We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really rather good”
other travelers have booked this property
In the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In the living room
On the beach. only 100m away! The Crow's Nest bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
In the living room
On the beach. only 100m away!
The Crow's Nest bedroom
In the kitchen
Master bedroom
The family bathroom
In the Crow's Nest with the ensuite.
Front door and bay window of Tide House
Master bathroom
The Ness
The beach
Shaldon Regatta day
the beach
kayaking along the coast
Stunning Dartmoor
The Shaldon ferry
Torquay for a buzzing night out
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
teignbrid...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really rather good”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a family get together and rented out the Admiral's Suite and the Captain's Cabin too. The Admiral's is just terrific. Its just near the beach, and with the Clifford across the road serving breakfast, we were spoilt. The apartment was clean, bright, quirky and great fun! Thanks to Eve and Mike for the wine and chocolates on arrival. We shall come back in the summer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
We're so pleased that you had a lovely time with all your family and that both The Admiral's Suite and The Captain's Cabin worked out just perfectly for you too!

Mike and I look forward to seeing you all again in the summer.

Until then, our best wishes,

Eve and Mike x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandRo...
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I spent 7 glorious nights in this wonderful apartment situated in the middle of the very quaint village of Shaldon. Eve and Mike have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, from the marvellous beds, full working kitchen, huge bathrooms to the extra touch of a bottle of bubbles and chocolates on arrival. Within minutes to any where, the village is exactly how we imagined a seaside English town to look like, minus the obligatory amusement pier. (Albeit, there is one across the river in Tiegnmouth, if required). The pubs and restaurants were lovely and accommodating and the locals were extremely friendly and welcoming. It really was home away from home. We did have a great time and would stay there again the next time we are in Shaldon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jemmagall...
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

what can I say! the admiral suite was amazing! we had champagne and chocolates waiting for our arrival and the place was spotless, we had everything we needed! location was spot on and I'll be booking again next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2017
Hello Jemma,

Mike and I are so pleased that you enjoyed our Luxury 5* Holiday Home right in the heart of beautiful little Sheldon, South Devon. So happy too that you had a chance to visit the beach lots and the fabulous
Michelin Starred Ode Restaurant . . . well, if you can't treat yourselves on holiday . . !! And be completely happy in the knowledge that your kids were with a lovely baby sitter. We're both looking forward to seeing you all again next year. All the best, Eve and Mike xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamerg777
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation and a great few days”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for a few days and we loved it.
The accommodation is great and has everything needed whilst we were there.

We walked to the beach every day and it was the perfect base to explore the local area.

We will certainly be coming back!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2016
Hello James,

We're both so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Admiral's Suite. Also that you found it to have everything you needed for your time in Shaldon. The beach is lovely isn't it and just a stone's throw from the holiday home.
Mike and I are certainly looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulew81
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful few days break - highly recommended!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We can't recommend the Admiral's suite highly enough.
It's been an absolutely amazing break away with the 2 children aged 2 & 6 months.

Eve & Mike have put everything in place to ensure this is a home from home in the beautiful village of Shaldon.

The beach is just a few minutes walk away & the local butchers & bakers are on the same street (also recommended).

You're only a short drive from Torquay & a short ferry ride across to Teignmouth.

The accommodation is warm, friendly & beautifully decorated in a costal theme.
The beds are very comfortable & the bathroom is just gorgeous!

If anyone asks about our break away we'll tell them "you must go & stay!"

Thank you Eve & Mike for being so welcoming & letting us rent this beautiful town house.

We would love to come back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
That's great! Mike and I are so pleased that you all had such a lovely time in The Admiral's Suite with your super little family!
We'd both definitely love to welcome you back to The Admiral's Suite, anytime you like - you were such lovely guests!
Our very best wishes,
Eve and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the style of the apartment
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you, it's so nice to hear that you really enjoyed yourselves in The Captain's Cabin. We look forward to seeing you both again hopefully very soon! Best wishes, Eve and Mike x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, easy access to everything.
Liked least: If I was going to be picky, I'd say the bed in the main bedroom was quite firm.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Ahh, thank you! I'm so happy that you really enjoyed yourselves and all the little finishing touches in The Admiral's Suite that set it apart from the other holiday cottages in Sheldon. Glad you liked the welcome bubbly and choccies too! Hope to see you all again very soon! Best wishes, Eve and Mike xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing