woods" as we could today - some of it is closed for larch felling or to let the turf paths recover during the winter months. What we saw was beautiful, though, with lots of autumn colour and some willow sculptures dotted around. None of this area is open to dogs, which we thought was rather a shame.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    214
    43
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Lovely House”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Knightshayes is another lovely National Trust property and well worth a visit, being located just down the road from us, we are quite regular visitors when we have family or friends visiting.
The gothic styling is great to see, and as all NT venues, the gardens are great.

The food can be a little expensive, which does seem to be common in NT locations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“good”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we visit nightshayes often {national trust pass} and i all ways find the house to be intresting and educational. if your going with the famliy there are lots of activities set up for younger children to enjoy during the warmer months,halloween and christmas. the gardens are beautiful and are open for everyone to enjoy and explore.the shop is stocked with relivent gifts and souvnenirs. the outside shop was full of homegrown plants for sale, all in good condition. but best of all the tea shop with a variety of cakes and biscuits with a relaxed atmosfear to help you un wind after a good day out!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cooldestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We took a visit here recently. We were very let down by the volunteers whom were unapproachable and we were made to feel very uncomfortable.
There were not many rooms open in the house and no photographs were aloud.
The gardens are beautiful but several areas were roped off with no access due to recent bad weather.
We are regulars at National Trust properties but this one was a big disappointment and not worth the entrance fee.

Helpful?
3 Thank NicolaGraham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fascinating place, good gardens”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The history of the place was fascinating and make it a worthwhile place to visit. the gardens were also good and extensive, especially the kitchen gardens wear stout shoes as the car park is some distance from the actual house and the kitchen gardens in another direction, but could easily spend a day there exploring.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knightshayes court also viewed

 

Been to Knightshayes court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing