We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday retreat for families or friends”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday retreat for families or friends”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a fantastic holiday cottage. We wanted a winter mini break by the sea and found this perfect house. There was plenty of room for our party of eight, the rooms were beautifully decorated, the beds were really comfy and the kitchen was very well equipped. Shaldon is a beautiful village, lots to explore, beach walks , delicious local bakery, we had dinner at the London Inn one night, cocktails and tapas at the Coffee Rush the second night and lunch at the Ode Cafe, all fantastic service, food and value for money and all within a few minutes walk. Driftwood Cottage is home from home, with well stocked bookshelves and games cupboards. I am already looking forward to returning this summer to enjoy all the highlights again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant house and superb value for money”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived immediately knew that we had chosen the right place to stay in. The place had a lovely garden with decking, and inside was decorated really nicely. It felt like a home. There was enough space for eight people to live together and not constantly be on each others backs, but not so much the we felt separate from one another. The house keeper was really friendly, and delivered the house to us in really clean condition. Not only was the house great, but the actual location was too. there was a beach nearby within walking distance, and if we felt like doing something different, we would walk for 20 minutes to Teignmouth or catch the ferry. In Teignmouth there were lots of fun activities too, such as crazy golf. I would 100% recommend staying here to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteOlive...
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Myself and my partner stayed here with two other couples. Upon arrival on a Friday night we were pleasantly surprised to find the house had all the necessities we needed for the weekend and even a bottle of wine and nice biscuits to start our weekend off!
The house was very spacious and clean, set on three levels, with the most comfortable beds. The top floor had an amazing social area with a large kitchen/ diner area, with an entrance onto an outdoor terrace area, which is a real sun trap (perfect for bbq's.)

The house is in a perfect location, just a short walk into the village where there are a variety of lovely places to eat and drink right on the beach.

Definetely recommend this to anyone that wants a relaxing break away. We will certainly be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Driftwood Cottage in Shaldon. We are so glad to hear that you had a lovely time and we welcome the opportunity of hosting you and your family or friends sometime soon.
The Discovery Holiday Homes Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegetaria...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Safety concerns, especially if you have young children.”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There is much to recommend about this property, we had a very comfortable stay and appreciated the welcome pack. Safety concerns:
* The garden gate, which opens onto a busy main road, has no lock.
* None of the electrical appliances have been safety tested, something we have never
experienced in any hotel or rental property in the U.K.
* Glass fronted wardrobe door opens onto a radiator, one of our children cracked the glass and could have been seriously injured
Finally, any furniture moved must be replaced in exactly the same position or you will be fined, suggest you photograph all rooms so you can remember at the end of your stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the outside space
Liked least: the pickiness of trying to remember EXACTLY the position of furniture. just enough crockery for 8 so we had to put the dishwasher on loads
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing