We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely weekend”
Beach Hut 1 in the Spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach Hut 1 in the Spring
Shaldon Beach Hut 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beach Hut 1 in the Spring
Shaldon Beach Hut 1
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Shaldon Beach Hut 1 board games
Shaldon Beach Hut 1 is a healthy habbit
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Shaldon beach in front of Beach Hut 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul L
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed April 21, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Booked a weekend in Beach Hut No1 for my wife and I as one of her Xmas gifts. A little worried as to what to expect for a beach hut. Wow. Wow. Wow. Impressed is understatement. The owners have thought of every convenience you can imagine. It's comfortable,cosy and classy. 5 star all the way. We rarely return to places a second time but definitely will.
The clipper next door was equally impressive and served / delivered some excellent food. Thanks guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojm83
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Beach Hut”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Bought this as a present for my wife as she loves Beach Huts. This one exceeded our expectations! So nicely finished and everything you could need. The fudge was a lovely welcoming gift. We ate in both The Clipper Cafe and The London Inn both of which i would highly recommend. All in all a lovely place to be whatever the weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosejusts...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Location, accommodation and views”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Beach hut 1, wow what a fabulous time we had even late January early February.
If you are looking for a relaxing, get away from it all break, I would recommend you book one of the beach huts in Shaldon, you will not be disappointed.
The accommodation is fabulous, small as to be expected however comfortable enough for two, the level of cleanliness, accessories and presentation is certainly 5 *.
We ordered a hamper to be there on our arrival for my husband's birthday, the quality and quantity of the contents had been carefully selected and beautifully presented in a wicker hamper. It made our short break feel extra special.
We briefly met the owners who incidentally are also the builders of the beach huts, what a lovely couple.
Location, location location Beach huts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 on the Strand in the beautiful interesting village of Shaldon have it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness and location
Liked least: As a person who likes to cook I would have liked a few more kitchen items,
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
We are very happy you had a happy birthday break and enjoyed your stay in Beach Hut 1.
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean W
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Owner very helpful without being intrusive. Five star accommodation with excellent views. Clipper cafe next door does an excellent breakfast with friendly service. Didn't get to try their evening menu but will next time. Great walks on your doorstep and a ferry service across to Teignmouth. Pubs with food a plenty and a good fish and chip shop and all within walking distance.
We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property
Liked least: Smoke alarm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2016
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie-An...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun and Quirky place to stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked 3 nights at Beach Hut Number 1. Myself and my husband along with our 2 girls (10 and 5) just loved the position and the comforts of the Hut.
Weather wasn't too great but we made the most of places to visit and ate in the local restaurants and pubs.
A great way to spend some quality family time together - real fun for the kids and a change from boring hotel rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of the Beach Hut
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliaAW59
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One word-fantastic!”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed in Beach Hut 2. We just booked for 3 nights because it fitted in with things plus we thought a short break would probably be best in a beach hut. But these are no ordinary beach huts and are so well planned that you do have a surprising amount of space for something so small. By the time we came to leave after 3 nights we didn't want to leave! It's just a matter of getting organised. We can't wait to stay here again. In fact everyone we have told about the beach huts wants to come and stay. Perhaps we should have kept it a secret? The location is brilliant-right on the beach. Shaldon is a lovely unspoiled village with plenty of places to eat and drink. We did try to dine at The Clipper café on the Monday evening (next door to the beach huts) but it was booked up and it wasn't even school holidays.
A really fun place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fun aspect
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deb f
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

me and my hubby stayed in this beautiful beach hut for 3 days. we contacted the owner on our arrival and were given a code to retrieve the keys ourselves. this was lovely as we did not have to wait around or travel to other places to collect keys.
beach hut 1 is set directly beside an all day restaurant/wine bar, but please do not let this put you off. we had no smells of cooking and had the convenience of not having to cook a thing if we didn't want to. saying that, the kitchen in the beach hut had everything we needed, we also had a small table and chairs to eat at inside if we wanted to.
The view across the river was breath taking, the sun came up around 7am and we had a front row seat every morning, it got even more beautiful as the sun went down.
this beach hut is very well designed and very cosy and warm. it has underfloor heating and was very welcoming after a fresh windy walk on the beach. it has full blinds at the windows which makes it very private and plenty of bedding and blankets if you get cold.
the weekend we arrived was sunny but cold during the days and as we settled down to sleep in the very romantic mezzanine, we realized that it was very hot near to the roof so we advise leaving the skylight open during the night.
i read some reviews that stated how small the bathroom was, yes its compact but it has enough room to perform its needs.
this was advertised for 2-4 people, it was perfect for the 2 of us but there would be an issue with privacy, regarding getting dressed and showering if another couple were there too.
overall this was a great compact, cute accommodation. i would definitely recommend this to my friends and may revisit during the summer months

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing