We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sampson Barton Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Words can't describe this guest house. Bev & Neil certainly are the perfect hosts. The whole house is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Although our room was small the facilities were still great and it certainly wouldn't stop me from staying in that room again, and we did book late!
We certainly recommend eating there in the evenings as the three course meal Neil cooked was certainly worthy of 'Master Chef' and we have eaten in some pretty nice places. Bev is a really wonderful host and nothing was to much trouble, tables beautifully laid for dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was also wonderful with a great choice including fresh fruit and home made bread.
Sampson Barton is tucked away in the middle of know where but we didn't have trouble find it and was a joy to be surrounded by rolling hills and complete peace and quiet. Thank you Bev and Neil for a wonderful experience, just sad we couldn't stay longer! Mark & Lol Ennis

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
52
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Kings Nympton. Sampson Barton Guest House.


Ideally situated for a tour of Exmoor, Somerset Coastal and North Devon, RHS Rosemoor is a short drive and worth a visit.
After an exhausting day touring through the delightful countryside, the best treat is to arrive back at Sampson Barton and indulge the hospitality of Beverly and Neil,
A bit difficult to find if you don’t have a satnav, even then its best to put in the Lat/Long which is provided on their website.
If the word gets out regarding Neil’s culinary skills the chances of getting a room here are going to be slim indeed, entirely self taught, he has a natural gift, which I know would put a lot of classically trained chefs in the shade. One of our aims in venturing forth is to take in recommended food venues, this is one of the best we have encountered but found by accident.. Bev looks after house and does a superb job. Their hospitality is second to none, offered in a very laid back but professional manner, which matches the charm of the house and surrounding countryside.
If the Good Food guide or Michelin gets a view on this place, I think their peace would be shattered, I believe it’s not what they want...So don’t tell anyone.
I am a bit reticent about putting it out on Trip Advisor but I could not let go without paying tribute to Bev and Neil’s excellence…
Tonyfmarsh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A great weekend - our room was bright, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The en-suite was sparkly clean. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and we were made to feel most welcome. The hospitality we received was second to none. Our only regret is that we were not able to stay longer so that we could experience the evening meals - the menus looked mouth-wateringly superb.

Room Tip: Sampson Barton Guest House is situated on a country lane in a very quiet location. Plenty of parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently enjoyed five nights at the amazing Sampson Barton with my Aunt who has friends in the area. The B&B was actually suggested to us by the Grove Inn pub in Kings Nympton- always solid when other local establishment makes a recommendation- and we were thrilled!

I love driving on tiny little farm lanes [and argue frequently with the Sat Nav anyway] so the fact that it is tucked away on top of a beautiful Devon hill surrounded by farmland was a delight. Be prepared to wake gently and peacefully to the sound of pheasants, chickens and sheep and the occasional clip clop of locals out exercising their horses.

As others have written before, the owners Bev & Neil are simply the best.- truly warm, welcoming and generous hosts. The rooms are comfortable, well put together and not undersized at all for a house that is over 400 years old! And damn Neil can cook. Breakfast is anything from a full English to a huge selection of fruit, or in my case, some great coffee and a bowl of Frosties. Neil’s dinner menus highlight the best of local ingredients and have enough variety to satisfy any palate. In particular, Sunday roast was fantastic and his Yorkshire pudding....oh my.

Our first morning we met the resident chickens having a walk about with a particularly charismatic duck who takes up residence on the picnic bench near the entrance and will occasionally also guard the gate at the entrance. If you are lucky, you might get a glimpse of the elusive Poppy the ginger cat and have a few snuggles with Fred the happiest shelter dog ever that Bev & Neil rescued and now spoil with long walks and a life of leisure.

We left with hugs from both Bev & Neil and even Fred was allowed down early to say his goodbyes. We left with a half dozen eggs from the Sampson Barton hens to take home and memories of local castles and pubs and the Devon countryside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmhambidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neil p, Owner at Sampson Barton Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write this epic (in every sense of the word) review. You have set the scene wonderfully; we're so pleased that you had such a good stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you next return to Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit here, difficult to find but worth the effort, this is a lovely little guest house with very welcoming owners.

The house is situated in the middle of nowhere, so is ideal to use for a peaceful getaway in the country, there are plenty of walks around and some delightful views. It has a large garden, which is a nice place to sit and read a book if the weathers nice, or just to watch the chickens and ducks

Our room was much nicer than the average guest house, very comfortable with a newly renovated shower room.

On our previous visit we had an evening meal which was surprisingly good, unknown to us the chef is very talented and is very keen to use local produce. On this visit we only had breakfast because we were out during the evening, we were not disappointed as the quality of the Full English was great.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This has to be one of the best guest houses . Having relatives in the area, we have stayed here several times. Always a lovely, warm welcome from Bev and Neil. Breakfasts are great. Dinner - always delicious. Imaginative menus , beautifully cooked and amazingly well priced. In the colder weather the log fire in the guests' lounge is lovely.
It is 'out of the way' but then it is an old farmhouse and that is part of its Devon charm.
Cannot imagine how someone can use the failure of their satnav as a criticism.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As a couple we have stayed in a few B & Bs in this area have always come away saying ok but will not go back. This is the one for us we will definately go back time after time..Bev is a fab host and Neil's food is second to none, you must all try Neils evening meals...We need a receipe book Neil, you would think you were in a top restaurant in London, its that good. Bev has a great sense of humour and her hosting is also second to none, nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and the lounge is a very comfortable inviting room.
For those of you that moan Sampson Barton is hard to find, Bev has put good directions on her web site, look and it will help...Dont just rely on your sat nav.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molton
2.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.5 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
13.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampson Barton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampson Barton Guest House

Property: Sampson Barton Guest House
Address: Kings Nympton 20981, South Molton EX37 9TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sampson Barton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Sampson Barton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampson Barton Guest House South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing