We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful, comfortable cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dolphin Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The double bedroom also  has old beams and a view over The Square. The twin bedroom with it's old wooden beams, sloping ceiling and colourful quilts.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The double bedroom also  has old beams and a view over The Square.
The twin bedroom with it's old wooden beams, sloping ceiling and colourful quilts.
The kitchen is compact, easy to manage, and well equipped.
Don't overdo it!
The garden provides a safe place to play as well as a  nice place to sit and relax .
I'm not staying here, it's jolly cold!
Oh, alright, just a bit longer!
All my own work!
The flowers in Shaldon are always spectacular
Your first glimpse of Shaldon, across the river
If you have a small car you can drive into Crown Square
Shaldon has fascinating narrow streets, making walking a pleasure for everyone.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
j0annekp
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We had such a lovely stay at Dolphin Cottage.
It's location within Shaldon is absolutely perfect, so convenient for the beach, shops and local pubs. The cottage itself is so cosy and comfortable, it has everything you could need for your stay. The kitchen, in particular, was very well equipped.
The weather was glorious so we made use of the courtyard outside, such a peaceful spot for an evening drink.
Shaldon itself is a great place, we had a fantastic lunch at The London Inn and a tasty meal from the chippie.
I would thoroughly recommend Dolphin Cottage and we'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2018
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves on Baby Lizzie's first holiday. Next time you come, perhaps she will enjoy paddling in addition to eating sand! Thankyou for your lovely review, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham r
1 review
“Realy comfortable, very central and well stocked.”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We love Shaldon and Tiegnmouth, they are picture postcard pretty with plenty to do. The food in the local pubs and restaurants is amongst the best you will get anywhere. We first came here in 2007 when my daughters were little and it was the perfect family holiday (our first). So it was the ideal choice to come to when I was celebrating a milestone Birthday.
We found Dolphin cottage by searching online and it looked a great option. We were not disappointed. It has all the space you need for a family of four, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen was like home from home, it had everything you would need (it's got a cafetiere, fresh brewed coffee, : )) and the bathroom was immaculately clean. However, do remember, this is a traditional cottage, so low ceilings and doors are throughout, be prepared to stoop. But it all adds to the charm.
The cottage is minutes away from everything that Shaldon has to offer, check out The London Inn, and also, The Ness for really great home cooked food. The Ferry Boat Inn has a terrace that is right on the beach, the kids can play in the sand and you can have a beer, what could be better.
Tiegnmouth centre is a twenty minute walk over the bridge or £5.00 in a taxi (2018), there is also a ferry that crosses the bay from Shaldon (and back again) at certain times of the year. Tiegnmouth is a bigger town than Shaldon but still has plenty charm. It has a very large JD Wetherspoons called The Jolie Brise, so if you are on a budget and still want to eat great food out in a family atmosphere you are catered for. There are also more shops, walks along the front, rides for the kids and cafes for the ones who want to take it easy.
I have to say that Helen, who own's/ looks after Dolphin cottage, was the perfect host. Communication all the way through was great, nothing was too much trouble, she even battled a snow blizzard (rare around those parts apparently) to make sure the cottage was perfect for our arrival, we were allowed to arrive early and leave late because we were the only ones there that week. It makes a lot of difference when you are dealing with someone who is as friendly and as accomodating as helen was, they are the things you remember the most, and make you want to return.
Finaly, to anyone reading this, i hope you find it helpful, book Dolphin cottage, you won't be dissapointed.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2018
Thankyou Graham. You can come again !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S P
1 review
“Cosy period thatched cottage”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We came to Dolphin Cottage in March and woke up,the next morning to thick snow. Luckily the cottage was cosy and we were nice and warm.. On a couple of occasions the sun came out and we sat in the little conservatory in the sunshine it was lovely. The cottage is well equipped with everything we could need, and it was nice and clean when we arrived. There were lots of bits and pieces for use on the beach if children come too. The large king size bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our time in Shaldon as it is in good proximity for places to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2018
Thankyou for writing a review for us. You were very lucky to see Shaldon in the snow - it's very a very rare occurrence there! And so pretty! It was good to hear that you were nice and cosy indoors. Do come again any time, we'll always be pleased to welcome you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Thankyou for your lovely review. We are always pleased when people book to come again. Makes it all worthwhile! Best wishes, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HolidayBe...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin cottage”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just spent time in cosy Dolphin cottage, in Beautiful Shaldon so peaceful and such a friendly village, cottage comfortable and well equipped even if the weather was not too good there would be plenty to keep you happy books puzzles etc, many years have passed since I visited this lovely part of England, but hopefully we will return and I look forward to it very much,.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
And we look forward to welcoming you again Betty!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
I'm so glad you liked our cottage. Thankyou for a lovely review. Come again soon! Best wishes, Helen B.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane G
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have frequently stayed here, in all seasons. It is warm welcoming and ideally located in the village, close to one of the best pubs ever as well. The proprietors keep in in impeccable condition and are always looing for ways to improve their guests comfort. 100 out of 10 at least

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thankyou Jane!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing