We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Hayne Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I cannot recommend this farm holiday highly enough. We have been coming here for five years and are children are now 5 and 7 and still love it here.
Feeding the animals is the highlight for the children and we love the beautiful cottage and the hot tub.
I would recommend this holiday to everyone!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Currently staying at North Hayne Farm & have to write about our lovely stay. We are in Jemima Puddleduck which is perfect for us 4 adults, my 7 year old & 3 year old boys. What can I say except stay here! Its a perfect young family holiday, my children love feeding the animals, riding Barney the Donkey, taking Bramble the goat for a walk. We are happy because they are happy and the cream tea on arrival & hot tub are a huge hit. The cottages are beautiful with everything you need provided, lovely & clean and situated around a small courtyard with children's tractors and play house. There is a great playroom & games room for all to use. Some lovely outdoor play areas & stunning views. I think what makes this absolutely amazing is the lovely people who own the farm - Roger, Cheryl, Reg and Jenny truly make this holiday- lovely to all, nothing is too much trouble, they make you feel like you are on holiday with really good friends. Negative? Only how far in advance you have to book though I think this shows how good it is!

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent the half term holidays, Mon - Fri, here and it was just great. The children loved animal feeding at 9.15 and 4.30 - times which worked perfectly for us to also spend days out away from the farm. The donkey rides in the morning were a particular hit too, as was the certificate at the end of the week!

We stayed in Samuel Whiskers - enjoying the log-burning stove in the cold weather. Everything we needed of a cottage was there, and it was a nice touch to be welcomed with scones, jam and cream upon arrival. Not a negative as such, but worth being aware of the lay-out of the bedrooms - the master bedroom is downstairs, then the living area is where you enter the cottage with the two further bedrooms upstairs. All very cosy though.

The location of the farm is very handy for lots of the Devon attractions - we spent a lot of time on the coast, with a beautiful cliff top walk (with some sheer drops to the sea below!) from Lynton to Castle Rock, some lovely ice-cream in Lynmouth (in February), a huge beach at Saunton, and a chilly day-out at Exmoor Zoo (which you can do on supermarket vouchers).

What makes this place so special though - and somewhere we would definitely like to return to - is the attitude of the owners. 2 generations of family run the place and all are warm, friendly and great with the children. So often you go somewhere described as 'family friendly' to find that children are accepted but not welcomed - at North Hayne the children are accepted, welcomed and the parents made to feel relaxed too.

Room Tip: Samuel Whiskers has the log-burner for winter visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We (myself, husband and 2 daughters, 2yr old and 10month old) stayed at NHF in Feb 2013. I can honestly say that it was the best and easiest break that I can imagine with 2 young children – it provided exactly what we were looking for..... quality and stress free family time. Our 2 yr old loved all the animals and never got bored. She also enjoyed using the swings, slides, cubby house and the little ride on diggers etc. In fact you don’t need to bring any toys as they have plenty there! The 10 month old also enjoyed all the new sites and experiences. The Play Barn provided an extra inside area to keep them busy. The owners/ staff were fantastic and all extremely friendly and welcoming. It comes across as a really lovely family business – where they all strive to give their visitors the best possible experience.... and they are successful. The attention to detail is superb!

The cottages themselves are great. Clean, warm, well set out, nicely furnished and fab facilities. They supplied high chair, booster seat for toddler, cot, stairgates too – ideal for us. The hot tub was amazing and cleaned/ maintained twice daily by the owners.

Can highly recommend the holistic therapies/ massage and the Jack Chilli frozen meals. We had Beef Bourbuignon..... delicious!!!

To summarise – a perfect family break, summer or winter. Safe for the kids and lots to do, in beautiful and relaxing surroundings. We are going back at Christmas and hopefully lots more times whilst the children are so young.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are just back from a four night break at the cottages - our 5th visit! It is a truly fab place for a holiday, with so much to do both onsite and around north devon. Cheryl and roger (the owners) make so much effort to make all guests feel welcome and special, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed there with friends for new year 2 years in a row before our son came along, and have been 3 times since with our 3 year old, and it always delivers! The cottages are gorgeous, super clean, well equipped and scenic. The farm offers feeding of animals every morning and evening, plus a great play barn and games room. Morning donkey rides are the icing on the cake for the kids, while the hot tubs do the same for the grown ups :) The setting is beautiful, and makes a wonderful holiday for children of all ages, couples looking for a quiet getaway and groups of friends/families. We shall definitely be going back....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been holidaying at North Hayne Farm since 2005 and back then I think its safe to say a gem in Devon had been found. A must for anyone with children as it is a very safe and fun environment. The cottages are well equipped and the hosts make you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Hot tubs are a bonus for kids and adults alike whatever the weather. The Conga around the courtyard on New Years Eve was cracking, with Lady Swansea pulling off some amazing moves, spectacular.The kids loved playing their instruments and everyone had a fab time. Cheryl and Roger have now become great friends, I think we may still be dragging the kids when the're 16!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I don't quite know how to put this fantastic holiday into words, brilliant from booking to departure. We were due to stay for 5 days and extended our stay to 7 and as we left we booked for next year so as you can see this really is a special place. We stayed in Miss Tiggywinkle, it was clean, well equipped and welcoming, not to mention the fantastic private hot tub. Our children (8 and 7) loved every minute, there thoroughly enjoyed feeding times, the donkey rides and the goat walks. They felt like real farmers and didn't want to leave. The playbarn and games room were well equipped and the children and adults really enjoyed playing there.
The attention to detail of the whole holiday was exceptional and I would not hesitate to recommend this holiday to families who want to spend some quality time together and watch their children flourish. See you next year for some more New Year's Eve fun, I'm not sure if my children will count down to Father Christmas or to our North Hayne's trip next year.

Room Tip: Phone Cheryl and ask for advice, she is very honest and will know which cottage will suits your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_bee_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Molton hotels
3.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
124 reviews
4.5 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 21 in South Molton
52 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chancery House B&B
Chancery House B&B
#10 of 21 in South Molton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#1 of 21 in South Molton
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 21 in South Molton
42 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blindwell Bunkhouse
Blindwell Bunkhouse
#3 of 10 in South Molton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hayne Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hayne Farm Cottages

Address: Bishops Nympton | Bishops Nympton, South Molton EX36 3QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in South Molton
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Self catering cottages with private hot tubs and an on-site children's farm with daily animal feeding activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Hayne Farm Cottages Hotel South Molton
North Hayne Farm Cottages South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing