We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful , beautiful hotel & stay”
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thurlestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence
torquay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful , beautiful hotel & stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

simply beautiful. The spa & laconium were out of this world, the room was lovely too. Beautiful lighting, design and interior. food was good and impressed to hear that the hotel has a 75% return rate from previous guests...but not surprised either.

Room Tip: sea view room...we were upgraded for free on Valentines Weekend... must visit the spa & laconium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie-Wilko-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Charlie-Wilko-74,
So glad you enjoyed your visit. As you say, a large number of guests come back for another visit or visits and we look forward to welcoming you back as one of that number!
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    119
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
185
256
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have just come back from a fabulous weekend at the Thurlestone Hotel in Devon to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. I had read slightly mixed reviews on Tripadvisor but I cannot agree with the negative reviews, this hotel is a gem. The staff cold not have been more helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our family, ranging from 3 to 79! Even when we turned up late for the children's meal, not entirely our fault, and they had cleared everything away, we were told not to worry but they would cook something up for the children. They must have been cursing us but they didn't give the impression they were. The rooms are brilliant and so nice to have an inter-connecting room rather than having to have 2 rooms. The pool is wonderful and the children were delighted to be allowed into the jacuzzi. I thoroughly recommend the Thurlestone and look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wivenhoe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Wivenhoe40,
It was a great pleasure to host your family celebration and I am so glad to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves. We try our best to cater for all age groups and requirements and we were also pleased to prepare a meal for your children ‘after hours’. We pride ourselves on giving our guests individual attention and going just that extra half-mile to make sure your holiday is as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed her for one night in January 2013 as we were guests at a wedding. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the room was a good size. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice to suit all. Check in/out was quick and efficient and all staff we encountered during our stay were helpful and polite. A very enjoyable stay. I have marked the value as very good however we did have a special rate as wedding guests.

Room Tip: Sea View as the village view rooms appear to look over the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Chanksie,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your brief visit. Do come and stay longer next time. You are now on our mailing list and will be receiving regular bulletins and special offers.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my husband married at this Hotel in 2009. From the initial booking to the wedding day itself the hotel staff did evergthing in their power to help. They recommended a cake lady called annalise who created the most beautiful cake I have ever seen. It was as though she looked inside my head and took the image from there. The hotel flower lady did all my bouquets, button holes, mums flowers and corsages and table decorations and they were all amazing. The smell of the lilly of the valleys etc were beautiful. We also employed the resident child minder for the day so she couod entertain the little ones and give their parents some free time. Great plan..!! We would thoroughly recommend this as a wedding venue.. we had an awesome weekend there..

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite tben they are a must but if not make sure you have a sea view, preferably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui10965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear jacqui10965
It was lovely to hear your views about getting married at the Thurlestone. We know how stressful all the arrangements can be and we try our best to take away as much of the pressure as we can, both in the planning stages and on the day itself, so that the bride and groom can relax and enjoy their great day.
Maybe we can look forward to seeing you again to celebrate your anniversary!
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Managed to find a few days in the diary to escape for a long weekend. It was our first visit to the hotel. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do more for my husband and I. The food was very good and the service excellent. If I had one criticism the cooked breakfast was slightly greasy. The views out of restaurant fantastic. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach. The area is unspoilt, relaxing and beautifully quiet. We will be going back shortly!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Longhalves,
I’m delighted you enjoyed your long weekend away and thank you for choosing the Thurlestone. We always welcome constructive feedback and I have passed your comments about breakfast on to the chef.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Attentive service, first class food, superb new spa facilitiesexcellent room with wonderful views but just as comfortable and relaxing as your favourite old pullover. Whilst not very frequent visitors, we were made to feel most welcome and valued - even the dog! Our room was a premier double on the tird floor overlooking the beach - fantastic. It might have been January, but the 30th was one of those miraculous days that you get in Devon, where protected from the wind we were able to sit out on the balcony, in the sun, in short sleeves and be in comfort taking the sun for over an hour before lunch.

The food has always been good, but on this visit, it went up another couple of notches, the Devon Lamb was stunning.

The decorators were in attendance, but the miniscule disturbance didn't matter, the only slight annoyance was a bit of drilling,but that had finished by the time we left.

If you are going to be walking the coast path, be aware that there have been many landslips and you could find yourself with some pretty muddy and extensive diversions, particularly headed east. The weather has even affected the Golf course which has been closed through waterlogging.

If you're visiting for the first time, do go for a room with a sea view, it's worth the extra, even more so if there's a good sea running.

We return to Thurlestone because you can depend on it, - no surprises, still jackets at dinner, still Piers welcoming you back, still put on weight, although with the excellent gym, no excuses in future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billpex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear billpex5,
A wonderful review, and some really useful hints for visitors – thank you. You’ll be pleased to hear that we’ve been having a lovely dry spell for the last couple of weeks so a lot of the mud and water has dried up now.
So glad you enjoyed the food. We do try and source local ingredients wherever possible and we are lucky enough to have some fantastic produce practically on our doorstep.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at the Thurlestone Hotel. We stay every year, and have never had a poor room, a poor meal, or a bad experience. Over recent years we have stayed in some superb luxury hotels (two of them reputably in the top 6 in the world), but Thurlestone is the one that we look forward to the most. I have never known a place where it is so easy to unwind and relax. We have been quite incredulous at some of the negative reviews on Tripadviser and cannot recognise their portrayal as being of the same venue. In our view the standard of the rooms is quite high (but above all, comfortable), and on every one of our 20-plus visits we have had a superb sea-view (either with or without a balcony). One must have a sense of pity for someone who damns a room that doesn't have a minibar. Fortunately, there is a very pleasant and comfortable cocktail bar within about a minute's walk from virtually any room in the establishment, and if that is a challenge for some guests, there is an efficient room service. The restaurant serves excellent food - first-class ingredients, sensitively cooked and presented, and expertly served by well-trained staff (and not once in all our visits have we had any communication problems with the waiting staff, all of whom, in our experience, have been friendly without being over-familiar - judging by the text in one or two of the critical reviews perhaps some of the communication problems are the fault of the reviewers). As for the rebuilt indoor swimming pool/spa, this is absolutely gorgeous, with really imaginative decor that echoes the hotel's original transatlantic liner art-deco style. You can tick or cross all sorts of boxes in a list of perceived requirements in a hotel's rooms and facilities. But what you can't do is objectively measure ambience, atmosphere, and a feeling of being welcomed. Maybe some of the critics (to whom I may already have given too much undeserved oxygen) are making a direct comparison between Thurlestone and "top" city centre or country-house hotels. This is invidious - the point about the Thurlestone Hotel is that it has been grown over several generations of the same family who have consistently responded to their guests' needs (and many of those guests are themselves families), and it is in an unique location - you'll never get this view from a room in Claridges, or be able to park your car near the entrance, or play tennis, or walk along the cliffs to Hope Cove or Bantham. I am quite relieved that some of the negative reviewers have declared their intention not to stay at the hotel again. I don't think they'd see eye-to-eye with the vast majority of guests. One final footnote - last weekend we dug ourselves out of several inches of snow on the edge of some very gloomy Cotswold Hills and ventured the 180 miles to Thurlestone, where we were able to play 2 sets of tennis on each day of our stay, walk on the beach and along the cliffs in the sunshine, and have a relaxing break with excellent food. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Sea view (I think most of the rooms have this)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardph65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear richardph65
It gave me such a lot of pleasure to read your review and I have proudly pointed it out to all the staff, too. It’s so good for morale to get a ‘pat on the back’ from time to time!
Yes, it’s nice to escape the chilly weather and enjoy our lovely Devon sunshine. We’re even hoping it will be warm enough to open the heated outdoor pool for the Easter holidays.
Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
12.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Property: Thurlestone Hotel
Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing