We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel”
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thurlestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The facilities for teenagers and children are very good - squash, badmington, tennis, games room, swimming pool. The food very good and a flexible attitude towards menus for children dining with parents. The staff were without fail friendly and polite. The setting is beautiful being a short walk from the beach and a couple of miles along the coast path is Hope Cove.
The requirement for men to wear jackets at dinner is dated and we heard a number of complaints about it from young and old. They failed to inform us in advance and we were required to borrow a hotel jacket.
This hotel is pricey but there are no extras for the use of facilities save for the spa treatments.
The cleaning up after a young child had been ill in the dining room could and should have been swifter and more thorough given it was in the middle of the breakfast period.
We would go again. There were a number of large family gatherings/celebrations and it seems an ideal place for these as it does have everything from organised activities for very young children, sporting activities, golf course and comfortable sitting room with fire for just relaxing. The hotel own the pub next door.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilarytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 653 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

This hotel is tucked away in a lovely location. All the rooms have lovely views .Parking is pretty easy. Warm welcome with very helpful staff who are very keen to help, they anticipate your need for help and appear from no where. Our room a superior with magnificent views out to sea and the Thurlestone Golf Course. The hotel has some very pretty gardens. The rooms are not outstanding, they are being refurbished and whilst not
plush are quite adequate. There is no room safe.
The usual other facilities are available in the room.

The public areas are very nice and well appointed . Free Wifi is available 24 hours per day.
The swimming pools indoor and out door are very good (out door closed winter times). The gym has excellent new equipment. This entire area is very nice, its light fresh and welcoming.
The dining room, set on three levels is not cramped and has beautiful views which are enjoyed by all diners. The food really is first rate. The staff really look after you and nothing is too much trouble. Dinner, great variety of beautifully selected and prepared
food served with enthusiasum. Breakfasts have great variety with beautifully prepared fresh fruit, plus all the usual cooked offerings.
Golf is available at local courses at a special rate to hotel guests. The hotel does have its own 9 hole course on site, but really its not a golf course for the experienced player, more suitable for the beginner, but fun on a wet day.
This is a lovely hotel, not cheap, but has everything needed for a relaxing break, we will return and if in the area and not staying would certainly visit for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This hotel is going through refurbishment. Those rooms which have been upgraded are ok. Those which have not are appalling and nowhere near entitled to the star rating the hotel boasts. The room we stayed in was dirty, old fashioned with a problem with bluebottles. The bathroom was adequate but the shower pressure was weak, apparently due to being on the 3rd floor and there was insufficient hot water.
Be warned they advertise room prices per person...not per room. We booked over the phone and were given a price fr the room. Only when we complained about our room did it become clear that the price was in fact per person. The room we had was absolutely in no way justifying £220 per night. Even £100 was over priced.
The staff were ok but initially hostile in dealing with our complaint. We requested another room and the only one available was much more expensive. The time it had taken to acknowledge our complaint and discuss the matter meant we were over a barrel. We did not wish to waste time searching for another hotel so paid it. It was a nice room but not brilliantly done...simply painting over uneven walls rather than re-lining and where nails had been bored in the wrong place they were simply left esxposed as were drawings for where the bathroom fan was meant to be, but actually wasnt. It does not justify its star rating and there is a huge discrepancy in rooms and the old fashioned rooms in no way justify there price tag. However, the location is fabulous. They just need to sort out the rooms.
Also they stay they are a spa. THEY DO NOT. It is a very old fashioned pool that smells of sulphur and needs a clean. It also has a revolting changing room and shower. There is one beauty treatment room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OCF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear “OCF 9”
As you rightly say, we have been going through a period of up-dating our rooms and the photographs you posted with your 2009 review are now thankfully out of date. We have created 12 completely refurbished rooms this year (2011), with new walk-in showers and contemporary bathroom fittings, and, as I write, we only have five rooms awaiting completion in our programme of redesign and refurbishment. The future programme includes a complete remodelling of our spa facilities, which currently include indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym, to feature new state of the art facilities and treatment rooms.
Best wishes Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We've been going to the Thurlestone for years and would recommend it to anyone. The facilites continue to improve and there genuinely is plenty to appeal to people of all ages - It is great for families but that doesn't mean it is just a family hotel. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the staff are always friendly and attentive without being overly formal, a real credit to the management of the hotel. It's no surprise to us that you see people returning year after year, extended families using it as a location for celebrations and couples of all ages just getting some time together.
We are biased because we love the place but we're a bit lost by a couple of observations that we've seen on this site bemoaning the dress code or price of the hotel. Frankly, just because the hotel likes to set a decent tone for dinner it doesn't make it old fashioned and if the staff enforce that code it doesn't make them "stuffy". If you think its out moded to dress reasonably well and enjoy a smart , elegant but relaxed atmosphere for dinner then perhaps you should head elsewhere.The price, whilst not cheap, starts to feel like good value because you can relax at this hotel , enjoy the food/facilites and appreciate being really well looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyEverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The staff are help and nice (enthusiastic amateur). The breakfast was comprehensive and good quality.
Apart from the new pool area everything stopped at this hotel somwhere in the late 50's or early 60's. Furnishing and fabrics appear directly out of that era and, sadly, even the new furnishings look old/tired as a result. They have a nice new pool area, par 3 golf course and other racket sports facilities; lots to do for families. From our perspective all the above needs to be related to price and in comparison with other hotels we have stayed in Cornwall in the same week it is far too expensive. While I agree that this hotel would have rated four stars in the past I don't think so today.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nickdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

With its horrendously clashing fabrics and odd mix of design styles (check out the fake fire in the terrace bar) a stay here will cause anguish to the design-aware. Boutique hotel it is not. And yet we found it strangely relaxing. Devon rain holds no terrors with under-used snooker, pool, outdoor pool etc. Rooms are comfortable (though our mini-bar didn't work), service friendly. Children seemed to be enjoying themselves, often with grandparents. Evening music was civilised. And the food is unexpectedly really excellent - as a vegetarian, I was delighted to be offered a different delicious veg based main course every night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ottomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at Thurlestone after a week of small B&Bs, staying with friends and posh camping (Tent, bedding and hot breakfast supplied) and we nearly revesred out of the car park when we first saw the place as it just 'wasn't us' and the money suddenly seemed outrageous as we'd been so happy in our tent the night before. But after a quick mosey round and realising that we'd have to pay atleast 60% and lose our deposit we changed our minds and decided to go for it and we actually had a fantastic time. We were probably the youngest, childless couple there and I would say it suits retired couples who like golf and families with kids as there is loads for them to do. It is old school in terms of decor and dressing for dinner etc but we ignored all of that. The heated pool and area is fantastic - we had it to ourselves and it was so warm in the rain, we had the whole 9 hole golf course to ourself so coulld take our time. There were empty tennis courts, an indoor pool and a small but perfectly good gym - again which we had to ourselves. The breakfast buffet is good and they didn't mind us getting there 10 mins before it closed every day. We didn't eat in the hotel but the Village Inn pub had the best Halibut, Saffron Mash and Samphire I could imagine and you could charge it to your room - genius. The location is also great for beaches. Thurlestone beach is small and sweet but the great find was Bantham/ Bigbury - a huge expanse of safe beach when the tide's out with the estuary river for swimming/ skimming/ rowing. ANd the beach had good surf and lifeguards. Take a picnic though as there's no cafe (for the better really) and you can walk out to Burgh Island to look at the art deco hotel. Looks gorgeous but you can't go in. You can have a pint at The Pilchard Inn though and get the sea tractor back. Sweet towns nearby - Modbury for delis, pottery and a great charity shop and Kingsbury has a sweet cinema for a rainy night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
805 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
12.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range: $224 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherished by its guests and loved by locals, The Thurlestone hotel is a luxurious, classic, family-run four-star hotel. Whether you are planning a celebration or looking for a relaxing break it’s the ideal place to unwind in style while enjoying its fabulous location set in 19 acres right on the South Devon National Trust coastline. Owned by the Grose family since 1896, Thurlestone Hotel guests have enjoyed its character, hospitality and friendly first-class service for more than 120 years. Seventy per cent of guests have stayed before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing