We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad day at the restaurant”
Review of Griffin's Yard

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Griffin's Yard
Restaurant details
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad day at the restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

3 of us visited for lunch. Food nothing to right home about. Service was dreadful, not a word spoken to us when food was delivered. A smile or a word would go a long way. Food overpriced and underwhelming. Won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canonman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, two days in a row!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I visited here on Monday to catch up with an old friend and had a wonderful lunch which was clearly freshly made, and we were very well looked after. The next day (Tuesday) 5 staff from the office (we have just moved to South Molton) wanted lunch and were recommended the Corn Dolly but on enquiry they "don't reserve tables for less than 6".....So I suggested we return here and I am so pleased as we had a fabulous time, fabulous food and will definitely be back again and again!

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonDeasys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Found this place after walking out of corn dolly due to the rudeness of there staff and well what can I say now we have found griffins yard there is no going back the food is gorgeous, very reasonably priced an all round good find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you want proper food come here to buy it, a fantastic variety of goods.From bread,vegetables, seeds, canned goods, baking needs, charcoal and if you want a cup of tea and a home made cake, Chris is the chef, then this is the right place and a FREE car park

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank haccheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a happy find”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Parking in South Molton is not easy if you are a visitor, we were actually looking for somewhere to turn around when we noticed Griffins yard. Not only a lovely little cafe but parking as well!
The food is all vegetarian as far as we could see but all of it looked very appetizing, one of us had a nut rissole and salad the other had quiche and salad, we both agreed that the salads were way above the normal few lettuce leaves and tomatoes, we had a variety of imaginative salads on our plate, all served cheerfully in a clean little cafe. Although we did not partake all of the cakes looked delicious. If in the area we will certainly go again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin's Yard also viewed

South Molton, Devon
 
South Molton, Devon
South Molton, Devon
 
North Molton, Devon
South Molton, Devon
 

Been to Griffin's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing