We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Hayne Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We returned to Hayne farm for a second family holiday at this lovely place: our 4 year old daughter was so sad to leave last year, she cried all the way home. It was just as we remembered. We stayed in Katie's corner again which has great views over the farm and duck pond. All the cottages are immaculate and very comfortable. Cheryl, Roger, Reg and Jenny are so friendly and do their utmost to ensure the children have a great time. Our daughter loved feeding the sheep, the donkey rides and collecting the eggs. The weather during our stay was a bit patchy but it didn't matter as there are lots of things to do both on and off the farm. The location is so beautiful and peaceful. We are already thinking about when we can go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to North Hayne Farm. The cottages are superb in comfort and the owners Cheryl, Roger, Reg & Jenny make you feel very welcomed and relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. What we really love about this place is the freedom you can give your children to be 'just children'. The farm is very secure and off the beaten track in a nestled 10 acre secluded dell. The animal feeding is twice a day and there is other activities,lamb bottle feeding, lamb walking, donkey rides and egg collecting. Our children are 11 & 6 and I can honestly say that older children still get a lot out of this type of holiday. They can help prepare the food for the animals, help lead the donkey and other 'grown up' helping that the younger ones don't do. And of course there is new friends to make. The farm is a good base for getting out and about in North Devon. You're never too far from some lovely beaches. There is the Tarka trail, Tarr Steps, rock climbing and horse riding nearby. We've booked for our 3rd visit as this place is 10/10.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank BusyMummy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay, such a wonderful place, a warm welcome including cream tea, luxury cottage with fab private hot tub and beautiful surroundings. Our 3 yr old loved feeding the animals and the donkey rides and the play barn was superb!! This break away really exceeded our expectations and gave us quality family fun and time together. We will definitely return and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheekycider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our fifth visit to this wonderful family farm. We started visiting on our honeymoon several years ago and now with a young child in tow. I can honestly say that we cannot think of a better place to spend our valuable family time together.

The cottages themselves (there are seven in total) are extremely comfortable and each comes with their own hot tub - perfect whatever the weather! We have previously stayed in Katie's corner, Peter Rabbit and this was our first stay in Jemima Puddleduck. All are fully equipped with everything you need and more, especially when travelling with a young family. Nothing is too much trouble to have installed in the cottage prior to your arrival - from stairgates to high chairs - saves you worrying before leaving home! You can even pre-order your shopping to arrive ahead of you and your hosts kindly put it all away. It us these little touches that make all the difference.

The site itself is set back from the road and in fabulous safe grounds. The highlight is most definitely the animal farm with its goats, alpacas, lambs, donkeys plus many more. Feeding times are dependent on the time of year but happen twice a day. The kids (and big kids) can get all get involved, collecting eggs along the way and not forgetting lamb walks in spring!

The cottages are situated in the most beautiful area - South Molton is the nearest town but you are on the edge of the stunning Exmoor National Park and just half an hour from the coast. Woolacombe, Croyde and Ilfracombe have wonderful beaches and this last trip we got to see baby seals and porpoises on a local boat trip. Rainy days are also well catered for in this part of the world and are all within easy reach of North Hayne.

This time we brought Nanna with us and she too had a fabulous time getting involved on the farm, playing in the well equipped play barn and play areas on the site. She adored the Devonshire coastline and said she wanted to go back...in fact our next trip is already booked for summer 2015!

North Hayne wouldn't be what it is without the hosts Cheryl and Roger assisted by Jenny and Reg. From the moment you arrive you are given the warmest welcome and for us, it is always like visiting old friends - a true home from home. It really does cater for everyone and offers so much more than a 'cottage' getaway in the UK. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank KShep78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We are only part way through our stay and I feel the need to leave a review to say what an awesome holiday at the farm. Cheryl, Roger, Jenny and Reg make the holiday so special, some of the loveliest people I have had the privilege to meet, they make the holiday extra special. My daughter of 18 months is in love with the ducks, lambs, rabbits and alpacas not forgetting Barney the donkey. We are already planning when to return, if you are thinking of booking then go for it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Peter Rabbit cottage facilities are great especially the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've just returned from a week's holiday at North Hayne Farm. We're a family of 4, with 2 boys aged 4 and 1 and stayed in the Tom Kitten Cottage. We had an amazing holiday and the boys absolutely loved it. The cottage was clean and modern with all the children's needs and facilities provided for. The cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch and welcomed by all. The hot tub is a luxurious extra and absolutely fantastic. Cheryl, Roger, Reg and Jenny are so friendly, helpful and patient. The boys loved feeding the animals and all the additional activities and my youngest is still looking for the animals every day! Cheryl and Roger have thought of everything and even have a 'sticker system' to ensure the children wash their hands thoroughly after feeding/ handling the animals. The location is great with plenty of places to visit close by for all ages. We visited 2 lovely pubs recommended by Cheryl and Roger and the food was gorgeous! My eldest is already asking when can we go back to 'his wonderful farm' and we are all looking forward to a return visit next year - I haven't stopped recommending the place to family & friends!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have just enjoyed a superb holiday at North Hayne Farm. Cheryl, Roger, Jenny and Reg were all so welcoming and nothing was ever too much trouble. They even bought us a new set of lightweight duvets as we are all 'hot bods'!! The children (aged 6 and 4) had such a fantastic time, and enjoyed all the animal feeding. So much so that they were both so upset to be going home and cried on their last night here! It is a lovely safe environment for children and we felt completely comfortable with letting the children to wander on their own.

The cottages themselves are extremely well presented and had everything we needed. The shopping delivery option was really helpful, and saved a trip around Tesco's, and the cream tea on arrival was just superb!

We are definitely going to re-book.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Molton hotels
3.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
125 reviews
4.5 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 21 in South Molton
52 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chancery House B&B
Chancery House B&B
#10 of 21 in South Molton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#1 of 21 in South Molton
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 21 in South Molton
42 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blindwell Bunkhouse
Blindwell Bunkhouse
#3 of 10 in South Molton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hayne Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hayne Farm Cottages

Address: Bishops Nympton | Bishops Nympton, South Molton EX36 3QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in South Molton
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Self catering cottages with private hot tubs and an on-site children's farm with daily animal feeding activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Hayne Farm Cottages Hotel South Molton
North Hayne Farm Cottages South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing