We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant short stay”
Review of The Black Cock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Cock Inn
Ranked #16 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant short stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pleasant short stay base for walking holiday in Exmoor and North Devon coast. Room as expected small but comfortable with adequate ensuite, plenty of clean towels and tea/coffee/kettle etc provided. Easy to park. Good cooked breakfast with cereal provided. Friendly service. Good beer and tasty pub meals. Pleasant place to have a drink before bedtime. No noise disturbance at night. An all round good experience and good value for money and would stay there again either at the Inn or the adjoining campsite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Met up with friends in this pub for an evening meal as it was half way between homes for us, and it was quite charming. The menu is basic pub style grub, but there's a good selection of specials and pies and soups in addition to the basic fare. As a couple we paid £36 for the both of us for 3 courses each and a drink each.

I didn't see the rooms, but the landlady and landlord were friendly as were the locals. Nice little pub set in beautiful countryside. There's a pool table in the back room for a bit of a diversion. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Popped into the Blackcock Inn after a totally random diversion for lunch got there at bout 5 past 2 ( food served 12 till 2 )
We enquired at the bar if the kitchen was open and the Landlord asked the Lady cook and she said no problem
We ordered out food and it was awesome home cooked Cottage Pie and Ham, Egg & Chips the ham was cut real thick was great
Would def go back on our way home from North Devon
Many Thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainVanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

What a fantastic find! The Blackcock Inn is a traditional Devon pub in a beautiful setting full of lots of olde worlde charm. Both myself and my wife are very keen walkers and to return after a long trek on the moors to a REAL log fire just topped it for us. Our evening meal was home cooked and very tasty and the staff made us feel very relaxed and welcome.The room was very clean and extremely comfy. Our only complaint was that we needed longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Having stayed at the campsite ,and eat on several occassions in the pub.i would like to say how clean the place was,very comes to mind. the toilet and showers are always a credit.and staff helpfull,a small quiet out of the way site.with nice walks surrounding the site, found the food very good,if porsions a little tight.will most definately use the place again.locals found to be very friendly,and repeat campers lovely..well done Black Cock

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsorTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I have stayed in both the rooms and also the campsite on many occasions over the last 18 months. I can honestly say that its a great little country pub. The landlord and landlady could not have been more helpful and accomodating. The food is perfect, home cooked food and always served fresh using local produce. The english breakfast is excellent and I can highly recomend!

I've also recomended this pub to my freinds and work colleagues who have spent their holidays here- all of them have used both the camp site and bed and breakfast- all of them have been back on more than one occasion. All of them have enjoyed their stay in the relaxed and homely atmosphere

The moaners and complainers who have written bad reviews must be nightmare customers who are impossible to please- Book with total confidence- its a great little pub to stay at and very family friendly

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandCruiserMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My Partner and I stayed here in August for my Birthday weekend after finding it on Lastminute.com.
What a mistake! The place was dirty - you could barely swing a cat in our room, bathroom that was "just across from our room" when we enquired was actually down the hallway and around the corner when we arrived! It was also dirty and needed a refurb.
The owners were rude and it seemed as though everything was too much trouble, the icing on the cake was the Saturday night (when they have live bands) and our bedroom floor was literally shaking until midnight! Not my type of cleintele either!
Whole trip was quite unpleasant and we couldnt get away fast enough.
Do not go near!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suceley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scallywag49, Owner at The Black Cock Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
When customer booked they were fully aware that the room was not ensuite hence it was my cheapest room.
My website also stated the dates that we had live music and that the rooms were over the bar.
I apologise if they thought the room was dirty but I have many repeat guests and regular business clients that all enjoy their stay with us and many have become more like friends over the last few years than paying guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Molton hotels
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
92 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Jubilee Inn
The Jubilee Inn
#5 of 22 in South Molton
8 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 22 in South Molton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in South Molton
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chancery House B&B
Chancery House B&B
#14 of 22 in South Molton
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 22 in South Molton
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Cock Inn

Property: The Black Cock Inn
Address: | Molland, South Molton EX36 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Cock Inn 3*
Also Known As:
The Blackcock Hotel South Molton
The Black Cock Inn South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing