We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great PR for the Thurlestone Hotel, Devon”
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thurlestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great PR for the Thurlestone Hotel, Devon”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife & another couple had arranged a two night stay in early March at the Thurlestone Hotel, somewhere we had stayed on three prior occasions. Two days prior to heading off, our friends, who had never been before, had to cancel through through illness, which was disappointing.

Despite that, my wife & I had a lovely time. We had a free upgrade to one of their fabulous premier suites which had a view to die for across the bay towards the Thurlestone Rock. Our half board deal was extraordinary value too, with both dinner & breakfast attaining very high quality, served by charming, understated yet efficient & attentive staff.

Finally, although their terms & conditions would have enabled them to retain our friends' deposit, the management refunded it in full & without even being asked to do so.

Great place, great people - we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Corinne & Ian Thurgood, New Milton, Hampshire.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “Henrylan”
So glad you enjoyed yourselves and thanks for your lovely comments. I do hope your friends are now recovered and that they will be able to come with you on your next visit.
See you then.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    111
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
174
248
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Thurlestone Hotel is in a quiet village near to the coast in South Devon. We stayed there for a weekend to celebrate a family birthday. The hotel's website rather cleverly gives the impression that it is right on the coast, although it is not. However, you can see the arch of Thurlestone Rocks and much of the bay from the hotel, and it is a lovely sight, especially with the sun going down. It is a short walk to the beach from the hotel, and it has an indoor and outdoor pool (the latter seasonal), tennis courts, golf, snooker and so on. My feeling, however, is that it is rather overpriced for the standard of the accommodation.

There is currently (March 2011) refurbishment in progress, and although the rooms are beautifully clean and comfortable, they are in need of some attention; rather scuffed corridors, a loose fitting here and there. Nothing major, just a little weary. And, consequently, on the Saturday afternoon when we retired to our room for a short siesta after tennis and a walk, the drilling and banging next door was a tad irritating.

The iron and ironing board we requested were delivered to our room quickly, but the iron was dirty and left crystals of something on my clothes and the ironing board cover had a hole in it - they were not retrieved by the time we left the following morning, even though we'd left them outside the room. We had a bit of a problem with the hot water in the shower - the temperature control tap had a child-proof button which we hadn't spotted - and the person who initially came up to have a look at it didn't know how it worked. Someone did come up subsequently, but we were using the bathroom. Later that evening, one of the waiters informed us in the bar, rather haughtily and loudly, about the childproof button - if I were the sort to be easily cowed, that could have been an embarrassing experience - I was just amused by his lack of tact. Still, full marks for the swift response. However, subsequent attempts to use the shower, although gaining hot water, were cut off when the water died away for no apparent reason. Definitely in need of refurbishment!

The quarter-length indoor swimming pool is showing its age a little, too, and there's only one shower in the ladies' changing rooms. The lack of shampoo or conditioner, the need to have a pound coin for the lockers and the fiimsy plastic-curtained cubicles, with a plastic stool felt out-of-date and are rather out of step with the facilities at other similar-starred establishments in South Devon. Lots of clean towels did make up for this, and it was easy to have the pool to yourself.

I am vegetarian, and I enjoy interesting meals, and I asked the hotel beforehand if the chef could come up with something other than the usual pasta, risotto, goat's cheese, roasted mediterranean vegetables, wild mushrooms etc which is usually the veggie's offering, while the omnivores get interesting and imaginative choices. Here the staff were all spot on - the waiting staff had been primed and were thoughtful (offering soya milk at breakfast) and the kitchens rose to the challenge I'd set. The highlight had to be the mille feuille arthchokes with truffles! Fantastic - every mouthful heavenly, and the garden pea soup with creme fraiche and mint - ecstasy! I was a little disappointed with being offered gnocchi and polenta at the same meal; they were superbly executed, but rather lacking the "wow!" factor of the following night. Puddings were delightful, and the wine waiter patient with our dithering over the right dessert wine - bringing us all of them to taste in the end!! They really have the restaurant end of this sorted. The only observation I would make on this is that the request that "gentlemen wear a jacket" is a little cruel when the temperature makes this uncomfortable!!

The grounds are nicely kept, there's plenty of parking and there are plenty of places to sit and admire the view. If you are over 70, this seems to be the place to be!! the blessing of this is that screaming children were little in evidence.

There is ready access to stunning walks along the coastal path and loads of little coves and beaches within easy reach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canolista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “Canolista”
We really appreciated your lengthy review, thank you for going into so much detail. Your kind remarks were gratefully received (we’ll tell the staff concerned) and the adverse comments have been taken on board. In some cases, e.g. the horrid ironing board, it was a real eye-opener and, believe me, that board is now in the bin! It was unfortunate that it was in the Housekeeping store, where the porter just picked up the first one he saw!
Sorry about the confusion over the child-proof button on the shower – I have spoken to the member of staff about his apparent lack of tact in explaining it to you. As for the indoor pool, I am pleased to report that the whole leisure complex is due for a major refurbishment next year, including the introduction of a new programme of spa treatments, to bring it right up to date.
I am so glad the restaurant responded well to your vegetarian dietary requests and, again, thanks for your kind comments, which I have passed on. As for the ‘jacket rule’ for gentlemen, it is a subject of much debate with our guests and one that we are constantly reviewing. As a traditional family hotel, we find that the majority of our guests enjoy dressing for dinner and the view seems to be that it gives a sophisticated ambience to the restaurant, adding to the overall ‘fine dining’ experience.
The Thurlestone attracts a real mix of age groups and requirements, from families to professional couples looking for a relaxing holiday, and we try our best to make everyone’s visit really special. As hotel director, I learn a lot from reviews and comments such as yours, which help keep us on our toes and constantly striving to match, or indeed surpass, guest expectations.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Took the family for a special one nights stay. Friendly, clean with great leisure facilities. Enjoyed golf course 9 hole, par 3.
Men must wear jackets for dinner. Although they have some to lend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philsurfboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “Philsurfboy”
Delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again soon, maybe for a longer visit!
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I have been visiting the Thurlestone since I was a child and now return each year with my own family. The service and food are outstanding and it has a real family feel to it. We bring our family from 3 to 70 who all enjoy it and want to return. Good nearby sandy beaches and walking plus easy reach of Dartmouth and Salcombe. Every year the hotel reinvests to upgrade their facilities in some way and they take customer comments very seriously. For young children as well as children's teas they offer baby listening service and can arrange for babysitting so its great to relax as a couple.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindfieldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “LindfieldTravel”
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you and your family continue to enjoy your visits to the Thurlestone. We pride ourselves on the number of people who come back year after year and you're not the first family to say you enjoyed childhood holidays here so much that you now bring your own children (or, indeed, grandchildren)! Being a family-owned hotel for over 110 years now, we hope we have a feel for what makes a holiday special -- for all ages. We look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes.
Julie C. Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Excellent service
Lovely rooms
Delightful spot
Super food

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibbar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “tibbar7”
Thanks for the rave review! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Julie C. Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We returned after several years this time with son and his wife as well as dog. The hotel had been shut for a week or so after the new year and hot water had not found its way to the 2nd floor! This was rectified within minutes. This was the only negative point, the staff are very efficient the food good and the facilities plentiful.
We will have to return in the summer to use the pool and gardens.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “IronmanOxon”
We're delighted you came back to see us again and brought your family, too. Sorry about the hot water -- our new boiler had a few teething problems but, as you saw, they were soon sorted out. We do hope you'll come back in the summer to enjoy the pool and our lovely gardens. We've been doing a lot of work on the gardens during the last couple of years and they're maturing nicely. We all look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
Best wishes
Julie C. Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I wanted a hotel for just one night to celebrate my tenth wedding anniversary along with our one year old daughter, we searched all over the internet, and luckily read reviews before being taken in by some fantastic looking websites that could have misled us to a nightmare night, thankfully, the Thurlestone kept appearing and the reviews I read were good.

The weather was awful, but it didnt matter one bit.

We arrived late afternoon and although the hotel doesnt look so grande from the outside, there is a whole different world inside.

The recpetionist was pleasant, checked us in and offered us a porter for our luggage, we declined, as we only had a couple of bags, we had requested a balcony seaveiw room, and the receptionist had booked us into a newly furnished delux room.

We could well have ben the first to stay in the room, it was beautiful, comfatable and had a gigantic bathroom with two sinks, large walk in shower and bath.

A travel cot had been put up for our daughter with duvets and pillow, the room had Tv, mini bar and local info available, room service menu and hotel info.

We drove down to Plymouth for the evening and returned having a coupe of drinks at the pub attached to the hotel and ordering a late room service, it wasnt exactly clear of room service was provided after midnight, but i spoke to a porter who bought me sandwhiches apologising for their standard as the kitchen had already closed, they were great sandwhiches, and when we left the hotel we had not been charged, allthough i did mention them, they still declined to accept a payment!

The staff were well trained, and would stand to one side to allow you to pass even though the corridoors were wide enough, papers were free, and nothing was too much trouble.

The morning breakfast was fantatstic, a light buffet of fruits, cereals and jucies followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice, a fellow guest had the most perfect poached eggs served i nearly asked for some, the cooked breakfast was light but those requiring more would be catered for I am sure.

The hotel leisure facilities included a pool, childrens pool, spa pool, sauna and gym,and were in good condition though the childrens pool did have sand in it!

As we were leaving we discovered a childrens play room which was full of great toys, games and activities, and a pool/snooker room, they do hold childrens entertainment during peak periods, and it looks like a fantastic place to bring our daughter once she is bigger.

The hotel is family run, and they do a fantastic job, they welcome families and nothing whatsoever is to much trouble, after leaving we discovered my husband had left a jacket, we called them and it was posted free of charge before we returned from the rest of our trip (we continues down to Cornwall for a few days)

Not long after we returned we recieved a news letter from the hotel with special offers for returning guests, and just before Christmas a card thanking us for our custom, over all a 5 star service, our rooms were of 5 star standard, and the over all feel was one of a relaxed but proffesional hotel, with all the right touches to allow you to feel you have stayed a week even if it was just a night, the magic only some hotels can manage.

We will be returning with the grandparents! To treat them, and what a wonderful treat it will be!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONESTEYISMYPOLICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSouthDevon, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear “odonnellfamily”
Thank you for taking such trouble to write your lovely review - reading it quite made my day! I'm so glad you liked your room. We've been doing a lot of refurbishment and these new deluxe rooms are our pride and joy. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and will continue to send you news of our special offers for returning guests.
Best wishes
Julie C. Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
751 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
402 reviews
12.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Property: Thurlestone Hotel
Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing