We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A short break”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a 2 night break at Ashley House with good friends. The young couple who own it could not have been more welcoming and we were greeted with a delicious cream tea with freshly baked warm scones. The rooms were immaculate with Egyptian cotton sheets, a comfortable bed and a spotlessly clean bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with cereals, fresh fruit salad and a choice of cooked breakfasts, served with fresh coffee and freshly made hot toast. One of the best small hotels that I have ever stayed in! The owners are friendly and helpful and directed us to a lovely pub for our evening meal. The hotel is situated in beautiful countryside and is a good place to stay to explore the local area. A very pleasant few days - I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms to choose from, but the executive rooms are larger than the basic doubles. All were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
103
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had the garden room and had the pleasure of watching the birds dart in and out of the gardens. The flower bed is raised and while resting on the bed you look directly at well tended flowers. The room and bathroom are very modern and comfortable in a stylish setting. The breakfasts, hosts, excellent. A really relaxing stay with museum, market, church and town to explore. A very pretty area with delightful villages, pubs, beaches to explore.

Room Tip: The front bedroom has chairs and table for gazing over paradise lawn to the town, the garden rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matchsticklegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

You could be mistaken for thinking you were staying in a five star hotel. The quality of the furnishings in the rooms is to a very high standard. Lots of great little personal touches like earplugs in the bed side table just in case you bed fellow is a snorer!
Beautiful bedding, towels and consumables in the bathroom.

The owners are absolutely lovely and can't do enough to help.

Breakfast is, as you would expect, fantastic.

If you need to stay in the area this is the only place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DT_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelasalsadancer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Was a little dubious as to what to expect on arrival as I had won a two night break at Ashley house curtesy of Paramount pictures who described it as a luxury getaway. I have to say I was not disappointed, Ashley House is furnished to a very high standard and is a lovely and in keeping with the style and period of the building. The hosts were very helpful in arranging taxis and providing local information and in organising an in room spa treatment. The breakfasts were delicious, there was plenty of choice and the produce was sourced locally, the eggs coming from the chickens who live in one of Ashley house little courtyards. The location is good, it is situated in a little market town with an array of antique shops, independent retailers and a pannier market which was lovely to walk around.

Room Tip: Try the homemade preservatives, you will be spoilt for choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelasalsadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here to attend a funeral, Nicky was wonderful! She made my father, sister and myself feel so at ease. Staying in a B & B can sometimes feel uncomfortable when you are in someone's home! The set up that Nicky has is wonderful, you feel as though you are in a hotel (a five star) but with the warmth of visiting family!!! Nothing was too much trouble for Nicky she recommended a wonderful restaurant and her breakfast was second to none with everything being sourced locally. I can not recommend ashley house enough and will definitely revisiting. The decor has been thought through with attention to detail and with style.
Thank you so much Nicky see you again soon.

Julia, albert and jacqui
Xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almerimar, Spain
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just spent the weekend with Nicky and jamie what can I say faultless great hosts and attention to detail second to none would definitely recommend very helpful with arranging taxis for all the family. Breakfast was great eggs from the hens in the garden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There were 4 of us going to family christening in town picked Ashley House and we were very pleased we did. We could not find any faults, hosts were fantastic helped in every way they could, breakfast was lovely, all products were locally sourced and all excellent. Everything was clean perfectly presented. The only criticism bedside tables could be bigger otherwise it was all very nice.

Room Tip: If you are fussy go here you would find nothing wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molton
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
7.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Paradise Lawn, South Molton EX36 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, boutique Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful market town of South Molton, Devon.Set in the heart of the historic market town of South Molton, Ashley House Bed and Breakfast offers guests luxury accommodation whilst being perfectly situated to explore the beautiful countryside of North Devon and Mid Devon, Exmoor and Dartmoor National Parks and the beautiful North Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ashley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley House Bed And Breakfast South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing