We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great lunch”
Review of The Hartnoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hartnoll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We decided to take my father to lunch, whilst visiting him in Tiverton, we had tried another local Hotel the last time and we were not that impressed, however the Hartnoll was superb, the food was great, the service very attentive without being over bearing. when lunch arrived at the table it was piping hot and the portions were generous, it was nicely presented and very fresh.

The deserts were a little expensive but very nice and coffee was also very good, all in all it was a superb lunchtime with great food in a lovely warm room overlooking well tended gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your lunch here. We are becoming quite the in place to be on Sundays! Thanks for posting a review for us. Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Before even entering the hotel, it has the wow factor. It looks stunning, with lovely well maintained grounds.

We had a very warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

All the staff were polite, efficient and knowledgable at all times.

The room was fantastic, it had a boutique style with lots of extra touches i.e. bottled still and sparkling water, a box full of lovely biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and horlicks, extra pillows, the facility to iron if you wanted to and for the hunting, shooting and fishing set a gun cabinet.

All rooms have amazing ensuites/wetrooms, with lots of lovely white fluffy towels.

I loved the restaurant, we ate there most evenings. The menu was varied and all the food was tasty and beautifully presented.

The location is perfect for sightseeing throughout Devon and Somerset.

Room Tip: Room 1 FABULOUS! The room is stunning, it has a sumptuous bed, a lovely chaise, views across the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanks for your very good review posting on our TripAdvisor site. it is very appreciated and great for our new customers to hear about others' experiences. Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with some of the guests from our Wedding at nearby Stoodleigh Court. We were so pleased with all the assistance provided, such as looking after our suitcases prior to our Honeymoon departure and taking in our guests' luggage earlier in the day and allocating them to each persons individual room. Nothing was too much trouble.

The bar was open when we got back to the hotel after the wedding, which was an excellent way to unwind after the big day and chat to our family. The breakfast in the morning was of an exceptional standard and our guests were all very happy. Everyone also complimented the rooms; our room was fantastic, the bathroom was superb and we would definitely stay here again on another occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

So glad we finished off your wedding day so well and all your guests enjoyed coming to the hotel. We do lots of weddings ourselves and know how important the whole of the day is, especially the bedrooms and breakfast which leaves a lasting impression. Wishing you very many years of happy married life, don't forget to come back for your anniversary and try our award winning restaurant. claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hartnoll Hotel for 2 nights as a treat for my wife's birthday. From arrival to departure we found the staff really friendly, helpful & courteous. The food was excellent as was the high standard of service. all areas where spotlessly clean & tastefully decorated. The hotel is easily accessible from the M5 & within in easy reach of Tiverton & Exmoor national park. One very minor issue: the lounge could do with some brighter lighting or a couple of standard lamps to make reading a little easier. A great couple of nights stay & will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 12: great room massive comfy bed. Although situated above the bar, did not hear any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARLIN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review for us. So glad you enjoyed your stay here for your wife's birthday. All the best to you both and thanks. Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, nice modern decor and comfortable big rooms.
Slight problem at check in when the lady, a couple of minutes into checking us in decided it was more important to answer the phone and leave us standing like spare parts for 5 mins whilst she changed someones restaurant booking. Not good customer service at all.
The rooms are lovely, but our room (number 1) has no door to the bathroom, which is odd and off putting, why did they decide a bathroom needed no door?
A very quiet location, lovely breakfast and the service at breakfast was faultless and lovely.
The only other problem was this. We booked the room to come back to after our wedding. All very well, and when we did return we came back to a bottle of Cava on ice. A nice gesture we thought, although we chose not to drink it. On check out we received a £22 bill for the gesture, so we put the bottle back on the desk, no thank you! Totally embarrassed and insulted, but I guess it was a mistake somehow. Apart from that a lovely place, convenient and quiet.

Room Tip: Chose room 1 if you don't like doors on your bath room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartnollhotel21, Owner at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanking you for posting your review for us. I am sorry that you were not pleased with a couple of issues. The Processo left in your room was written on your notes and that it was requested at precisely 9pm. We would not normally do this unless asked for. I am wondering if perhaps a friend asked for this. I apologise if this caused an awkward moment for you on checkout. I hope you have a long and happy marriage and best wishes. Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hartnoll Hotel for 2 nights on our way down to Cornwall in August. We had a room in the Gate House, which has had some bad reviews. The room we had was spotless, well thought out, cosy and comfortable. The only issues we found with the Gate House accommodation were slight traffic noises from the nearby road and lack of wifi signal..(there is however wifi in the main hotel.) The Restaurant at the Hotel was fantastic. The service and food were both excellent, especially the scallops! The staff are very attentive and helpful..The hotel is obviously run very well, so credit to the manageress and the gentlemen working in the restaurant & bar!
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by road noise don't stay in the Gate house. If you like added freedom or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forestkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were impressed by this hotel in most every way, in spite of the fact that they were painting the stairway walls when we arrived. The smell of paint sometimes gives me severe headaches, but I avoided that by staying out of the common areas as much as possible; plus, the crew wrapped it up before dinner, so the smell had abated pretty much by then.

The staff was helpful, dinner and service was excellent, the glass-covered dining room was elegant with white table cloths and napkins, and they have a computer (however, it's old and slow) with web access which, nevertheless, was much appreciated. Trying to book further hotels on a 35 night trip is difficult on an iPhone.

We somehow ended up with the cozy bridal suite, happily, which was one of the nicer rooms we had on our 5-week trip. It's not actually a suite, by the way, just a room, but that's what they call it because, well, it would just sound a little funny calling it the "bridal room", wouldn't it? It was nice-sized and freshly decorated in contemporary furniture and colors, with a metal sculpture hanging on the wall and a very comfy king-sized bed. The elegant marble-tiled bathroom has a glass wall overlooking the room, but there are blinds for privacy and it has both a porcelain tub and very nice glassed-in shower. Thankfully, our room was on a corner of the building with windows on each of the two walls, as it was unusually hot that night and we were a little uncomfortable even with an electric fan on. A word of warning to Americans if you're traveling the UK in the summer: most private hotels (all B&Bs) do not have air-conditioning. Only the chain hotels do, but it's usually not needed. According to everyone we talked to, this was the driest and hottest summer in recent memory.

Tiverton is an odd location to be staying the night in. There's not a whole lot there except for the small Tiverton Castle, which we did not tour. It's really off the beaten track, but it sits underneath Exmoor National Park, which is one of the most beautiful places in the world and the drive from there north through the park to the channel is one of the most memorable things we did, stopping in very scenic Dunster and then on to the coast near Minehead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiverton
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
182 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stoodleigh Court Coach House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hartnoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hartnoll Hotel

Address: Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tiverton
Price Range: $143 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hartnoll Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hartnoll Hotel is nestled on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, in the delightful Exe Valley in Devon. With stunning decor, sumptuous fabrics, plenty of space to relax, eat and drink and exemplary customer service, it is the perfect place to relax with friends and family or meet with colleagues Each of the Hartnoll Hotel's 18 superior double rooms offers elegance and comfort. Our comfortable and spacious bedroom's have en-suite bathroom facilities and are fully equipped to the highest modern standards. Many enjoy spectacular countryside views. Attention to detail is the key at the Hartnoll Hotel, with Egyptian cotton sheets, plush duvets, plump fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and luxurious toweling dressing gowns are perfect for an indulgent night of pampering. We offer a full breakfast with all our room rates, which can be taken in the conservatory, so you can sip freshly ground coffee in the warmth of Devon sunshine. Why not end your day with a glass of wine in the sitting room, where guests can sit back, relax and enjoy Devon hospitality at its best - Hartnoll style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hartnoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hartnoll Hotel Tiverton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing