We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow peaceful relaxing amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer's Leap Retreat
Ranked #7 of 21 South Molton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned after three nights with friends and children. From the moment of booking to leaving just perfect. The house is enormous and everything well thought out. All decided going to book again later in the year for longer. Felt totally chilled out and relaxed, only sounds that of cows, chickens and occasional neigh of the horses.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in December 2012 and had a brilliant time. The house was so warm and cosy and, with a Christmas tree in the corner, it felt very homely. Dan and Heather were lovely and how Heather manages to cater for everyone so calmly and efficiently is amazing. (We had a cooked meal on the first evening and couldn't fault a thing). I would definately recommend a stay here. There was a downside though - I missed out on a hug from Dan as we were leaving because he had a terrible cold! Don't worry, I will catch you next time Dan (I didn't catch your cold!). Thanks for a wonderful stay and good luck to you all, you deserve it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic time. From the moment we arrived Dan and Heather could not do enough for us. The Deers Leap Definately exceeded our expectations. The food is delicious and locally sourced, we visited the local town, Dulverton which is very quaint and pretty, otherwise we were quite happy chilling at the retreat. The tables are communal which I would not normally choose, but it actually works very well, we met some lovely people. We will Definately return and probably hire the house out for a family get together.
Michele and Paul.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in april 2012. The whole experience was very relaxing, lovely airey rooms, very clean and tidy. The staff are the people that make it though, very helpful and friendly. A cream tea on arrival, and lovely cooked breakfasts. Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entertainment-team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a very relaxing time at the retreat. Had a great massage treatment and the retreat was very welcoming and so warm inside in the month of November in which we stayed. Although it was wet and grey outside we could not have enjoyed our time there more. There were many other guests we had lovely chats with and the communal table for breakfast was a fantastic idea. Heather's scones and cream teas were the best ever tasted.
Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite room, but all rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleenbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is somewhere you really have to stay to appreciate. From the cream tea on arrival to the friendly hug as you leave, It's hard to imagine someone not enjoying a stay here.

We met some lovely people and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Relaxing, welcoming and charming.

Lovely food, tea and coffee always available and the hot tub was a nice addition.

I am not sure a review can do this justice, but in our opinion it is definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny25Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked a short stay at the Deer's Leap Retreat with my partner through Groupon. The experience matched the positive reviews I had read on tripadvisor. We stayed in a cosy double room with our requested en suite bathroom. We enjoyed a delicious cream tea on arrival (part of our deal) and enjoyed cooked breakfasts around a large table with other guests in the dining room. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We followed a previous tip and asked for an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Molton hotels
7.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
130 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chancery House B&B
Chancery House B&B
#9 of 21 in South Molton
6 reviews
8.8 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 21 in South Molton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 21 in South Molton
42 reviews
10 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#1 of 21 in South Molton
117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blindwell Bunkhouse
Blindwell Bunkhouse
#4 of 10 in South Molton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer's Leap Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer's Leap Retreat

Address: West Anstey, South Molton EX36 3NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer's Leap is a beautiful rural retreat providing large self catering accommodation in Devon, that nestles into to the edge of Exmoor National park. The Farm House itself can accomdate up to 18 people perfect for those looking to hold a family get together! The house has 9 bedrooms, 3 large reception rooms and a farm house kitchen, with plenty of space. Beautiful traditional features have been brought up to date with modern facilities to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer's Leap Retreat South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing