We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coast View, Shaldon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in Sept 4 berth acc the furniture and fittings were not fit for purpose. Very old. Dark depressing bathroomthe two bedrooms were also dark and depressing.only seating for 3 people considering its a 4 berth
And the sofa was worn out. Mattress had exposed springs. Saucepans old and disgusting had to clean everything before we could use them. No sink plug dirty washing up bowl table and chairs so old the varnish flaking off. Only one wine glass and one small old tumbler had to buy some glasses and the property did not fit the picture in brochure. Left early should have had two weeks here overall terrible and no responses from letters written

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Really sorry to read this review and to hear you were disappointed with your recent holiday. I don't recall having received any correspondence from you so can only presume this has not arrived.

It is not clear to me whether you brought these issues to the attention of our team during your stay. However, we are usually pretty good at sorting out any shortcomings and disappointments that guests may have so that they go on to have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

If you would like to email holidays@coastview.co.uk with a copy of the letters written, we will look into these as soon as possible.

With Kind Regards

Helen and the Coast View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
77
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

stayed here with our family for the weekend. Hired some private chalets, No 33 and No 25. Lovely accommodation. all you need, updated furniture and TV with Free view and DVD player. Great views with awesome balcony and BBQ. Wish we didn't have to come home. Thank you to Barrie and Wendy who made our stay even better, they left some nice little treats and went the extra mile, very accommodating and helpful.
Swimming pool lovely, nice lifeguard called Tom. Will be back again for next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateandmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing your great holiday experiences with us and with readers on this review site, and glad you had such a fantastic time at our Park.

I will pass your kind comments on Tom the Lifeguard, who indeed works hard ensuring the quality of the swimming pool and the safety of our guests.

We know that you didn't want to go home..... but you have to go home to come back again!

We look forward to seeing you next season. Keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for all the latest news and views.

Regards


Helen
General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

just spent 1 nite on this site in our motorhome,compared to where we have stayed over last week ,this is over priced at £22 a nite,no atmosphere at all,felt like in a graveyard and clostraphobic,so close to next pitch,if you in right pitch you might get a good coast view,otherwise you would get good view of your neighbour !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jules503874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Sorry to read that you didn't really enjoy your overnight stay with us recently, but thanks for taking the time to share your views.

The camping pitches do tend to go a little quieter in September once the main school holidays are over, and with the bad weather at the time of your stay, it probably kept other casual campers away. In good weather there is an amazing view of the coast from all of our pitches and it is a shame that you didn't get to experience this.

We hope you will come back to us again sometime and see us at our best.

With Kind Regards

Helen
General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had stayed at coast view the last week of the school holidays. We wasnt looking for a large park as we have young children (4 and 6) The clubhouse is small, but that suited us. all the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the magician, he helped us with places to go and although only 4 children in the club made special effort to keep them entertained, even when he was going home and my child wanted a balloon as his popped, he stayed and made all the kids extra balloons.
entertainment was low key, but made anice change not to be asked to put our hands in pockets all the time like larger venues, great views and helpful staff all around

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for letting us know about the great holiday you had with us, and for sharing this with readers on this site. Your feedback is very valuable.

Sound like our Park and facilities were just right for you and your family and we know you will enjoy returning to us next season to see the great improvements we have in store to make our these even better.

Keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for latest news and special offers, and of course if you have any queries, or just want a chat about what we have going on for the new season, give me a call on 01626 818350.

Kind Regards

Helen
General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner, my son and I, stayed at Coastview for a few nights at the end of August. We stayed in a lovely little chalet, located right next to the sales office, with a view of the sea. The chalet was clean, with a little modern kitchen area, a sofa bed. a separate double bed and a toilet and shower room, just off the sleeping area, there was a tv with freeview, mounted on the wall, if you felt the need . It was perfect for what we needed, everything was there that we needed. We took our own bedding, towels and tea towels as we didn't know what to expect, although you can ask for bedding as an extra. A very short walk and you were at the pool and clubhouse. The clubhouse had light entertainment each night. Shaldon is a pretty, quaint fishing village, which is a short walk from the campsite, there are a few nice pubs and cafes. There is also a zoo and a beach just a short walking distance away. Also it is dead easy to get to paignton and torquay from the campsite, via car or bus, especially as a bus stops right outside the campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Really good to read about the great holiday you had with us here at Coast View, and thanks for taking the time to share this with Tripadvisor readers.

We have a great Park here and a fantastic team of people going the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are pleased that this shone through during your recent visit to us.

We are pleased that you took advantage of one of our recently refurbished chalets, they really are superb aren't they!

Look forward to welcoming you, your partner and son back to Coast View and Shaldon in the future where we are sure you will have another great holiday.

Keep an eye for our new website coming soon, and details of our special offers for the 2014 season.

With Kind Regards

Helen and the Coast View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights just before August bank holiday, camping in the top field. The ground was rock hard due to the lack of rain but the helpful staff at reception called the park 'ranger' to assist us. My son loved the on site swimming pool and the location and views were fabulous. We found the showers hot and clean at all times. The on site shop definitely needs to stock a greater range of items and the tired child's playground needs a revamp but apart from that it was a very good site indeed and I've stayed in quite a few in my time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time taken to write a review for us here on Tripadvisor. It's always great to receive feedback from our guests, be it positive or negative, as this enables me to make improvements and evolve.

Like you, a few guests have mentioned the stock in the shop, so this is something I will be looking at for next year, along with the outdoor play areas.

However, really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. My staff and I work extremely hard to ensure that guests have a great time and pleased that this shone through.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Park in the future the experience our ongoing improvements, and of course the fabulous views which you mention.

With Kind Regards

Helen
General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped here for the August bank holiday and had a fantastic time.but it was very busy and had to pitch our tent on the slope !! Could have done with a water tap nearer the top of the hill,toilet block was clean and showers hot.
Darren and Fred made us really welcome and we had one of the best pizzas we have ever had...
Lovely swimming pool and was really impressed with the life guard being on duty at all times.
Evening entertainment was good and thought the clown was entertaining.bar staff were friendly and thought Barny,Charlie,Darren and Fred were very charming,
The view from the top of the camp site is stunning and would recommend this site to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJB322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review of your August Bank Holiday stay with us here at Coast View and pleased to read that, like the vast majority of our guests, you had such a fantastic time at our Park.

I have passed your kind comments on to the staff in The View who work extremely hard, along with the rest of the team, to ensure that our guests have a great holiday.

You are so right - the view from the top of our Park is stunning!

We really look forward to you coming back to us in the future. Keep an eye on our website and facebook pages for latest offers and news.

With Kind Regards

Helen
General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ness
The Ness
#1 of 7 in Shaldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Apartments
Riviera Apartments
#1 of 2 in Teignmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast View, Shaldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast View, Shaldon

Property: Coast View, Shaldon
Address: Coast View Holiday Park Torquay Road, Shaldon TQ14 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Shaldon
Hotel Class:5 star — Coast View, Shaldon 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast View is the perfect place to unwind with spectacular views of the Jurassic Coast or treat yourselves in some of the finest wine-bars and restaurants that the West Country has to offer. Ideally located for Dartmoor and the English Riviera, Exeter and Torquay, plus a whole range of fantastic on-park facilities, you will be spoilt for choice. Coast View is situated on a hill top, offering spectacular views of the scooped-out bay, peppered with luxury yachts and motorboats ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coast View Holiday Park Hotel Shaldon
Coast View Holiday Park Shaldon
Coast View, Shaldon Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing